Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Stamina AeroPilates Pro XP 556 Home Pilates Reformer with Free-Form Cardio Rebounder
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
45
Size: "94"" L x 23.5"" W x 15"" H"|Change
Price:$899.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 19, 2009
I did a lot of research before purchasing this reformer. I am new to pilates and am turning to it after almost two years of lower back pain caused by the after-effects of pregnancy (ie. majorly stretched out muscles). I read other reviews saying that it was big, and it really is. I wasn't fully prepared for how big it is. But I am thoroughly impressed with the quality of this reformer. Assembly wasn't too difficult and I did it by myself. My only suggestion is to pay attention to the number of bolts that are required for each step of the assembly process as illustrated, otherwise it is pretty easy to miss some of the pre-drilled holes and end up with extra bolts. I've only been using my reformer for a week, but I can tell you that it is a fantastic whole body workout. I'm already feeling much stronger in my core and having less back pain. I'm not the kind of person who has ever enjoyed getting on any type of exercise machine. I was a competitive swimmer up until about 8 years ago and I've never really enjoyed any other form of exercise as much as swimming until I found this. I look forward to this workout every day. This reformer was definitely worth the money.
22 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2010
I have been doing pilates with a Stamina reformer for over 10 years, I purchased my first stamina reformer and loved it, it was the first piece of exercise equipment I purchased and actually used. Last year I wanted to upgrade to a model with the cardio-rebounder and ordered a less expensive model from QVC I was disappointed mostly because it seemed too short for my 5'4" body...So I finally took the plunge and purchased this model and I am very pleased...It is plenty long and I like using the rebounder, it does seem that both the rebounder versions I have used do have less resistance than my original model so I assume this has something to do with the functionality of the rebounder...I would highly recommend this item if you want a work out that leaves you more energized than you were before, builds muscle without bulk and improves strength and flexibility...It does take up alot of room it's 8ft long and 2ft wide and you need room to extend your arms and legs on either side...and you need to extend your arms from one end to do a couple of exercises...you need a space about 12x6 and this model does not fold away as many reformers do. The quality is great and I put it together myself without too much difficulty, just alot of bolts and screws to do, I think it took about 2 hours...I hate assembling stuff so I would say it was not to difficult...the needed tools are included and the instructions are pretty clear...I did employ a few tips and tricks I learned from my dad...This price is the best I could find, several other places had the same price but Amazon's FREE shipping and return policy are hard to beat. I've owned this reformer for 4 months.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2010
After a lot of research and trying to decide which model to buy, I opted for the Pro XP 556 and couldn't be any happier with my decision. I couldn't find a single negative review on this machine and found that most people who had purchased the other models had upgraded to the Pro XP 556. However, this machine doesn't fold up so if you don't have adequate space (approx. 10' x 4'), you probably would want to buy one of the lower models because they do. I love this machine for a lot of reasons. Phenominal ab workout! I can do crunches/sit-ups a million different ways and never see the results that I do with this machine plus you don't have the strain on your back and neck. It's fun! I own a home gym and a treadmill and this machine by far is my favorite. It might sound crazy, but it's almost relaxing to work out with this machine. Great results! I've seen really great results in a very short time; everything is more toned and defined and I feel amazing. By the way, I had never done pilates before I bought this machine. Needless to say, I'm a HUGE fan! :-)
11 comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2012
I am a pilates teacher trained on Stott pilates equipment and wanted something for my home. I can't afford the professional Stott equipment. I purchased the stamina aeropilates reformer after reading all the positive reviews.

I've had mine set up for two weeks now and my experience has been mostly positive.

It was easy to set-up with two people and it's a very smooth ride on the carriage. It was a much sturdier quality than I had imagined it would be, so that's great! It doesn't take up too much space, but it's high enough off the ground that I can get good hip flexor stretches in.

My only downsides are the following. I assumed the resistance would be springs, not bungee chords and I'm concerned that over time they will lose their elasticity. So far, they seem fine, but I'm being very careful to leave all the bungees off when I'm not using the equipment, as I'm not sure how easily they can be replaced, if at all. I also was disappointed that they are all the same resistance. I am used to springs where most springs are a slightly different resistance level, which allows for more flexibility.

Initially, I was a little disappointed at the size of the rebounder, and I do wish it was a little wider, but once I got going on it, it was better than I thought it would be. Again, there, my concern is about losing elasticity, but we'll see how it goes over the long term.

Overall, however, I am very happy with the equipment and thrilled to have it available to me in my home.
22 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
This is a pretty awesome machine.

You can do all floor work Pilates and Yoga poses on this.
In traditional pilates and yoga, you're fighting your weight against gravity for the resistance.
On this reformer, the power bands add resistance along with your weight making everything from a down dog and dolphin pose to a plank, that much harder.

The rebounder is semi ok. I ended up getting a real trampoline to rebound.
The rebounder that comes with the AeroPilates 556 is adequate.
I believe it's a tad bigger on the $1400 Aeropilates model.
Think of the rebounder area on the 556 as more of a big flat area to help you do different kinds of squats and lunges.

I'm 6'2 and there is just enough room for me to do jumping. Maybe not 100% super aggressive jumping, but enough to get my heart rate going. There are a couple of rubber stops on the track that seem to be replaceable/do-it-yourself modifiable to give an extra inch or 2 if needed.

If you are a man, be sure to order the red bands. That will help with rebounding for tall people.

I'm 250 lbs and the machine is very stable. Solid.

ps. also dont get fooled. The 557 is 4 inches longer for twice as much. That's like 4 of your fingers put together. You won't notice it. Go for this cheaper one and take the savings and buy the Stamina Pilates box and pole.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2011
This is a great reformer. It arrived while I was at work but by the time I got home, my 12 year old son had already put it together. He said it took him 1 1/2 hrs. The whole family is using it. There are so many different exercises and it's fun to do while you're watching TV. We have it centered below our upstairs TV and we can watch our reformer demonstration DVDs while we're on it. The trampoline-style rebounder is fun / gentle on your back. Amazing how fast your heart rate increases.

I bought a reformer because I have degenerative disc disease. I heard that pilates does a great job of strengthing your core without putting strain on your back. Exactly what the doctor ordered. I like having it for those days that I cannot make it to the gym.

I like the fact that this reformer does not fold up and get parked in a closet. It needs to be available and visible or else you probably won't use it. We like the solid black body with the wood trim. Looks great. Very sturdy. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2008
A friend suggested I order a Pilates machine. I had no idea how difficult it was to find a well-built unit until I tried this one. It shipped fast and my husband put it together. I had to help, as it is bulky to assemble and you need two people. It also takes up a lot of room, so pay attention to the dimensions. We have a home gym, so it's no problem. But this is not a unit that is easily portable. Plan on it remaining in one place.

The first video is helpful but lacking. You have to FF through the very long intro each time and there are no indexes. The exercises are good, though. I'm ready to order the second video.

I don't know about the rebounder yet. My knees seem to hurt after I use it. But it is fun and easy to use.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2010
Well, almost every day! After taking 6 months of reformer classes, I decided to take the plunge and buy my own reformer. I recommend taking classes before you buy this piece of equipment. Otherwise you'll be lost as to how to use it and how BEST to use it for YOU.

I use it to supplement my high-intensity cross training and other sports. The stretching, toning and strengthening compliment the cross-training.

This reformer is pretty sturdy and simply built. Not a lot of parts that can break, which is what I like for all equipment, whether it is an appliance or a car! It is heavy and takes up a fair bit of space. You can't push it against a wall because you need the space for exercises, so you'll need to have some real estate in your home to dedicate to it.

I'm 5'6" and it can even accommodate my much taller hubby (though he doesn't use it). The pulley straps are not padded, so you'll want to wear thick socks or flexible shoes when using them on your feet.

I chose this model because it came with the bounce-board (trampoline). But I don't use it any longer. I get enough cardio without it, and the lay-down jumping does take getting used to. It sometimes gave me a headache.

All in all, I recommend this equipment to experienced Pilates reformer trainees.
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
First of all, Amazon shipped it super fast - way faster than expected. The item went on sale a few days after I purchased it & I typed Amazon & they promptly refunded the difference. Yay Amazon!

The box is pretty heavy, I had to take a few of the things out one-by-one to get it all upstairs, but not a huge deal. Assembly was ok, the product has to be fastened together with Allen wrenches that are kind of a pain (would be much better if it were regular screws). A couple of them got stripped when we were tightening them but we got it together without too much trouble. It is VERY sturdy, quiet, and looks fabulous!

The machine itself is awesome!! I love that it has two loops on the straps so I can concentrate on the exercise and not worry about a foot slipping out. There is plenty of room on the pad to have your arms lay flat. It doesn't feel like I am working out very hard when I am doing it, but WOW... the next day, every muscle in my stomach tells me that I was doing it right! The DVD's are perfect for learning basic moves & ideas. I will probably end up buying the next series of DVDs (especially in the cardio) just to get some more ideas. I bought the extra head pillow & I don't think I really needed it. The adjustable pad that is already on it is pretty decent.

Overall I LOVE this machine! The exercises are just FUN (and exercise has never been fun for me). I have a bad back and I feel that this is low-impact enough that I can build up strength without doing any damage. Highly recommend!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2009
The reviews are correct..you will love it! Measure because it does take up some room. I put it together myself in about an hour. It's nice if you have an extra hand but easy to understand and put together. I love the workout. My husband and daughter both notice my posture has improved in just a couple weeks.
It's been 6 mos and I still love this reformer. It has held up well.
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 46 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here