Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: SKLZ Pro Mini Basketball Hoop System
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Price:$91.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 131 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on December 5, 2011
I bought this to use for our pool next season. In the meantime, I figured I'll put it together and use it in our driveway until then. Here's what I think so far:

-ASSEMBLY-
This took me about 90 minutes to do put this together by myself. I took my time and only used the tools provided (two double-sided wrenches). If you have a helper or better tools, I'm sure this can be done in under an hour. Unlike many toy assembly instructions, these were clear and easy to understand.

-FUNCTION-
This is a nice basketball system for mini-balls. The ball it came with is regular mini-ball but the rim can take a much bigger ball. I'll probably use a volleyball-sized ball when I move it poolside. The backboard is a clear plexiglass and looks very professional though I wish it was a little bigger. The breakaway rim is a really nice feature.

-FUN-
The kids love this since they can actually reach the rim with a ball (my oldest is 4 yo). They never touch my big hoop since they can't get the ball anywhere near the rim even at the lowest setting, which is like 8ft. My oldest made his first 3 shots with the rim set at 4'. Made him pretty happy! Can't wait to use this at the pool next summer.

-EASE OF HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT-
There are two height "buckets": ~3.5' to ~4.5' and ~6.5' to ~7.5'. I'm using it at the former. Being able to move it up and down about a foot at the lower setting is really simple and can be done by relocating a pin and moving the handle attached to the pole. However, in order to switch it to the latter, the higher setting, it requires me to install an additional included pole using tools. Not a big deal for me since I plan on keeping it at the low setting. Just keep this in mind since it's not simple to go from say 4' to like 7'.

-DURABILITY-
This is very sturdy with what appears to be quality parts. Not sure how it will withstand the Pennsylvania climate year round. Let's also see what happens when it's next to a salt water pool for a season. I have my fingers crossed that this will last me a decade.

-EASE OF TRANSPORT (or lack of)-
Sure, it has wheels but it's still not easy to move. The wheels are on the wrong side of the base! My big basketball hoop system has the wheels on the same side as the pole, which allows me to tilt it toward me and control it easily. This one has the wheels on the back side, opposite the pole. It's very awkward to move since I have to pull the entire thing backwards. Additionally, the wheels don't let me tilt back very far so there is a very small range that will allow this to roll. Due to the location of the wheels, it's much easier for me to move my 10' system, which is 2x the height and 3x the weight, than it is to move this one.

-RECOMMENDATION-
Overall, this is a fine product that I would buy again. Luckily I won't have to move it around too much. Buy it if you're looking for a pool hoop system or want something a toddler could play with. Once my kids are 6-7 yo, I'd prefer them play with a full-sized basketball system.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2011
I have 4 small children and this thing is great for all of them. All I have to do is adjust the height of the rim for each of them. I was pretty rough with this thing and had absolutely no issues. The first day I opened it, we had 50 mile per hour winds and this thing did not fall over. Pretty impressive! This is the perfect product for kids and for anyone that doesn't have the room for a full size basketball hoop. I highly reccommend to anyone. Great product! Lots of fun!
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2011
We bought this for our 5 and 2 year old boys and our 3 year old girl. They LOVE it. We chose this one because it can go so low, which is a plus with our young kids. Very sturdy construction, very happy with product.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
Very nice... I bought this for the grandkids and from the littlest (3 years old) to the oldest (8 years old) it is adjustable for each and they love it.... Only one small drawback... You can NOT use a full size basket ball... ONLY the mini basket balls... 6 inches diameter ONLY... Full size will not go thru the net.... Assembly is very simple... The base plug keeps falling out so don't fill with water... fill with sand instead...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
This is a great Basketball hoop that offers hours of fun . Its was easy to put together and it held up pretty well still in great shape.Its adjustable so if you have little ones it adjusts as they grow. It comes with a mini ball but you can fit a regular basketball through the hoop. Its actually big enough. My son plays on it daily. I have done some research on these hoops and this by far is more adjustable and more long lasting durability to it. The price on Amazon is amazing. All over this hoop is close to $100. On Amazon its $75. This is a great investment because its long lasting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
This basketball hoop is amazing! We have gotten so many compliments on it including 'that is the nicest kids hoop I have ever seen,' from my friend who played in the WNBA. She knows her hoops! We got it for my 1 year old son and the 3.5 feet to 7 feet extension flexibility is perfect for him. We currently have the hoop in our basement. He loves to go down there and play some "bee ball." Great hoop. Superior quality. Wayyy better than the plastic variety. You will not be disappointed.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2015
This is a fine piece of equipment. You'll need a couple wrenches to put it together. I love that I can use two of the three vertical posts, and it fits in my low-ceiling basement. I have 5 1/2 year old girls who are now fans of basketball! It comes with a ball. I didn't realize it and bought two SKLZ Pro Mini Hoop Ball because they showed up as often purchased together. You don't need them, and they're too small.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
Perfect for the pool, easy to put together and complete. You can take the center pole out and make it really short so it is the perfect hight for a pool side deck. The rim is a little smaller than a normal size hoop and the ball it came with is a joke anyway so I bought 2 junior size balls they work great and are just perfect for pool play and fit through the rim perfect they are not to small so you don't feel like it's a kids toy. They are 27.5 junior size basketball. The net is the same thing it's stupid small for some reason I just bought a 2.99 normal size net and it works perfect. So all in all great set up for a pool that's what my 5 stars are for, it is a ok hoop for kids to play with in the driveway but two small for adults. A pool is a different story it's a perfect size for that. So either way you have to get a bigger ball and a larger net because the ball is like small toy that is not usable but you will have a great addition to the pool without breaking the bank.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
My 2 year old LOVES this hoop. Looks just like a real hoop. He feels like he's a big boy. It's great because it adjusts as he grows. Out 10 year old nephew was playing with it yesterday and just increased the height.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
Our son loves it. He gives it a good workout and it's holding up just fine. Be aware that if you put water in the base to stabilize it and leave it outside in the cold it will freeze and then bust the plastic on the base.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 49 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here