Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Get $5 off book purchases over $20* Use promo code GIFTBOOK17 Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by us the duo STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 11, 2010
Whether you're new to the world of DSLRs, or are a seasoned photographer who wants to try your luck at video, the Canon Rebel T2i is perfect. I've had nothing but great experiences with it so far, and highly recommend to everyone.

Other than the T2i, I own (and primarily shoot with) the Rebel XS (1000D), and also have extensive experience with the Canon 50D. While my XS still serves me very well, I wanted to get an SLR with video capabilities since the release of the T1i. After finally saving up enough for the T1i, I really lucked out that Canon announced the T2i, which has even better features! I am lucky enough to finally have it, and want to share my experiences, and how they compare to my expectations
==================
OVERALL IMPRESSIONS
The camera is very small and light. It is not weather-sealed or as durable as some of the more expensive SLRs, but it doesn't "feel cheap" in my opinion. It features a 3-inch LCD (compared to the Rebel XS's 2.5 inch screen), which also has a very high resolution. It looks lovely! Auto-focus is fast, and I've been very pleased with the quality of the pictures and videos I've taken so far.
==================
PROS
IMAGE QUALITY: I feared that cramming so many megapixels onto this sensor, there would be a lot of image 'noise' (the megapixel myth). This thankfully hasn't been an issue, and I've been very pleased with the pictures taken with this camera! Aside from White Balance issues (see below, Cons), image quality is pretty good!

VIDEO: Some people have disparagingly said that Video on DSLRs is just a gimmick. I disagree. Based on sample clips I'd seen on YouTube, I was excited about getting an HDSLR, and while videos are sometimes shaky if you don't have very steady hands, a tripod eliminates those concerns. Audio quality on the T1i was criticized by many, but the T2i has a microphone input jack, which allows you to connect a mic. I don't yet own one so can't comment on that feature, but will update this review if and when I save enough to try this feature out. Additionally, this offers improved recording options, including higher fps (frames per second) than the T1i, which technically offered "true HD" recording of 1080, but only at a choppy 20 fps.

LOW-LIGHT PERFORMANCE: I am much more impressed than I expected. My Rebel XS could go up to ISO 1600, but would perform pretty poorly there. This not only can go up to a significantly higher ISO level, but performs much better. Less image noise means you have to waste less time editing your pics, and many more keepers!

SDXC SUPPORT: Only own SDHC cards up until now, but it's great to know that this supports the next generation of flash storage, which means you'll in the future be able to hold many more pictures than currently available.

CONS
NOT A FULL-FRAME SLR: This is not a full-frame SLR like the Canon 5D Mark II, and the APS-C sized sensor results in a crop factor (1.6x), and doesn't necessarily provide the same image quality as the larger, full-frame sensor does. Still, at less than half the cost of the Mark II, I think this is a trade-off that's well worth it for most users.

Crop factor means that this camera, like other Canon DSLRs that have the APS-C size image sensor, will not be true to the lens's designation. A 50mm lens will produce an image more in line with 50mm x 1.6, or 80mm on a full-frame. This not only makes a difference for those who want to do landscape photography (which usually benefits from wide-angle views), but for those with unsteady hands. The general logic is that to ensure a steady shot, you need to shoot at the reciprocal of your focal length. So for a 50mm focal length, you should be shooting at a speed faster than 1/50 second for a steady shot. Keeping the crop factor in mind, you really should be shooting at a speed faster than 1/80 a second.

Crop factors are common for most digital SLRs, as full-frame sensors jack up the cost of production, which are then passed on to the consumer in the form of very expensive cameras. So it's not so much a shortcoming of the Rebel T2i, but just a note to keep in the back of your mind.

DIFFERENT BATTERY: This is more of a hassle for those who owned spare batteries than for those whose first SLR would be the T2i, but Canon changed the battery. Again, not such a big deal, but might be a hassle for some who find out that their old batteries can't be used on this model.

WHITE BALANCE: I found that the 'Auto' White-Balance setting was wildly inaccurate on my Rebel XS (often giving indoor shots a yellow tint unless I changed the WB to the 'Incandescent Light' mode), and I feel that the WB settings on this model still aren't as accurate as they should be. If you want truly accurate WB, you can use a gray card, or an alternative would be to simply try digitally editing the photos on your computer after shooting.

NO ARTICULATING SCREEN: No articulating screen, but this is a rare feature in DSLR's in general, so it's not a shortcoming of the T2i. Since most of your shots will probably be composed using the viewfinder, not a big deal, although it would have been convenient! If you absolutely must have an articulating screen on an HDSLR, look into the Nikon D5000.

===================
A NOTE ABOUT THE KIT LENS
The lens that comes with this is the standard 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 that comes with the other Rebels. It's a very good all-around lens, but you more likely than not will want to at some point upgrade your lens for either (a) better image quality, or (b) better performance in low-light conditions.

This lens is very good, but for pros or those who pay incredibly close attention to detail, the optical quality of Canon's higher-end lenses is superior than to the kit lens. For most users, I don't think image quality will be a huge issue.

More likely, the aperture size will be the reason people want to upgrade their lens over time. A lens with a wider aperture allows more light to reach the sensor in less time than a lens with a narrower aperture. That means you can employ a faster shutter speed, which allows you to snap the shot faster, reducing the likelihood of a blurry picture. Outdoors on a sunny day, this aperture range of this lens won't be a limiting factor; inside a poorly-lit gym, however, you'll notice some blurry shots (see below for a recommended alternative for low-light shooting).

Still, this is a pretty good all-around lens that can result in some great shots!
===================
RECOMMENDED ACCESSORIES

1. An external flash: This will come in very handy. With the built-in flash, your photos often come out harshly lit. Bouncing an external flash off the wall makes a huge difference in image quality. I personally use the Speedlite 580EX II, but there are cheaper alternatives that are very good. Some higher-end cameras (i.e. Canon 5D Mark II) don't even have a built-in flash, which goes to show something about how high-level photographers view the lighting provided by internal flashes.

2. 50mm f/1.8 II lens - At around one hundred dollars, this lens is relatively cheap when compared to others on the market. Despite its low price, it offers great image quality. While it lacks IS (image stabilization) like some other Canon lenses (including the kit lens), with a wide aperture of f/1.8, enough light usually comes in to ensure a fast shutter speed, which in turn minimizes camera shake. Keep in mind that as a 'prime' lens, your feet will have to do the zooming in and out. This is not as convenient as an everyday walk-around lens like the 18-55 kit lens which gives a good zoom range, but is a great lens for portraits. Also would ideally be a good option for poorly-lit places where the aperture of the kit-lens isn't wide enough to ensure a steady shot.

CONCLUSIONS
From my list of 4 pros and 4 cons, you might wonder why I'm giving this product 5 stars?... It's because considering the great performance - and low price - of the T2i, the 'cons' I list really aren't that big of a deal. Just because some cameras offer the aforementioned features the T2i lacks, it doesn't mean the T2i isn't a solid performer. On the contrary, I have been completely satisfied with this camera's image and video quality, performance, features, AND PRICE, and would recommend the T2i to anyone looking for an affordable way to capture memories!

------------------
EDIT 11/27/10

I just wanted to update this review to say that after shooting with the T2i for nearly half a year, I'm still as impressed by this camera as when I first got it. I have a few comments to expand on my initial review:

VIDEO I have been using the video mode a lot more than I initially expected. While it doesn't offer continuous auto-focus and therefore might not replace a camcorder, once you get the hang of manually focusing this is not a big problem. I many times have found myself in situations where photos couldn't capture the moment as well as a video could, and the ability to record clips has been very convenient.

A note on the video mode, however...while it's automatic exposure is fine for most situations, if you find your videos are grainy, it's best to manually control the exposure. I've seen that sometimes even in good lighting, the camera will keep the aperture small (to have a less shallow depth of field) and boost the ISO. You can get around that by manually adjusting exposure settings, but again, the automatic exposures are usually fine.

As for audio with videos, I personally still have not purchased an external microphone, but for those who are serious about movie production Amazon sells a highly popular 'Rode VideoMic' for a reasonable price. I have looked up videos on YouTube which demonstrate the difference between the built-in mic and an external mic, and while it's tempting, I'd rather spend my money on better lenses than audio accessories.

CROP FACTOR To clarify on my 'crop factor' point from above on a full-frame vs. a crop-sensor body, there is a useful video on Vimeo that illustrates what I'm talking about. If you Google '5D 7D crop factor Vimeo' it comes up as the first result. As you can see, a full frame camera offers a view truer to the lens designations. Again, full frame cameras are costlier to make and therefore more expensive to the consumer, so APS-C sensor cameras like the Rebel T2i, 60D, and 7D are very good values for the money. But if you are not on a tight budget and think you might one day want to upgrade to a full frame some day for the improved low-light performance, higher image quality, and wider field of view, maybe skip on a T2i and just aim for a 5D Mark II (I personally love my T2i, but am excited about some day having my 24-105 shoot wider than its current effective 38-168 range.). For most users, however, APS-C sensor cameras like the T2i should be great, and some might even find the crop factor useful for telephoto work.

LENSES After spending so much money on a camera body, many people have a difficult time justifying buying expensive lenses, and I understand that. After upgrading from the 18-55mm kit lens to the 24-105L lens, however, I can honestly say that the money is well worth it. Colors are more vivid and truer to real life than the [now noticeably] duller colors produced by the non-L lens, and I rarely use the kit lens now. Again, the 18-55 is very versatile and provides a great value, but if you can afford to upgrade your lens to Canon's L series, you won't regret it. Perhaps try before you buy, to see for yourself what I'm talking about.

LOW LIGHT While this camera offers a boost ISO mode (to 12800 from 6400), I don't use that since its results are too grainy for my liking. But for night shots without a tripod, I have found ISO 3200 and 6400 to be a real advantage over my previous Rebel XS which only went up to ISO 1600, and even then produced noisier images than the T2i at 1600. While this camera doesn't produce high ISO pictures as cleanly as a full frame 5DMk2 does, at a fraction of the price I am incredibly pleased with this camera.

MEMORY CARD Lastly, I wanted to recommend you do a lot of research into which SD card you want to use. Class 6 or higher is recommended, but look into reviews to see how the card actually performs. I used to use a Transcend Class 6 card since it's very affordable, and have had movies abruptly stop recording at inopportune times. I upgraded to a Transcend Class 10, and unfortunately continue to have that happen. Not all Class 10 cards necessarily write at the same speed, so look thoroughly into reviews if you plan on using video mode to ensure you get a reliable, high-speed card. The Transcend cards are a great value for the money, and have many times been fine, but you might want to consider more expensive alternatives for greater reliability.

------------------
EDIT 01/28/11

I wanted to update this review to reflect the fact that the camera is still serving me well, and to recommend some additional accessories I have since paired my T2i with. I recently got the Induro AKB0 Tripod Kit (Black),Joby GP8-BHEN Gorillapod Focus with Ballhead X bundle,Dolica WT-1003 67-Inch Lightweight Monopod, and Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L II IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens for Canon SLR Cameras, and highly recommend them.

CAMERA SUPPORT With the T2i you can pull off handheld shots in low light by cranking up the ISO, but even though the T2i shows relatively little noise, it does show more than some would like in their shots (especially at ISO 6400). Digital noise can be reduced in post-production, but it's much easier to shoot at a lower ISO in the first place, especially for night shots. After paying so much for a camera body and other accessories, buying an expensive tripod might be the last thing you'd want to do, and I understand that: for a while I was using an older, cheaper tripod that was designed more for light camcorders than SLRs with heavy lenses. While this set-up technically worked, I didn't feel very confident in its reliability. After doing a lot of research and asking many photographers, I got the Induro kit, and have been very happy with it so far. It is more expensive than I would have liked, but it doesn't make sense to skimp on support and risk damaging your gear! With tripods, you have to make trade-offs between price, sturdiness, and weight, and while I'm happy with my tripod, it might not be adequate for your needs. There are many websites with tips on what to look for in a tripod (i.e. ball head, pan-tilt head, etc) that can help you make an informed decision. The Gorillapod is not nearly as essential to your shooting as a dedicated tripod, but I recommend it if you find yourself in situations where you don't want to/might not be permitted to carry a tripod, but need support. It sets up much faster than a tripod which needs to have its legs extended and locked. Lastly, a monopod is a great way to stabilize your shots without the hassle of having to carry a tripod, and is even more portable than a Gorillapod. That being said, it doesn't provide as much stability, so I use it primarily to stabilize video shooting (which can be a bit shaky due to composition through LCD screen instead of viewfinder, especially with a telephoto lens).

TELEPHOTO LENS The T2i has a high resolution sensor that, in my experience, provides for great shots even after cropping. I have taken shots and cropped to 100% and been pleased with results, but sometimes you want extended reach without cropping, and here a good telephoto really shines. Canon and third-party lens manufacturers offer many great telephoto options for the T2i, and it's important to think of what you need a telephoto lens for before investing in one. If you'll primarily be shooting with a tripod, you probably don't need IS; if you're going to be shooting in adequate light, a wide aperture isn't essential. I used the Canon 70-300 non-L non-IS lens, but don't recommend it. Keeping in mind the reciprocity of focal length and shutter speed, Image Stabilization on a telephoto lens makes things much easier for hand-held shooting. I much preferred the 55-250 IS over my 70-300 non-IS (there are also IS versions of the 70-300), but found its low-light performance was weak due to its relatively small maximum aperture size. I recently got the 70-200 2.8 IS II, and am blown away by its fast auto-focus, great low-light performance, and superior optical quality. It is an expensive lens, but is well worth it if you need a fast lens (wide aperture) that features Image Stabilization.

--------------------------
EDIT 02/07/11 *FINAL UPDATE*

NEW REBEL The T2i's successor, the T3i has just been announced, and will be available in March. Based on its specs, I don't think this is a necessary upgrade for current T2i owners. The main improvements found in the T3i are a swiveling screen, wireless flash transmitter, improved Auto mode detection, an enhanced Movie Zoom mode, and creative filters. Of these, I think the most important or sought-after improvements are the flash transmitter (which is is great for advanced shooters and those who want to explore with lighting) and the swiveling LCD screen (which allows for more flexibility in shooting). While these are useful new features, they are largely incremental and I will be sticking with my T2i. For new buyers, the T3i looks great and is very worth looking into when it comes out. Canon also announced a T3 camera to succeed the Rebel XS, which is great for beginners but is lacking in features compared to the T2i and the newly-announced T3i, including the ability to capture 'true HD' at 1080. Even with Canon's recent announcements, I think the T2i is a great DSLR and I highly recommend it to everyone.

----------------------------
EDIT 06/13/11 *THIS REALLY IS THE FINAL UPDATE*

I know this review is now longer than some novels, but I really can't stress enough how great this camera is. I've used this in a variety of settings, both professionally and for personal use, and it's served me so well throughout. While I've shot events before, last night I shot the Tony Awards in NYC...which meant many thousands of shots over the course of many hours...and I was highly impressed with the T2i's performance. I did have to change batteries during the course of the event, but that was many hours into the event. You can easily get a spare third-party battery for just a few bucks.

I recently purchased a cheap (less than 20 dollars) intervalometer from Amazon, and have started creating time-lapse videos with my T2i. Setting up cool time-lapse, and capturing HD video, are two areas where an articulating screen (like that found on the T3i and 60D) would come in handy, but again, this is not an essential feature, so I am pleased with my T2i. The intervalometer I got through Amazon was third-party, but since it cost about a tenth of the official Canon one, I am very pleased and highly recommend it if you want to take your T2i to the next level.

The T2i is an amazing camera. I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone who is even remotely interested, whether you never owned an SLR before, or want a second body as a backup. I love the T2i!
review image
5150+ comments| 1,816 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2010
Excellent camera, though a bit expensive - worth every penny.

Pros:
- The 18-135mm lens is a nice upgrade to the standard kit 18-55mm lens. Especially if this is your first DSLR, and you don't want to spend more money on lenses. It is also good for trips, taking pictures of kids, or in any other situation where you don't want to change lenses. (And you save about $100 when purchasing this kit, compared to body + 18-135mm Canon lens).
- Performance. Minimal shutter lag, good low-light performance, nice video.
- Relatively light (about 1 kg / 2 pounds with lens), again good for trips.

Cons:
- Price
- Built-in flash is not so great. Also when taking pictures on wide angle setting, lens creates a shade.
- No autofocus when zooming while taking video, pressing shutter button half way focuses the picture.
- Focus in live picture mode is slow (even slower than on most point and shoot cameras)

Other Recommendations:
- Make sure to get UV filter (mostly for protecting the lens), and a spare battery (I've got the Opteka one for ~$13).
11 comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 16, 2010
I just got this camera today (finally an available body only since I have no use for the kit lens) and I am awed. I had done a lot of research on this before buying it so I knew what to expect in terms of both the big upgrade issues as well as the little tweaks they have done, some of which turn out to be really terrific. If you are coming from another Canon the menus and interface will be second nature. Based on another very positive review just posted, coming from Nikon it's also an easy step. Here are some early observations:

The Best:
A huge bump in ISO. This was one of the two main reasons I upgraded from my trusty (and still good) XSI. I have made some test shots and despite going up to an 18 MP sensor the noise is not much of an issue and I shot several pics at ISO 3200 which look quite good. I then shot some in 6400 which did start to show some noise in the low light but still made for serviceable pictures. I am looking forward to seeing what it will do around a campfire at an upcoming camping trip with my daughter! My XSI despite a F/2.8 lens could not do much with that in the past.

The other main draw for me was video. I dream of being able to bring just one camera to, say, Disney and have it do double duty and I think this one may do it. So far, I have only shot a couple scenes in fairly low light and focus is a bit of a challenge but by zooming in and allowing the camera to come to focus before the shot it is manageable. I expect this to not be as much of an issue in brighter light. Be sure to enable auto focus during video in the menu - I suspect it is disabled by default due to the noise many lenses make with focusing as that would be recorded as well. I have two USM / "L" lenses so that should not be a problem for me but your milage may vary. I also plan to try some manual focusing. Keep in mind that video clips for full 1080P 30 FPS are limited to about 12 minutes - I worried about this a bit until I realized that when I edit my videos shots are rarely longer than 4 minutes (and of that I usually keep just 2 or less). That said, this camera is not the one to choose to record, say, a stage production. For that a dedicated video camera able to record an hour or more at a time is a must.

The Good:
Better Live View - Live view mode is now much more accessible and in more modes.

Sensor Size - 18 MP sensor is nice for cropping and taking full advantage of "L" glass if you have it. Other than that, this is not a major draw from my perspective. I would actually have preferred this be a 12 MP camera allowing low-noise great pics to, say, over 20000 ISO.

Memory Type - This camera uses SD type cards including the new ultrahigh capacity cards. I know it is a small matter but I like being able to use the cards I have rather than having to but some expensive CF cards (such as used by the 7D). Keep in mind that they recommend Class 6 or higher cards for video (I got a couple 16 GB Class 10 cards for about $40 each which should fit the bill). I'll use my older cards just for stills.

Stereo Mic Input - This allows the option of using a better mic than the built in mic. I may never take advantage of that but I suspect I will, actually. Of course, inclusion of a stereo mic would have been even better!

Misc - A lot of little things about this camera already impress me. For example, they moved the "no flash" setting on the main dial to right next to full auto and my most used setting "portrait" mode and away from the far end since they realized a lot of people use it (that's according to a video I saw online with a Canon employee). There are a lot of little touches like that which I have already noticed.

The Bad: (really not so bad in many ways)
The build quality is not 7D (which I have just handled at a store). The magnesium body on that bad boy just makes it feel very solid and by comparison the T2i does feel not cheap but does feel light. On the other hand less weight is good (especially at places like Disney) and this camera is appropriately being labeled a "baby 7D" in terms of sensor chip, etc. Of course, having an extra $1000 in your pocket (or not on your charge card) is another huge advantage over the 7D.

It is not a full frame camera. This means there is a "crop factor" due to the chip size which effectively multiplies by 1.6 the focal length of lens you are using (as compared to 35 mm film cameras or full-frame cameras like the 5D Mk II. Since I was coming from an XSI which of course is also a smaller sensor for me there is no transition to make here.

In summary, I am VERY pleased with this purchase and expect this to be my camera body until my ultimate camera is released (full frame, stereo mic, uses SD cards, useable ISO to >100,000 all for under $1000 - I know, I know this is a pipe dream now but an (old) kid can dream, can't he?)

UPDATE: I have had this camera for a couple weeks now and have had the opportunity to shoot hundreds of pictures and quite a few videos. I am still very impressed. Stills are great and the focusing is markedly improved over the XSI. The only blurry shots I get are when panning to follow my dogs running among trees - to the sensor the trees seem to be moving and are deemed the subject - stopping down the lens to increase DOF (or just taking a whole bunch of pictures) is the easy fix.

Now, regarding video. It is more challenging than I thought to use a DSLR camera for video. This is more an ergonomic issue with the form factor for the camera than any issue with the T2i itself. Video is of course composed by looking at the LCD screen and so the camera must be held out a bit - and with the weight of a good lens it gets pretty heavy in contrast to typical small camcorders of today. Thinking about it, modern video cameras have gotten to this stage of evolution after over 20 years (anyone remember the old VHS camcorders?), so I guess it is to be expected there would be a difference. Focus is not quick like it is with a good video camera but seems best achieved to me anyway with manual focus. The large, bright LCD screen helps in this regard. The quality of the resulting video is excellent. Although I don't see this as replacing my Sony HD video camera for day-to-day and holiday recording I do think that it will be useable to take the role of both still and video camera during an upcoming trip to Disney. I also suspect as I get more used to it that the ease of use will increase further and perhaps one day it will be my only video camera. Overall, this is a great product and I remain very pleased.

UPDATE 2-27-2011
Thanks to all for the positive feedback on this review! I am updating after many months with this great camera. I have taken thousands of pictures and continue to be amazed at the quality. The T3i is now coming out and to me appears to be the same camera with a couple upgrades. One feature which may be of interest is the ability to trigger external flash units from the camera itself (the T2i can't do this); but I suspect most people shooting in the studio will have that covered in some other way already. I think the most exciting feature of the T3i is an articulating LCD screen on the back. If you plan to use this camera for a lot of video this may be worth the additional cost. Please note that most of the limitations in my review above for T2i still apply, however. I am hoping for some method of rapid autofocus on a future model. If like me you shoot mostly stills and use the video "in a pinch" or when you desire VERY high quality video - then my recommendation would be to get the T2i and put the money saved into a nice prime lens or perhaps put it away for some "L" glass zooms. This camera works great with the 24-70 and 70-200 f2.8 zooms, by the way, the combination for me is unbeatable.

As a side note, if you happen to have any 16 GB Class 10 SD cards from AData (as I did) please check out reviews before trusting them with the recording of any important pictures / video.
2727 comments| 396 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2016
Bought used and it was listed as good. It is not good but excellent looks brand new. Thanks. Been using t2is since it they first came on the market and I can see no reason to "upgrade" if it ain't broke don't fix it.By the way there are no "pro" cameras only pro photographers if someone uses a camera phone to capture images used to earn money then that camera phone is a pro camera. If someone buys a leika to use for vacations and holidays then that leika is not a pro camera. I worked as a pro for 23 years and the cameras I used were those that could do the job for the least amount of money.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2017
I have owned the Rebel DSLR in the past and think that, while large and heavy compared to a bridge
camera, produces superb images. I love the relatively high ISO with a minimum of noise. Battery
life is great, just about everything about it is excellent. I personally like to use it with a telephoto
lens, at least to 130mm or even 200mm. But for everyday photography, the kit lens is fine. And,
of course, I love the great range of settings which gives you the most flexibility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enthusiast: Petson March 13, 2012
Having worked with larger body Canon EOS cameras in the past, I was reluctant to buy a smaller body camera due to the shape of my hands (big dude with big hands), but price was a major factor in purchasing this refurbished T2i. Adding a battery grip solved the size/grip issues immediately.

The 18MP sensor (17.9 actual in file resolution) produces images at the same quality as the 60D and 7D camera bodies. The only issue is the ISO availabilities, with this maxing out at 6400. However, I doubt I will be shooting in super high ISO due to image noise, and made a point of fitting images with image stabilization (gyroscopic) which allows for longer shutter times and therefore the ability to get a good shot on a lower ISO.

I could go over this in a full review, but it isn't necessary. The camera rocks.

Only 2 cons, both of which have an easy solution:

1) Out of the box, the camera's remote port for a wired shutter switch did not work with my Opteka switch. Expecting that I got a bad switch, I went out and bought the Canon RS-60E3 switch, and it also didn't work. I reloaded the camera's firmware, no joy. I then went out and downloaded a fresh copy from the Canon website, extracted it, and loaded it, and now both switches work. So, if you end up with this issue, download a fresh copy FROM CANON and it seems to be the solution.

2) Audio tends to shift quite a bit, with the camera running an automatic gain, which leaves you with garbage (hiss) in recorded audio. This is one feature that the higher end offers, the ability to disable the gain, but the T2i (as well as T1i and T3i) firmware sets do not allow this. Adding the Magical Lantern firmware enhancement (search Google) adds an additional programming menu from the SD card where it is installed, and allows 7D-level control of audio. Magical Lantern turns this into an amazing video device!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
The package originally came without the telephoto lens which they attributed to Amazon misplacing it. I hate to say this but the way the package was set up with everything included within the case this scenario is highly unlikely. The camera works fine which is good, the shutter release button however feels a tad loose. This would not bother me if the 18-55mm lens worked correctly, the autofocus on the lens does not engage. I tested this with another of the same lens that I have and that one worked fine so apparently this company does not test any of their products before shipping them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2011
I bought this camera four months ago. I love it. However, today I started getting an error message. Error message 20. I looked it up and it means that there is a mechanical problem and the shutter won't operate and the only way to fix it that I've found is to ship it back to Canon. I did some more research and found that it's a common problem, but I never saw anything about this problem while doing my preliminary research. If I had, I can't say that I wouldn't have bought the camera anyway. It's still under warranty, and Canon is going to fix it, but at my expense for shipping and handling, and there is no telling how long it is going to take to get it back. probably not before my daughter's third birthday party. I'll rent a body from my local shutter bug shop.

There are probably a lot of people that do their research the same way I do, and that consists of a majority of consumer reviews. I felt obligated to let every know of my experience.

That being said, this is an amazing camera. The image quality is great, and if you upgrade from the kit lenses, it's even better. I'm an amateur, so the complaints of it not being full frame don't bother me. it's done everything I've wanted it to until now. I look forward to getting my camera back, and I'll hope that this is a one time occurrence for me. I have my father's EOS from the 70's. It's forty years old and still works. I trust Canon. I always have. But something that you pay this kind of money for shouldn't break in four months.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
I was a hardcore Canon Rebel XS user for over a year, and I loved that camera. When I had an opportunity to upgrade, I chose this model over the T3i because I knew both the T2i and T3i were comparable in terms of features. The T2i is at a better price point for me though.

The first thing I noticed was the big 3 inch screen. It's so much nicer than the Rebel XS. It's very bright and the resolution is so so fine.

The low light performance is phenomenal, with 4 times the light sensitivity of the Rebel XS. Shooting pictures at ISO 3200 with proper noise reduction, produced very acceptable images.

If you shoot in RAW mode, the files come out to be about 25 MB each. It eats up storage crazy fast, so be prepared. The image quality is worth the file size. Regular JPEG images are about 5-6 MB each.

I thought the buttons were of lower quality than the Rebel XS. The "play" button and the focal point selector buttons are kind of annoying to use. The rest of the camera's build quality is excellent though.

The Canon T2i weighs about the same as a Rebel XS.

The Canon T2i is just so good, I can see myself using this for years down the road. I am taking some of the best photos of my life with this camera. I truly think the T2i right now is the best bang for your buck; I really wish I had this camera to start. Stop denying yourself a lifetime of great photos and get this camera!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
I did a lot of research before committing to the T2i (including what the actual differences were between Canon's series) and I couldn't be happier.

The only real feature the T3i has over this is the flip out LCD, which is not something I would really use. Over 90% of the time, I'm shooting through the view finder anyway.

I went for the combo with the 18-55 and the 55-250 telephoto. Very happy with the telephoto during a graduation ceremony. The very fast continuous drive (~3 shots/second with the shutter button held down) was truly irreplaceable. I would have missed a lot of opportunities using a point and shoot.

If you're just going to leave this camera in "auto" I highly recommend getting the S95 or something similar and saving some money. However, if you're willing to experiment with aperture or shutter speed priority and gradually shift towards full manual, you'll be amazed at the potential in this machine. If you're new to DSLRs, there's a lot to learn to get the most out of it.

Pros can have their full frame bodies, this is perfect for those looking to get into the next level from point and shoots (semi-serious hobbyists, those with an interest in photography, and pros looking for a pretty decent backup body).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse