Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Williams Allegro 88-Key Digital Piano
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on May 19, 2012
Some people complained about things like not enough sounds or some other little things here and here, so they rated it less than 5 stars..... these people are no reviewing the product properly. For $300, your not going to get every great feature that $1,000 Digital Pianos have, so it's ignorant to say that this keyboard could be better if it had more features or fix a little insignificant problem. If you want something that this keyboard doesn't have then go buy a $1,000 Piano, because at $300 you're not going to get a better Digital Piano unless you buy a used Digital Piano that was originally $1000. So I gave this Digital Piano 5 stars based off of comparison between pianos that are about $300 and not $1,000. So I suggest trusting my review more than others.

I really needed this because my old keyboard was starting to break down. I would be playing it a key would just came off.... and that happened 3 times. This was a cheaper keyboard that I go for Christmas probably about 7 years ago. Not only was the keyboard breaking, but it only had like 68 keys.... or something like that, and the keys were small and were not weighted. I was starting to get more serious about playing and staring to teach myself more complex songs, so this was a problem.

So back to this Digital Piano. It's so great! It's so much like a real piano... and in some ways better. So this next part of the review will be perfect for people who are deciding between a real piano and a digital piano.
Piano vs. Digital Piano
- Pianos look nicer and usually sound a little nicer
- Digital pianos are smaller and lighter so they're perfect for people who don't have a lot of room in their house (like me)
- Pianos have all 3 pedals (this digital piano comes with 1 but that's all that you really need)
- Digital Pianos often has multiple sounds
- You can usually record on Digital Pianos
- You can play midi files on Digital Pianos
- You need to have a Piano Tuner come to your house and tune your piano every once in a while (so you need to spend extra money)
- Some Digital Pianos may be more sturdy than some Pianos. My cousins have had a Piano for for about 5 or 6 years... They got it after I got my keyboard. They're Piano is starting to break down. The piano is out of tune and it's not a matter of it needing to be tuned, it's just in bad shape.... as said by the professional piano tuner. Also the keys are in great shape. They don't press down as they're supposed to. Some feel as if they're sticking to others while some of the others go down really slow, so if you want the key to play more than quiet you need to press it down really hard... which is had to do with a single finger. Now my kind of cheap and not very sturdy keyboard that last about 7 years in perfect condition, has lasted longer than a piano... and my cousins literally stepped all over my keyboard all the time. Now this Digital Piano is definitely more sturdy than my old keyboard, which leads me to guess that it's more sturdy than my cousin's piano... at least.

Williams Allegro Digital Piano:
- Has 1 pedal
- Has headphone hook ups and other hook ups
- Has weighted keys (so feels like a real piano)
- It's touch sensitive (meaning if you press the keys lightly the sound will be soft but if you press them hard the sound will be loud)
- Has volume adjustment
- Has multiple sounds: Piano 1, Piano 2, Electrical Piano, Electrical Piano 2, Church Organ, Rock/Jazz Organ, Strings, and Upright Bass
- Sounds like a real piano unlike some keyboards
- You can record
- You can connect midi cables
- Can split the sounds so that one half of the piano is one sound and the other half is another sound.
- It's really heavy. For me, that's really the only con but it's gonna be different with other good quality Digital Piano, so this factor doesn't effect the rating. This is more just a warning so you're prepared and don't under estimate the weight and then are surprise when trying to pick it up. You may want help if your not very strong.

If you have any questions, just comment. I can't promise you'll get an answer from me right away but maybe someone else will comment and help you.

Hope I Helped:)
55 comments| 150 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2008
I'm certainly not a professional, however, I do know what a piano is supposed to sound like, and I know the difference between a Harpsichord, Organ, and a Harmonica: 'nuff said.

First of all I would like to say that the Williams Digital Piano is by far the best instrument I have ever owned, next to my toy, an old Casio keyboard that I owned for quite some time, I was happy to finally sell that off in a garage sale. When I went hunting for another piano, I took my Sony headphones and headed off to various stores with digital pianos. This one by far sounded the closest to a real upright piano (Well, the Yamaha was closer, but another 1K more expensive...), and it had the features and look I was wanting.

Pros ---
1. The weighted digital piano keys mimic perfectly the hammer-action of a real piano, and the sound is equally amazing. As I said I tested it out in headphones, and even at home in total silence the headphones are clear as anything and sound perfect. The built-in speakers that are attached to the piano work equally as well. I 'tested' it note-for-note, unplugging my headphones and listening to the built-in speakers, and I can safely say that I don't hear a difference at all. No "fuzzy-sounds", no buzzing, no humming, etc. Sounds nice.

2. After listening to several Harpsichord songs, I played a few notes on the piano to compare. So far I can't tell the difference between the notes played in the song and the ones I played on the piano.

3. Same with the Organ and string setting, both sound equally realistic and about as close to an acoustic piano as I'm going to get without spending thousands of dollars.

4. I actually bought this piano online, yes, from Musicians Friend. No, I am not an employee there, nor have I ever heard of it. I did call them up to see how exactly it was going to be mailed. I mean, sure it is less than 1K for the digital piano, but I wanted to make sure it wasn't going to end up in several pieces on my doorstep. I have to say the piano box arrived in no less than perfect condition. Go with Musicians Friend if you are going to buy this!

Cons ---
1. Okay, so again I'm new at this. So, of COURSE I played the Play-Along songs while I waited for my real books to arrive. One of the irks I have is that when you use the digital piano to listen to the play-along songs, be forewarned that it is MUCH louder than when you are playing the piano normally. Also, if you are trying to play along, you have to compensate the volume by turning it down to hear the song correctly, but I also had a hard time hearing what I was playing on the piano!

2. Same thing goes with the metronome. It is MUCH louder than the 'volume' of the piano. If I had to change something, it would be how loud the Metronome sounds as compared to the piano. The volume, when recording songs and playing them back, however, is at the 'same volume' as the piano. Don't know if it is just my piano or what, but listening to the Play-Along songs and using the metronome is quite annoying.

3. I'm a computer programmer. I bought this piano because it came with a USB cable, anddd I thought I could use my computer knowledge to retrieve the songs off of the Williams Digital Piano. Not-so-much. There is no way to get the recorded songs off of the piano, the only thing the USB cable does is transmit the MIDI messages to a computer if you have the correct software installed. For me, kinda pointless.

Well, I think that about sums it up. Oh yeah, well, I don't think that this is a "Con" per-se, however: this piano comes disassembled. Which means that you have to assemble it. Fine, but the problem lies: this piano does not have instructions included to tell you how to assemble the piano. I, personally, was able to assemble is promptly. However, at first it was irksome laying out all the pieces and figuring out what goes where.
44 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
It's a very good sound. I hooked it up yesterday and played a bit. The feel is good. It's a solid piece of equipment. There are like 8 different sounds: Piano 1, Piano 2, Strings, Bass et cetera. It has a Midi port and for $8 or so dollars you can get a 10 foot midi-usb cable. You can interface great programs with that such as educational software. I have not done it yet but plan on doing it. The sustain pedal is fine. You do not need to buy a separate sustain pedal. You will need to buy or make your own stand.
22 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2011
I just purchased this piano a little over 6 months ago and I'm extremely satisfied with it. The weighted keys have nice heavy feel with great pressure sensitivity. They do take a little getting used to if you're more used to playing on a synth keyboard. Each of the instruments sound good and the keyboard has many features listed in the manual such as MIDI functions and control over reverb, etc. The sustain pedal capability makes the piano sound great. The MIDI-in and out function is a great plus, it also has an L an R line out as well as a 1/4" headphone output. The speakers have fairly good quality considering the price, and if you don't like them you can hook it up to an amplifier.
Con:
The only con about this keyboard which I didn't mark against it is the cheap sustain pedal it came with. It comes with a square sustain pedal which is a nice bonus, but after only a week or two, the pedal stopped working. I purchased an M-Audio SP-2 piano style sustain pedal, and now I have no problems. I strongly recommend buying a better quality sustain pedal if you intend on using the sustain function.
Overall:
A great quality keyboard for a cheap price.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2010
I just bought this piano yesterday and didn't read the reviews until now.

My opinion is this:

This instrument is wonderful. I am a 10+year piano player. I have a bachelor's in music and grew up with my own cherry Yamaha baby grand in a room with hardwood floors. If you don't know, that just means I have the alpha piano to compare it to.

To be clear, this comes nowhere close. But then again, my parents spent upwards of 10 grand on that piano and it was used and on sale.

I bought this for $499 at Guitar Center in San Antonio and they threw a piano bench in for free. From what I've seen, you cannot get an upright digital piano for cheaper. Period. That being said, this piano rivals most of the upright acoustics I've played on and blows all the others out of the water. The most annoying thing about an average upright is that the older they get they less they hold their tune, and random keys may lose tension. Keyboards tend to have unstable stands (not good with little ones around), and it is seriously frustrating when I lose the sustain pedal in the middle of a piece because it's not anchored to anything. This piano takes care of all of that. And to compare to an acoustic upright for $500 - you just won't find it in any store. You might find it on Craigslist, but good luck with that..

About the piano itself: The action is good. Not performance standard, but good. Much better than a lot of older though well taken care of acoustic pianos. The sustain pedel isn't what I'd like it to be, but I haven't figured out all the settings yet. And all my college professors yelled at me for overusing it anyway. :) Overall, a quality piece of equipment. Definitely compare to others the same price, but as a professional who actually went around and played all the under $800 pianos in San Antonio, this one definitely takes the cake.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
I purchased this two years ago here but failed to give a review. i
choose to do so now because i rely so heavily on reviews before deciding to buy an item here on amazin.

The keyboard is solid and more than I had hoped for. The keys are weighted. the sound is brilliant. the item also arrived early. This was more than value for money. I would recommend to anyone looking fir a piano substitute with the built in advantages of a keyboard.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Great piano for the price. All the bad comments about this piano are not worth reading. If you want a professional piano then dig deeper into your wallet but if you want an inexpensive but quality piano this is a great choice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
So I began piano lessons and needed a piano to practice on. Being the avid online shopper that I am I did massive amounts of research and settled on this one, it had the best balance of cost, and features I wanted. The weighted keys are just like a real piano, 88 keys (full size) is excellent, sounds are OK( I wouldn't play a concert with it), dynamic touch is spot on, not as good as a real piano but then again it's not a real piano, but the touch dynamics are near perfect, I am a avid music composer and use REASON and PRO-TOOLs extensively so as a control surface this thing is AWESOME! Being able to record a piano line on the keyboard itself then relay the info via MIDI into REASON is awesome! Let's me toy around until I find a loop I like then lay it down for as many bars as I would like without having to play it over and over or go in and clip the loop and try to line it up. ALL THIS FOR $250! It was a factory refurbished one but brand new they are only about $300 I believe, being used it has no problems (so far) except for a few scratches that do not effect the play itself. All and all a GREAT practice piano for a great price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2014
The piano is fully functional and full sized. I love the 88 keys and the sound itself is decent. Its not to die for or anything, but this is the best you could get for the cheap price. The other sounds are there for filling and are somewhat "meh" although the church organ sound is pretty good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
Just got this for my children to start piano lessons. Thought about buying a keyboard at Costco but the $600 one was poorly rated and was going to splurge on the $1400 one. After checking Amazon, I found this one and it seemed to get great reviews. Their teacher told me to make sure I got a weighted key keyboard and most are over $1000. This one feels just like a piano, is very sturdy and we won't have to worry about added expenses (tuning and repairs). For $250, this is AMAZING!!! So glad I didn't spend more money. I can't imagine anything feeling or sounding better.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 65 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here