Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 1, 2012
This review is for the : Broil King(Onward Mfg. Co.) Signet 90 LPG with rear rotisserie.

I want to start off by stating that, I rarely write reviews. But for this product I feel it is noteworthy.
First off; The shipping company was Homedirect, and everything arrived without even the slightest damage (which I was very concerned about, due to the large and heavy nature of the BBQ). We were very pleased with their handling of this item.

Secondly; The assembly was a breeze. I liked the use of combi-head phillips/square drive screws. If you have a #2 square drive bit and an electric adjustable torque drill/driver, it will be a breeze! Also a 7/16" open/box wrench and 7/16" socket, with ratchet etc., will ease in the assembly. Otherwise, a small Crescent(adjustable) wrench will suffice. The overall build quality seems pretty good, at this price range. The battery powered starter works well, although to light the rotisserie burner you will need to match light it(or some other flame source). Probably the only items I have issue with, are the burner control knobs. While they are nice and large, it seems as though the valve stems are a bit flimsy. So, be gentle( hence the 4 stars).

Next, is the initial burn off(first time fire up). There definitely were some gasses burning off of the BBQ( to be expected). Mostly from the lid(in between the stainless steel sheet-metal and the aluminum lid casting itself). It may be some residual oils, but it smelled like a hot paint. We've grilled on the BBQ three times, since the initial burn off, and I still notice a small amount of fuming emitting between the sheet-metal and the lid casting(although it is lessening with every use). Just to be clear; There are NO fumes emitting from within the cooking compartment! There are no adverse flavors being imparted to the food!

Now, down to what it's all about! Cooking! The BBQ pre-heats well within 10 minutes to 600°F! It also retains its heat very well.

The first items we cooked were some Cajun sausage links, from our local meat locker(butcher). Not a great test, but they cooked evenly and as one would expect. The next two items were cooked using the rotisserie unit.

We prepared a 4lb. beef roast, for Christmas dinner, and the rear rotisserie cooked this to a perfect med/rare in approx. 1 and 1/2 hours! Referring to the "Genius Griller's Handbook" that is provided with the BBQ grill, for some grilling techniques and times, it also provided us with much additional grilling info as well as recipes. Needless to say, Christmas dinner was made perfect with the excellent roast!

On New Years Eve we used the rotisserie again, to roast a 6lb. whole chicken in 1 and 3/4 hours. Again, the rotisserie unit performed flawlessly! The chicken was beautifully cooked all around, and remained very juicy! An excellent dinner to ring in the New Year!

We have yet to grill any steaks, chicken pieces, or veggies yet, but I can only assume that this grill will perform admirably. Also, we haven't used the side burner yet, but I did fire it up to make sure it worked. We are very pleased with this BBQ grill, thus far, and anticipate that we will get many years of use.

One last note; The company builds these grills in North America!

A Happy Griller.

UPDATE; 3-Aug-2014

We've had this grill for almost 3 years now, and I'm still very pleased with its performance! Everything we cook on it, from steaks, burgers, chicken, and veggies, the grill has not let me down. It is still the perfect size for our needs, and is lasting very well! I keep the grill outside, although covered at all times when not in use, and it still looks and performs beautifully! In the winter months, when I know I'm not going to be grilling for some time, I remove the cast iron grills, and the electronic starter's battery, to minimize the possibility of rust and corrosion. Lastly, the cover I purchased was a Broil King cover that is heavy duty and is still the only cover I've had the need to purchase ( http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005NNZIYC/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1 )! Enjoy!
8 helpful votes
9 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 4, 2013
We just got this in a couple of weeks ago and after a frustrating assembly fiasco, we are enjoying the grill.

Being handy with tools, I expected to be able to install this in a few hours. There were several problems with the assembly process, however, including incomplete documentation, missing or incorrect parts and shipping damage. It is really frustrating to sail through 2/3 of this process and then not being able to find several parts and then seeing that the documentation itself is missing the parts. Went to the local hardware store and finagled replacement screws for the missing ones and jury-rigged a plastic stopper until I could get the replacement.

Another problem was the big dent in the right shelf. The grill was still fully functional, but after paying a premium price I feel like you shouldn't have to live with a noticeable dent in a conspicuous place. The left shelf also had several small dings, but I was willing to live with these.

Fortunately, Amazon and Broil King were great in getting the replacement parts to me so I somewhat appreciated going through the support process seeing that issues would be handled properly. People on the phone were reasonable and polite and I expect good service in case anything else goes prematurely wrong.

Overall the grill is great to cook with. We used to have a Brinkmann that had more cooking surface area, but was uneven and the front 1/4 of the grill was basically only good as a food warmer. The Broil King Signet 90 is much more even in heat distribution which translates to evenly grilled meats and vegetables. The true cooking surface area is actually the same as the Brinkmann. We have also done some smoking on the Signet 90 using soaked wood chips and aluminum foil pouches. I have to say that the smoked trout and chicken that we've done have been outstanding. We are looking forward to trying out the rotisserie.

I also like where they've used sturdy plastic as in the base. As mentioned by someone else previously, this might actually prevent rusting. The bottom doors are flimsy, but I don't expect that to be a big problem since they basically only cover up the propane tank. There is very little room for storage in the bottom cabinet. For someone who insists on heavyweight materials, this might be a disappointment.

If you are not good with tools or get frustrated really easily assembling relatively complicated devices, I would not buy this product here (sorry Amazon). However, if you are a do-it-yourselfer like me, go for it and just realize that the ride may be a bit bumpy, but the destination is worth it.

Update 4-9-13: Got all the replacement parts so the grill is in tiptop shape. Tried out the rotisserie and was very happy with the result. We are grilling about 4 times a week in the nice California weather and are happy we bought the Signet.
2 helpful votes
3 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on July 16, 2012
I received my new grill in the factory packaging and there was no damage. It took me almost 3 hours to assemble the grill as the assembly instructions were terrible. There were only picture instructions with no verbage and the pictures left a lot to be desired. As others have said you have to have very small hands to get some of the bolts on and to tighten. I finally found the video on the Broil King web site which helped me assemble the shelves. I gave the grill 5 stars and the instructions 1 star.

I cranked the bad boy up and in 10 minutes it was up to 700+ degrees. I am still playing with the temperature controls to get the temp where I like. I usually cook indirect. The first night I had 2 1/2 inch thick pork chops and they turned out great. Tonight I plan on cooking a whole chicken on the rotisserie. I also cooked some viadelia onions on the grill on indirect, a no brainer, and perfect.

I have had many grills and cook out at least 4-5 nights a week when I am in town. I have had Ducanes, Char-broil and others and none compare to this one. I usually buy a new grill every 2-3 years as they burn out quickly. Although this grill was a little pricier it should be well worth the money.

I will add additional comments after I use the grill more. It is a good buy. One other things that could be improved on is making all four wheels able to turn allowing easier movement in tight spaces.

After cooking on the grill for over a month, I wonder why I didn't buy one years ago. I ope this grill lasts for several years as I love it. Steaks and chops come out beautiful. I haven't tried fish yet but that will come. The only issue that I have not is that the two large front wheels make it hard to mve around. I sent an e-mail to Broil-King about putting two additional swivel wheels on the front.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on July 20, 2014
I have had this grill now longer than any other grill I have ever owned. I use it frequently. I just recently replaced the grill grates with stainless steel grates. Somewhat pricey, but well worth the investment (assuming they hold up as they should -- I don't care who you buy a grill from or who makes it, the ceramic coated cast iron grates suck.) This grill still looks and works as well as the day I put it together. VERY HAPPY. And, I have had great customer service with Broil King whenever I have needed to deal with them.
2 helpful votes
3 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on December 26, 2011
I bought this grill as a replacement for my Charbroil gas grill which was lost in a storm last spring. I was considering a Weber Genesis when I found Broil King grills online. I visited a local dealer and looked that the different models in person and immediately recognized these were high quality grills. After my trip to the dealer, I searched online for a the best deal possible and Amazon was where it was at.
The shipping is great, the freight service provided by Amazon called me to set-up a delivery time that worked around my schedule. My grill arrived on time and the box was undamaged.
When it came time to assemble the grill I strongly recommend two people to do this. As others have already noted - There are a few of the bolts that are extremely difficult to reach. That said - it was manageable. In fact - You only need a screwdriver and a pair of pliers to assemble this unit.
Total assembly time took about 90 minutes from unpacking to the first ignition. One thing to note is that some of the screws/fasteners are placed in the holes where they belong, from the factory. I initially believed I as missing some parts but I wasn't.
So far as the functionality goes - This grill works... Plain and simple.
It got up to 600 degrees on the initial burn off in about 8 minutes.
The burners are great and provide high BTU's evenly across the entire cooking surface. The rotisserie kit appears to be high quality, however I have not used it yet. The oven is high quality cast aluminum, the lid and base fit together perfectly.
The cooking grates are heavy duty and can be flipped over to collect drippings and infuse more flavor into your food.
The side burner is fine for simmering, however is on par with other side burners on my previous grills - it is ok but not great.
Overall grill is very high quality with all of the parts fitting together perfectly. It feels extremely well made. If you are considering a Weber Genesis, you need to consider Broil King grills. They are equal or higher quality and a significantly better value for your money.
This is the nicest grill I have owned to date and I am proud to be part of the Broil King family!
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on December 4, 2011
I purchased this grill about 2 months ago and use it a couple times a week. While I love my Weber kettle and have always preferred charcoal to gas for outdoor cooking, I really wanted a rotisserie. Extensive research led me to the Broil King brand; it is made in Canada and is of very high quality, much more "heavy duty" than ones from the major manufacturers (Weber possibly excepted - I have not owned one of their high-end gas grills for comparison).

It was delivered in excellent condition by a private trucking company. It took about 2 hours to assemble - directions were pictures only but were fairly easy to follow. The grill has cast iron grates which make beautiful sear marks on steaks. It heats quickly and really puts out the BTUs (the higher settings are absolutely great for grilling steaks). The rotisserie, the impetus for my purchase, works very well and can accommodate several chickens at one time. I do remove the grates to put a drip pan under the rotisserie, and removing the grates would also provide clearance to rotisserie a small turkey.

Overall, I feel this grill was a GREAT value and I anticipate it lasting for a very long time. I'm using it much more frequently than anticipated, as it is so easy to just turn it on and throw on some steaks, chops, burgers, etc. for a super quick supper. Highly recommended.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on January 14, 2012
Broil King 986784 Signet 90 Liquid Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner and Rear Rotisserie

This arrived this week, and unlike previous reviews the grill was well packed and protected.
The assembly was pretty easy so of the nuts were awkward to get at but then I am left handed.
Item 82 the shelf locking pin are plastic so be careful with them.
I am very pleased with the finished grill it looks good and fired up first time, don't forget to season the cast-iron grills which have a reversible surface for lean and fatty meats.
The drop leaf side make storage easy but again watch those pins.
The grill area is excellent and distribution of heat excellent.
I cannot wait to use the rotisserie which is easy to assemble, just make sure you balance the meat as per the instructions.

I am looking forward to many happy hours of grilling
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on February 12, 2014
This is my first review - I would run from this grill. Doors are cheap and don't close. (I've tried 4 sets)

The company is nice, but I've had to call over a dozen times for a variety of problems. Most recently, the gas stopped working and while it is under warranty, all they are willing to do is troubleshoot over the phone.
3 helpful votes
4 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on September 20, 2011
The grill does not come well packaged. The parts are just laid in the box with no foam separating them. If there are any misadventures during shipping, something is going to get bent. Mine, however, arrived in pristine condition. Went together fairly quickly except for 2 nuts fastening the base to the burner assembly. It took me forever to figure out how to attach them. Eventually, duct taped the nuts to the wrench. The quality is just unbelievable. My old grill looks like junk standing along side it. Heats really fast. Only complaint is that rotisserie setup limits the size of the bird you can cook. Tried to cook 7 pound Perdue Oven Stuffer Roaster and simply could not keep parts of the bird from rotating through the flame. I think 5 pounds would be the limit. It was also very convenient that the sides fold down. Didn't need to purchase a new cover.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on February 6, 2012
Seriously, for the price, I don't think you can better. By a lot.

This is thing gets hot, like Green Egg temperatures. Turn it on and 10 minutes later it can be 600deg. I've had it well over that too. The needle went past the temperature markings, which end around 700 or so. The side burner seemed to be something I would never use, but since the one on this grill is equivalent to one you'd find on a standard range, it actually is useful for pre-cooking brats and such. Haven't used the searing burner yet, though.

I throw a nice NY Strip on there and 5 minutes later it's a perfect rare. With the cast iron grate, the lines are show-quality (if there are steak shows).

I would recommend this grill to anyone and everyone and I don't think I will be buying another grill for a long time.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here