Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 58 reviews
on August 6, 2012
Got this just in case have extreme emergency situation (i.e., can't hike out) during our extensive back country driving in southern Utah. Not hard to set-up but think their website could be clearer that requires an I-phone or phone with Android (says this on the box but didn't see it on the website). I'm using it with an AT&T Samsung Captivate Glide.

The trick that I discovered is that while Spot paired easily with the phone via blue tooth, it wouldn't actually connect most of the time--sometimes yes, but most times just kept trying but didn't happen. However, discovered that if I turn the blue tooth off on the phone, turn on Spot, open up Spot app on the phone, it starts to connect, asks if it can turn on blue tooth, and when clicked, it does that and they connect.

Hope we only use it when we need to tell our contact people we are OK and staying out a day longer than expected, but also good to know we have the SOS capability if needed.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Because of mixed reviews, I was uncertain about whether or not I should buy the Spot Connect. So far I'm very pleased with my purchase. I do a lot of hiking and this provides some peace of mind for my wife and family knowing that I could summon help in the event of an emergency. Some people have had problems syncing the device with their smartphones, but I have fortunately not had any issues (I do make sure that the wi-fi is off first). I've tested the device at home and I have taken it on three hikes. So far, only one attempt to send a check-in/okay message failed. Considering that I was surrounded by mountains and under a particularly heavy canopy of trees, it's not surprising that it failed. To be fair, I suspect that any satellite device would have struggled under similar circumstances. I love the fact that you can have up to 14 predefined messages. With that many, I can anticipate virtually any messages that I might want to send and I can create them before leaving home. If I absolutely had to, I could type and send a custom message from the trail and it would only cost 50 cents each (even less than that if you buy a bundle). You can also create up to 10 contact groups. Depending on the nature of the message, I may only want to send it to my wife, or perhaps to my wife and kids, or perhaps to a larger group which includes extended family and friends. The only small complaint that I have is related to the door that covers the SOS button. It's rubberized and doesn't close tightly. It's not open (it's just not completely closed). I'm not concerned that I would accidentally send an SOS, but it would obviously be better if it closed securely. I'll continue to test the device on future hikes and if I need to update this review, I will.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
My Mom liked the fact that she could track my chase truck in Mexico. It calmed her nerves with the remainder of her family participating in an off-road race.

Here’s what I didn’t like about it:
1) Not all text messages sent were received. This was a big selling point for me, but I found it unreliable. I was surprised to see how many messages sent were not received.
2) It would be great to be able to “test” the emergency function. I hope to never use it, but it would be great to be able to know it worked as advertised.

I find it a good tool to use for backup tracking when out of reach of cell service. I don’t trust my life with it though, which is what you want with this type of device.

We had GPS tracking on the race car from a different provider that worked more consistent though the week long race.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
I tested the SPOT Connect with an iPhone. Setup was fairly easy but at times I wasn't sure if I had done certain things right or not. The only thing that isn't working right now - and I'll figure this out today when I test again, is the integration with Facebook. Otherwise, SMS notifications and tracking are working fine and as expected.

Here's why I'm not giving this a 5 rating:
1). The findMeSpot website was down and prevented me from registering. I had to send an email to tech support and within minutes the site was back up. Good support but internally, the company should be proactive and not expose IT problems to their customers (I work in IT and have been for 37 years)
2). Batteries shipped with the unit were all but dead. I couldn't pair the unit with my iPhone and had to replace the batteries to get this working. Good thing I picked some extra Lithium batteries.
3). User Guide. The quick start instructions and website should indicate where to find the User Guides. If interested, they're in the Help section of their website and all documentation should be clearly located with it's own link as this is what people are used to.
4). LED information should be included in the Quick Start guide - did I miss it? I had to find the User Guide to understand what they meant.

I'll be using the SPOT Connect to hike the Appalachian Trail and will use it extensively to keep family members notified in near real-time of my location.

I believe my SPOT Connect will work fine as long as I have a reasonable view of the sky and will recommend this product to anyone that meet along the "AT".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
Tried to auto-renew even after I went thru their hoops to cancel. Did EVERYTHING like they instructed - all in good time. They still renewed. Thank heavens for email trail. Credit card co is blocking their access to my account going forward (credit card rep listened in on the call to SPOT - given I had already been told I had been cancelled twice by SPOT - need 3rd party witness).

Rip-off co (going to trust your life to these guy)? Better options today. Search for Personal Locator Beacon and Satellite Messenger.

Now to see if they actually refund my money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2015
when I received the Spot Connect and began the activation process the web page indicated there was a firmware update available for the device. I attached the usb cable and the update worked just fine.

I proceeded to sync the unit via bluetooth to my HTC Android phone with the Spot Connect App and everything worked just fine with no hitches, or complications. The Spot Connect works exactly as described, and it works well. I have used all the functions such as Send OK, Track, both with preset messages and typed messages from phone, of course the only function I have not used yet is SOS, hopefully I won't have to use that function.

Once the weather gets warmer I will be using it in the Colorado high country on my motorcycle, I will be curious how the GPS receiver works in some of the more remote areas that I frequent. But all my check ins and position reports, and tracks have worked just fine down in the Denver metro area that I did to test the unit, so at this point I have had no problems to report. As subscription prices go for these types of devices this is the least expensive way to be able to transmit messages via satellite from areas where there is no cell phone coverage.

I will report back after the snow clears and I can test the unit in more mountainous terrain, but so far so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2011
I felt inclined to write a review since there is very little real info on the spot connect right now. It works!! after receiving it, downloading the app on my htc evo. I fired it up synced it to the phone, briefed the owners manual, and the thing is ready to rock. As it advertises sends 41 charter text and email messages to a easy to set up group of people. From the time you hit send on your device to the time your text and email messages are received is under 5 minutes. The facebook updating also worked without a hitch. I had no problem syncing it and it appears to work within the standard range of all bluetooth devices. This is a must have for anyone going out of cell phone range. I was out of cell service for an extra two days in San Felipe Mexico due to vehicle trouble in the mountains, that I was suppose to be back in the US. While we were drinking Tecates soakin up the sun my family was planning my funeral in San Diego, wish I had it then. I cant wait to use the live tracking on my next adventure.
55 comments| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
Used the SPOT systems before, great concept and idea. Gen3 works well, but trying to get this thing to connect
to your smartphone is a pain in the ass. Couple that with very, very minimal instructions and guidance from the
company leaves you wanting to smash this POS against a wall in no time. Go with the Gen3, cheaper and works.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
Diary of a Spot customer service saga...

Day 1: I receive the Spot Connect and try to register it, but their site says the device's firmware must be upgraded first. This is annoying but understandable. What’s irritating is that, while this device can pair with your phone, you can’t install new firmware via their phone app — you need to use a Mac or PC. I install their firmware update tool on my Mac, and this is where the problems begin. The update tool indicates that the Spot is connected to the Mac, but the tool's “Perform Update” button is disabled and unclickable. Nothing (disconnecting, reconnecting, reboots all around, etc.) can enable this button. I can’t click the button, so I can't upgrade the firmware, so I can't register the device, so I can't use it.

I submit a customer support ticket through their site.

Day 5: I receive a fairly generic customer service email from Spot. It ignores most of the details I supplied in the support ticket, and asks me a number of questions I’d already answered. The mail provides instructions for installing the firmware update tool on a PC. As I’d explained to them, I have a Mac.

I call their customer service line. I explain the problem again. They give me instructions for installing the firmware update tool on a PC. I have a Mac, I say. The customer service rep seems to fail to grasp what the problem is. They explain to me more than once that I need to download the firmware update tool from the site. I’ve done that, I say, but the tool doesn’t work. The rep talks to someone else for a while, then comes back and asks me to send them a bunch of diagnostic log files from the firmware update tool. I email them the logs.

Day 6: I ping them again.

Day 7: I ping them again.

Day 10: I finally receive an email from Spot customer service. It asks me to send them the diagnostic log files from the firmware update tool. These would be the same log files I’d sent them five days earlier.

Later in the day, I receive an automated message thanking me for contacting them Spot Customer Care Team. If I need further assistance, they tell me, they will be “more than happy to assist you again".

I borrow someone else’s Windows PC, and use it to upgrade the firmware on the Spot. I take the device outside, and it can’t get a signal. I give up.

Day 14: I buy a DeLorme InReach Explorer instead. It also requires a firmware update, but their tool actually works. I take the device outside, and it works instantly. The DeLorme is more expensive, but works, is easier to use, has a better a phone app, and can not only send messages, but it can receive them too.

Day 19: Return the Spot Connect. Goodbye!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
I was a little skeptical from all the bad reviews. Setup was a little confusing but it is important to read the manual before setting up the unit. The problems I was having were due to my phone settings not being right, not with the spot unit. Once I figured all that out, the unit works flawlessly. Posts to facebook and my wifes email and phone within minutes via gps satellites. I feel much safer now when heading off the grid and this is a great tool to have for family trips when we are off roading in the mountains, desert, etc.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here