Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Big & Rich PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 405 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 505 reviews
on March 7, 2012
This is my first true Laptop. I previously used PCs, the last being a 16" sony Vaio. I decided to finally try Mac pro as all my friends were raving about it. I bought the 13" version, as I wanted a light laptop given that my previous one was too heavy to travel with or use outdoors. I also wasn't sure I would like Mac and so I got the cheapest version.

I have to say that after a short learning period, I'm really satisfied with the Mac. I can say it's my first true laptop, it's really light and slim. Battery time is amazing about 5-6 hours. Love the touch pad and gestures. It connects better to the internet; faster connection to wifi and less crashes. Much faster connection to VPN networks.

It takes time to get used to the finder instead of explorer (I personally prefer explorer were you can see folders easier and cut and paste files easier). Also I would have probably been able to get the top of the line PC with the same money for the cheapest Mac pro, some time it takes a longer for iphoto to work or microsoft office products to start working but once they start they are much more stable than on PC and the lag time is minimal and trivial to me.

The 13" screen is adequate for internet browsing, watching videos/photos and writing documents. It is a little small for working on excel / databases. I might consider buying a 15" in the future if they become lighter.

In summary, I'm glad I made the switch. Microsoft and PC manufacturers have to step up their game if they want to survive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
Like many reviewers, this purchase was the final step in the long road from PC to Mac user. Approximately five months after my initial purchase, I'm very pleased with how things have turned out.

The good: Aside from the obvious things (beautiful to look at, very robust construction, etc.), the Mac is simply more fun to use than a PC. Not surprisingly, Mac software works better on a Mac. iTunes went from a nightmare program on my PC to a breeze on the Mac. Updating my iPhone and iPad has been similarly streamlined. Compared to the PC's I was testing, the Mac felt far sturdier, and more likely to withstand my business trips.

The bad: Some things just take more time to get used to. Some are simple: the control key combinations to cut, paste, undo, etc. all use the command key. This is still causing me problems while typing this review. The Finder folder is just a different system than My Documents for organizing documents - I find it more challenging to arrange things into folders, delete redundant items, etc. Most of my complaints can be summarized into the category of teaching an old dog new tricks, and I think more practice will make things easier. Other things that have caused some problems/irritations include needing to reformat external hard drives, finding Mac printer drivers for my printer, repurchasing MS Office, and having my dog chew my power cord.

The other: I don't notice any particular speed advantages on my system vs. my four-year-old PC. I'm certainly not testing the limits of the system's computing power, but had hoped to notice an improvement for day-to-day tasks. Following the advice of some of the fellow reviewers on Amazon, I purchased an additional 4 GB of Crucial Ram, but haven't noticed any tangible improvements in performance.

One addition - I bought a Time Machine a few months after purchasing my Mac. Though pricey, the automated back-up for our families computer is extremely comforting. I'd recommend it to anyone, especially if you need a new wireless router as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2012
The Apple MacBook Pro is simply the best laptop that I have ever used. I was in the market for a new laptop as my 18.4" laptop of 2 years started wearing out on me. I was debating whether or not to buy another Windows laptop or to finally 'bite the bullet' and buy a MacBook Pro. I realized that I would regret not buying the Mac regardless of which Windows machine I purchased, so I bought the Mac.

WOW. This machine and I are nearly inseparable. A lot of Mac users say that with a Mac, "everything just works." They are right. The boot time on the machine is FAST, about 20 seconds at the MOST, from my experience.

The machine is small, and lightweight. The aluminum is very strong and high quality as opposed to the typical plastic enclosures that Windows laptops have. The hinge for the screen of the laptop is really strong and secure - a bit of a snap closing effect when the top is close to closing.

The only software that I have noticed to be a bit buggy and freezes every now and again is Microsoft Office for Mac. All in all, I am very happy that I went with this Mac. I know that the build quality is extremely good and that it should last way longer than 2 years. As someone who has never bought an Apple product before, this was my first and a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2014
I bought this when it came out and then sold it in 2012 to my brother for him to use for college. It worked perfect for me for work for a year and then when he took it he has used it with the only issue being the hard drive failing on him. This is expected to me since it's a mechanical drive and he's hard on electronics.

This is not a gaming laptop, but it is powerful enough to do anything you would normally do on a laptop. I don't know if it has the power to run current os's on it, but when I had it I upgraded it to 8gb of ram and ran a windows 7 vm on it constantly and never had issues.

I work in IT so I need a basic solid laptop. I would probably buy this again today if I needed a laptop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
I had been shopping for a new laptop for some weeks. My old iBook, over 8 years old was still working well, but I was never happy with the keyboard action.
Given the opportunity to work for a short time on a Mac Book Pro that a college student of my acquaintance uses convinced me that the keyboard action on the new MacBook Pro has some "feel" to it. As a child of the typewriter age, I need some resistance under my finger tips. I have also worked on a Dell, which self-destructed about the time the warranty expired; and earlier Apple models included a Powerbook G-3 and way back in the dark ages I had a 5300 Powerbook. Having said all of this, as a journalist who carries a lap top to many, many governmental meetings, theatre productions, and even into courtrooms, this new MacBook Pro is the finest tool I have ever has the privilege of using in my work. The battery life is enough so that I don't have to seek out an electrical outlet after a couple of hours, and the wireless connection is amazing. My new Apple lap top also works well with buy existing laser printer, and with a memory stick, I can transfer articles into my desktop for storage or further editing.
This is the first time I have considered clearing my desk of my desktop and using a lap top exclusively....and the backlit keys are a God-send when working in areas with limited light, which I occasionally have to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2011
I love everything about this MacBook Pro. The 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 is fast to me! I upgraded to 8 GB of RAM, which I completely recommend and it's very cheap). It's portable enough to take from office to home and travel; it's slim and light. It's powerful and even more powerful than my current desktop (a fairly new Macbook) and the batter life is wonderful! While I could use a bigger screen when I'm working on multiple documents, I compromised space for portability and I don't regret it. The Thunderbolt works great with the HDMI adapter (just remember to change the sound settings in System Preferences and choose your TV as your sound output device). Though it works great, before the first year is up, I plan to purchase Apple Care to extend the warranty two more years...you never know and I've been very happy with Apple Care for previous computers. I didn't purchase it right away to save a little money upfront.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2014
I love my new laptop. I originally had a Chromebook which didn't do anything for the needs that I had as far as music and applications and what the computer could actually handle. The battery power is actually much better than I expected lasting about 4-41/2 hours per full charge. The picture quality is incredible and I've ever my boyfriend start complaining about his since I have purchased this one. I bought the computer used, and the sender was very lovely and accommodating by sending me an email before it shipped sending pictures of slight scratches and then proceeded to call me when I didn't answer the email just to make sure it was okay to send. After having this macbook I don't think I'll ever go back to another kind of computer again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
Recently purchased my second MacBook Pro 13.3, with aluminum case. It feels substantial, operated beautifully out of the box. Super easy internet setup, up and running in only a few minutes. Recognized my new wireless HP printer immediately with no need to update drivers or software. This was the easiest and quickest setup I've ever made; everything completed in less than 1 hour. Keyboard is very adequately sized for a laptop. I do like the older style trackpad on Powerbooks or iBooks better than the new trackpad on the MacBook Pro's as I often right click on items, but may just invest in a wireless mouse. Other than my preference for the older style trackpad, I'm very happy with my purchase.
I'm a little disappointed with battery life; I'm not getting any more than 5 hrs. use even with minimal programs running; with video or a more intensive program the battery life is more like 2-3 hours. This is typical of the older laptops but I had hoped Apple would install a more powerful battery in their newer laptops.
All in all this laptop is superior to any Windows PC's I have used, and I love how well all the programs work together seamlessly and effortlessly. It promises to be a very reliable, dependable, and long lasting product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2012
After a few years of hesitation I finally "drank the kool-aid" and bought my first Apple computer, the MacBook Pro 13 in. The biggest reason I put this purchase off is not because of the Apple products themselves, I truly didn't think I was good/smart/worthy enough of a Mac. My fears were put to rest with the delivery of my MacBook this week. Though it does take some getting used to, the startup-walk through and tutorial was very helpful and Apple was gentle with me. It's actually more compatible with my non-Mac using cohorts and business stuff than I expected.
This is truly one of the most positive experiences I've had with a new computer purchase. The performance is still amazing to me: quick, simple, direct and minimal fluff and fanfare (which takes up valuable space). The swag is does offer is useful and also user friendly.
If you are quasi-savvy with computer technology and have been debating on leaving the dark side, I recommend making the change. You deserve it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2012
If you're still on the fence about buying a Mac, this is the ideal place to jump off. It is an exceptional entry point for the Mac experience ... great performance in a comfortable package. Seamless aluminum case is functional, solid and very cool; display is better than most anything out there; and ... well ... it's a Mac. Sure, the MacBook Pro may cost twice as much as entry point for PC laptop but that's kind of like comparing a tool to a toy - both appear to work but only one truly gets the job done (unless you happen to be 6 years old, in which case maybe you're okay with a disposable laptop). The i5 processor is more than adequate for all but the most demanding jobs - my daughter uses this Mac for making videos for high school with acceptable performance. I'm sure at some point we'll juice-up the memory but for now, it's just fine for routine tasks (surfing, word processing, e-mail and managing media library). Only wish we had jumped onto the Mac side long ago and avoided years of frustration with PCs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse