Truck Reviews HPC Spring Reading Men's slip on sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One Electronics Gift Guide Fire TV Stick Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on June 26, 2014
Let's face it. When you buy an electronic device, you'll occasionally get a dud. You can't mass-manufacture electronics and not make a mistake every once in a while. How the company deals with these mistakes is what makes their product, and the company itself, one that I'll happily use again.

When I got my AcuRite 02027 I was pleasantly surprised. It has a highly-visible display that's nicely arranged and color coded to distinguish interior from exterior readings. All the sensors seemed very accurate once I got the little outdoor sensor in the right place. Even the forecast was correct most of the time. A neat little trick is that the display is at its brightest when viewed from slightly above, so it's perfectly at home on a desktop or table.

About two months into ownership, though, the outside sensor stopped transmitting. I put new batteries in it, but it didn't come back to life. I changed the transmitting channel, and it immediately started registering on the display again. But something was wrong. The sensor was sitting next to the base station, which was showing an inside temp of 73 degrees. But the sensor was transmitting a temp of 91! And it was climbing rapidly. I watched it until it showed 113 degrees, then picked it up. The sensor itself was hot. I pulled the batteries and put in different ones, but it did the same thing. Something inside the sensor was overheating badly, making it useless.

I contacted AcuRite using the web address in the owner's manual. A couple of days later, a rep named Charlotte sent me a reply. She said that they stand behind their product, and she was sorry I was having issues. All she asked was whether I was using rechargeable batteries, which they don't recommend. I assured her I was not. She then asked me to email her my receipt of purchase from Amazon. A couple of days after that, I received an email saying that my replacement sensor was on its way. She again apologized for my inconvenience, and hoped I would contact her again if there were any further issues. There was no charge for shipping, processing or handling.

This is customer service as it should be. No lengthy process, no ridiculous hoops to jump through, no stupid charges that make using the warranty useless. Just a confirmation of the problem and a quick replacement.

Thank you, Charlotte. AcuRite will be my weather station from now on.
428 people found this helpful
|99 comments|Report abuse
on January 27, 2014
I wanted a weather station that would provide both temperature and humidity for both inside and outside. Barometer and forecast are also included, as well as temp history. I looked at every weather station that Amazon sells, plus every other supplier I could find on the internet. There were very few that had all these features, without spending at least a C note. This one has it all, plus time, date, moon phase, AND forecast. For half that cost. It has worked exceptionally well here in New England. Readings have been spot on when compared to internet figures for my locality, and the forecast has been as accurate as if it is hooked up to National Weather Service, even though it doesn't actually do that. I don't know how it achieves that, but it has matched the official forecast every time I have checked it this month. Plus, the color display looks very nice. Amazon has been out of stock on these lately, but you should ask them for one - IMO you have to spend a lot of $$ for a professional unit to get something better. Oh yeah, the first time I mounted this was on the far side of a large cedar tree about 100 ft from the house, and I found that was too far - or maybe the tree blocked the signal. So I tried the back porch and protected it from rain and direct sun. We haven't lost the signal once since then.

Followup March 8, 2014: The unit has continued to provide accurate temperatures in this very cold winter. I used Lithium batteries in the outdoor sender and it has worked flawlessly through the coldest days, including a minus 9 morning, and several near zero days. My previous unit would shut down if it got too cold.
388 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
on November 25, 2015
While this product initially makes a good impression, its luster quickly fades. Worse, the manufacturer then fails to stand behind its product, opting instead to let its retailers deal with defective units. Consequently, I don't know which deserves less stars, the product or its manufacturer.

The Good

Out of the box, the unit sets up easily. The display is bright and pleasing to look at. The barometric pressure reading and moon-phase icon are nice touches, but I quickly found that I stopped looking at these data points during my quick glances at the display unit. The range seemed acceptable, but I didn't push it - the outdoor sensor and the display unit were no more than 25' apart, and separated only by an exterior wall and some windows.

The Bad

I purchased the item in late May. I live in the Midwest, so the daily temperatures at the time of purchase ranged from the 50s to the 70s. Both the indoor and outdoor temperature displays operated flawlessly while the outdoor temperatures remained mild.

Things began to go haywire in October, when the average daily high temperatures were only in the 50s and 60s. I noticed that the outdoor temperature stopped updating. There was no indication on the display that it had lost contact with the outdoor sensor; the outdoor temperature simply remained at 62F, even though the actual outdoor temperature was going up and down. I brought the outdoor sensor inside, put fresh batteries in both units, and then followed the steps in the manual for re-syncing the indoor unit with the outdoor sensor. When they were once again in sync, I moved the outdoor sensor back outside, but closer to the display unit so that they were now only 4' apart, and separated by just a window. The two units stayed in sync for about two days. Meanwhile, the outdoor temperatures averaged between the 30s and 50s.

When the outdoor temperature once again stopped updating on the display unit, I contacted AcuRite's customer service via online chat. The customer service rep I chatted with told me to replace the batteries in both units (again), and to go through the sync process (again). She even emailed me the sync instructions (which are already in the manual), and encouraged me to follow-up if there were any further issues.

One week later, I responded to her email to report that the outdoor temperature had once again stopped updating on the display unit. When I had received no response after four days, I sent her another email asking her to respond. When another two days passed without a response, I called AcuRite's customer-service line (the online chat option has since disappeared from their website). This call was made just yesterday.

The customer service rep I spoke with yesterday did find my name in their system, but she could not find any notes entered by the rep who conducted the initial online chat. Consequently, I had to start from the beginning in explaining my issue and the interventions taken to date. She recommended - wait for it - that I replace the batteries in both units and restart the sync process. I was furious, but I agreed to go through the sync process because none of what had gone on so far was her fault. So I did the sync steps while she was on the phone. When the outdoor temperature did not immediately display on the indoor unit, she said that it may be defective because both the indoor and outdoor temperatures should display as soon as the units are powered on (the outdoor temperature has always taken 15-20 minutes to display on the indoor unit).

This is where things got crazy. The AcuRite rep asked what the return policy is at Amazon, to which I responded that the return window closed nearly five months ago. She recommended that I call Amazon and ask them to work with me because my unit is defective. If - and only if - Amazon refused to replace the unit - I should call back and AcuRite "would see if they can do something." I asked how long the warranty period is. The answer? ONE YEAR! So despite the fact that the unit is guaranteed to be from defects for one year, the manufacturer will only replace it SIX MONTHS AFTER IT WAS PURCHASED if the retailer refuses to to replace it. This is the craziest thing I have ever heard. And, quite frankly, I am looking into filing a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. Believer it or not, she said that my having to go through Amazon for replacement of a defective unit was my fault because I had chosen to purchase it from Amazon rather than buying it directly from AcuRite. She said AcuRite would "go broke" if they had to replace all the units that were purchased from third-party retailers. How about making non-defective units that don't need replacement in the first place?

The good news is that, because Amazon has some of the best customer service around, they actually agreed to refund my money for the purchase of this unit. The agent initially balked, citing the return window and offering to give me AcuRite's toll-free number. When I told him what had transpired on my call with AcuRite, however, he put me on hold for a few minutes and then came back and said they would refund my money. Don't be surprised if Amazon stops selling AcuRite products. I know I would if I was Amazon's purchasing manager.

Save yourself the frustration, and buy another brand.
256 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
on February 20, 2017
FOLLOW UP REVIEW - I have had this for over a year now. I wanted to post this review in hopes that some of my experience will help others.
My unit is functioning well and has been pretty awesome :) I live in Connecticut/USA and we have had some incredible storms . Snow, ice etc.
When the outside reader gets wet, frozen in a block of ice and snow it may sometimes appear dead but lives on. Just remove the batteries, wipe dry as best possible, especially in the battery compartment and leave the battery door off overnight or for a few days. Then load new batteries and it works like a charm leave it inside for a day to make sure the temp reading matches the indoor one then place outside again. While I keep the unit in a mostly sheltered area on a covered but open deck , I literally just "exhumed" this a few days ago from a block of ice that formed after a nasty winter storm. These things take a licking and keep on ticking. I highly recommend this product. It is always great to know the outside temp, especially on nights when it drops below freezing to get a sense of road conditions. The weather forecasting imagery is really accurate as well.
11 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on January 26, 2018
What a disappointment! Especially since it has such nice features.
I was very excited to find a unit with moon phase and barometer with such an attractive display layout. Only thing is, the packaging label that comes stuck over the display is the only way you will ever see what it may have been intended to look like. In use it does not look anything like the picture in the listing. Do not be deceived.
PROS:
>One of the few units with a barometer and fewer still are ones like this with both barometer and moon phase dial. It also trends temps and barometer. Very nice feature set.
>Setup was a breeze. Unit comes with a nickle cell memory battery already installed. Plugged it in, added batteries to it and remote unit, set time zone and DST and it was up and running. No fuss, no muss.
>The display was "designed" to be attractive and well laid out.
>Unit gave reliable and quick readouts. It seemed to be very well built as far as sensors are concerned.

CONS:
>Just one and it's a killer. You CANNOT see the display in any room with appreciable natural light coming in.

In my photos, both the 2027 and an older B/W Acu-Rite unit are on a kitchen counter beneath the window. It is my intention to show the HUGE difference in readability between the two. The 2027 unit was supposed to sit in the window sill but for purposes of this review I had to move it down AND over expose the first pic so that you can see it is actually ON. Left in the window sill, I was unable to get any picture of it that did not look like it was simply turned off. Notice the second pic with the exposure more balanced, the older B/W unit is still easily readable but the 2027 is all but gone. Also, I wanted to show how in reality, backing away from the 2027 screen beyond arms reach makes it unreadable. The second pic is only from the counters edge and without exposure adjustments, the display on the color unit is barely visible. I did not post a third pic from halfway across the room because the color unit simply looks shut off even to the naked eye. Maybe this unit was designed by people who work in basement cubicles. In that environment, it may be viewable.?
I had previously ordered a FANJU unit and would have kept it except that it, like most of the imports (as I found out), will not register outdoor temps below -2 F. If you don't have low outside temps look at FANJU FJ3365

If anyone from Acu-Rite reads these reviews, I would like to know why the imports like FANJU can produce a color display that can be read in a day lit room but Acu-Rite cannot?
Come on Acu-Rite, how about getting it "Rite"?
review imagereview image
3 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 31, 2016
This is a very nice unit with one major issue noted below. Otherwise I really like it. The display is really nice (excluding the exception) and the information the display contains is very nice as well - indoor temp & humidity and outdoor temp & humidity (it even shows the high and low for each - an additional 8 numbers) along with the time and date, pressure, and moon phase. Altogether there are 13 numbers display for the indoor and outdoor environment (does not include the date and time). As for the forecast, I never really found the forecasting on units like this to be that accurate.

The remote sensor takes 2 AA batteries (I recommend lithium but alkaline will work as long as you don't live in a cold environment) and the station itself takes 3 batteries. I'm pretty sure the AC power is only for the backlight (which you really need in order to read the display).

Now for the negatives:
* The biggest one in my opinion is the viewing angles, especially when looking at the unit when it's lower than your head. This means that if you have it on a table and get too close to it then you have to look down to see it and when that happens the display because much less readable or even totally unreadable.
* The display is also on the dim side for bright rooms (but OK for darker rooms), and it is very glossy so you don't want the place it where it will reflect a window.
* You need to keep this plugged in for the backlight so there is a need for a power cable. I have a regular LCD unit as well, and while that doesn't have the pretty colors and it's not backlight, it is totally battery operated so you don't have to worry about the wires and moving it around because it is extremely portable since it is only battery operated (and the batteries last a long time). Seriously consider whether that type of fully wireless unit may be better than this one for your needs.

Minus 1.5 stars for the display limitations. Overall 3.5 stars and rounding up to 4.
review image
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 2, 2016
The best thing is how visible it is, with the color display and all, without being too bright. I really like this weather station since it has humidity for both inside and outside. I dinged it one star because, come-on-man, a weather "forecast" using nothing but pressure and temp? It tells the temperatures and humidity just fine (which is what I wanted) and makes for some nice laughs when the "forecast" shows partly sunny, but the real weather forecast has 3" of rain on its way. We all have the true weather forecast on our iPhones now anyway, but you can't imagine how often you will check this thing for the actual conditions at your home, right now. It also shows the moon phase, time, date, pressure (with trend) min/max temp and humidity for both inside and out. Overall very nice. I would buy again.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 21, 2018
Extremely easy setup. All I had to do was put batteries in the sensor, plug the main unit in and set the time zone. Done. It already knew the correct date within seconds. Even before I set the time zone. This is my third shot at a weather station. First was an Oria which was never accurate. The seller promised to send me a replacement, but it never showed up. The second was a La Cross. It was fairly accurate. Setting the main unit and the sensor next to each other only showed a few degrees between inside and outside temperature and humidity. We recently had a power outage and when the power came back on, out of all the electronics in my home, only the La Cross weather station fried. Too bad. I liked that one and only had it a month. Third times the charm right? I got this AcuRite. As stated, setup was extremely easy. I had the sensor and base unit next to each other and was astonished that the temperature and humidity for inside and outside exactly matched. I did like the La Cross screen better though. I could see it at any angle. This one is dimmer if you look at it straight on and if you are slightly lower than the screen it is unreadable. You must be above it to see the screen well. Also, this unit is not meant to be wall mounted. It provides no options to do so. I suppose you could stick some Velcro on the back or something, but the back of the unit kind of rounds up to the top so wall mounting is not the best option. It's meant to set on a desk or nightstand. I'll tolerate the screen and really like the easy setup and accuracy of the readings.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 11, 2017
works -
*Warehouse deals Info- - I ordered 2 (one white, one black body) from "Amazon warehouse" knowing these are likely returned or box damaged in shipping type deals with a 20-ish% savings. This black one works fine, the white one the left side (indoor readings) was all jabbled up text. returned it(still waiting on refund which is unusual as it's usually rather fast with Amazon) That being said, the Warehouse Deals are taking a chance. Both came in very different generic boxes obviously not made for the unit but packed rather well and not likely to be able to be damaged in shipping and such. Manuals were missing but easy enough to get off line from manufacturer and download.

*The unit - Outside remote connects MUCH better, faster and easier than the last unit I had. Screen colors are nice for quick viewing and telling indoor/outdoor information. Screen has a rather limited viewing angle and can't be read from below as the LCD's can't be distiguished and you juts see 8's. But if placed low or even with eye sight it's good. Screen is also dim which I thought would be an issue at first but as long as it's not in direct sun it's actually very readable. I actually now am kinda glad as it's in my bed room and I cn see it at night from accross the room, but unlike other lite items it doesn't overly glow or brighten the room, it's actually rather nice there as it doesn't keep me up.

If you want to place it in a super brightly lite room, or up high, this unit is not for you as you'll likely not be able to read the screen. But if you want one that the remote connects fast, and reliable, have a nook or spot at eye level to place it or especially in a bed room where overly bright screens can keep you up, then this is a good unit!.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 16, 2014
I wasn't sure if this was the right choice when I bought it. I assumed the color display was one of those fancy gimmicks and the weather station wouldn't be very good as a whole. But it was on sale and I gave it a shot. I have had it for about a month now and I am really impressed.

Readability is excellent. Much better than the black and white LCD displays from prior stations. You can see the temperature in and out across the whole room. You can have the display on low or high brightness, or you can have it adjust itself. I use this function and it basically turns to low brightness at night and back to high during the day. Works quite well most of e time.

I entered the pressure manually via the local airport pressure online, and it it has matched it ever since. It finished learning and the forecast seems pretty accurate so far.

My absolute favorite function is the fact that you can calibrate the in/out temperature and humidity individually. I have never owned a weather station which can do this. The in and outside temperature were off by a degree so I matched them to what my thermostat and other thermometers displayed which were all in the ballpark. If you do this, allow the base station to be turned on for an hour or so, it seems it warms up once it is plugged in (I assume the electronics or display inside get a little warm) so allow it to settle before you calibrate it. Originally I didn't bother using batteries but sure enough, the second night I had the station the power went out for a moment and it lost all calibration changes and the air pressure I entered. I brought the sensor back inside for the day and re calibrated it all and then I added some batteries for back up. No issues after that.

I do wish the time display was bigger, and really, the only function I wish it had would be the ability to receive the atomic clock signal. Then this weather station would be absolutely perfect.

At this point I'm giving this five stars. If it goes on sale again I will buy another for my father.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse