Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Customer Review

on April 28, 2011
The first years of UFO saw the band finding its way musically and while Mick Bolton's 3 albums with them are somewhat notable, it was obvious that the band were still trying to find their feet and voice in the rock world. By the time Michael Schenker enterned the frame on this release, their fourth, they'd finally arrived. The expanded, remastered edition of this album is very insightful and I highly recommend picking these remasters up for the faithful and for the newly initiated. The nuggets that can be found here are indsiputably, Rock Bottom and Doctor, Doctor. These tracks would give a great deal of testimony why Schenker brought so much to UFO's brand of rock music and provided it with a style from which the band could build upon. Other lesser known tracks like Crystal Light and Space Child seem to retain a bit of the former UFO qualities of the past, but with Schenker's distinctive playing, help to propel these numbers into an otherworldly style of sound. Oh My and Too Young To Know are below the gut rockers, while Time on My Hands is a swift, acoustic driven ballad-type of number that the band would continue to revisit on each successive album release. Built for Comfort kinda recalls a bit of Free in its interpretation, but never quite executes as successfully as they would have. The closing numbers, Lipstick Traces(a Schenker instrumental) and Queen of the Deep round out the record on a soild note and for an overall statement, Phenomenon certainly is a new and fresh start for the band that would continue to build from strength to strength over the next 3-4 years. There are some great bonus cuts for the die-hard fan here on the remastered release and also include, for a brief period, Bernie Marsden whom was the "inbetween" replacement and transition from Bolton to Schenker. I highly recommend this album to any fan of early 70's Hard Rock and for newbie's to UFO a GREAT, GREAT start!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
$11.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime