Customer Review

on January 27, 2014
A really different and exciting release by Yang Ying, music for Moving and Still Meditation is as refreshing as the day is new. The album Elixir has many ancient instruments upon it and takes the listener on a real eastern journey which dates back many thousands of years.
As a practitioner of Meditation myself I found this album both calming and invigorating all at the same time and if there were ever a track of joyous expression it would have to be Lumhui which means circle. This composition lifts and raises the energy and will definitely get the listener into the required mood. A beautifully played melody using a Zheng, a similar instrument to a Zither can be found on this track and it sets us up perfectly for one of my favourite pieces form the album.
Wandering is just over four minutes of ambient genius, I adored this composition and it would indeed be perfect for meditation, it creates a perfect musical backdrop. Her adept and stylish playing of her chosen instrument creates an almost layered passage of music to get totally lost in and the percussive qualities of the monastic wooden blocks, really added a great flavour to the composition.
But the perfection that lays in wait within this quite astounding album resides in the track, Heaven, Human, Earth. The natural sounds really set the scene perfectly and this piece had just about every the essence of every great musician I have ever loved, Kevin Kendles Spring album, David Naegeles Temple In The Forest. One could state, that the next three tracks are possibly a suite of music, that I promise you dear constant reader and listener, will leave you breathless with not only its beauty, but will literally transport you to another plane of complete and unconditional love entirely.
With an ending that reminded me of the majestic work of Deuter, we are lead into a water filled wonderland, an ocean of veritable calm, a track called “Purification” I allowed this music to wash over me and found great peace from it. Using this music during a meditation would seem not only appropriate, but essential; you can literally feel the energy flow in a slow and gentle way around you, it is as if the very music itself is energized and of course, it is. The warm flow of this piece leads us gently with a respectful hand into the longest composition on the entire album, settle back dear constant reader and listener, you are about to take part in a musical masterpiece.
The piece is called Circulation, it has the feel of a real old style New Age track, that in some ways brought back the original romantic feel I have for this genre. Yang Ying is clearly not only a talented artist, but a masterful musician who can turn her hand and her skills to even implementing a touch of Jazz, mixed with a delicate platter of blues and a serving of really clever and well worked improvisation. Circulation at some fourteen minutes long is a track to get totally lost in musically and a perfect one to relax and chill out to; in fact the whole album is very much like this.
In what to me is one of the most important pieces on the album, Morning brings us a track that any classic ambient musician would be proud of, and here the Zither works in such a blissful harmony. It is delightful in its approach and structure and the natural sounds that hover in the background are unobtrusive and work superbly with the composition, in fact the albums usage of natural sounds throughout is sublime and just about perfection.
Lastly our journey through the wonderful musical world of Elixir is completed with the composition entitled Aspiring Emptiness, here we see two Zithers working with great ease and the Zheng and Qin are creators of a piece that will ease you to the end of the album and perhaps even your meditation with such a great dexterity it is to be applauded.
If you decide to put Elixir into your musical database dear constant readers and I hope you do, you will not only have a fine album to meditate to, but an album that has been superbly crafted, extremely well produced and constructed by a musician who really knows her subject matter entirely. At the end of listening to this album I felt refreshed, calm and musically nourished and that I think, is a fine testament to be able to give any musical offering.
3 people found this helpful
0Comment Report abuse Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.0 out of 5 stars