Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Gemini Syndrome Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now
Customer Review

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure bet for a great read, November 20, 2000
This review is from: Jerusalem Vigil (The Zion Legacy Series) (Hardcover)
For fans of Bodie Thoene's Zion Chronicles books, "Jerusalem Vigil" and its sequel, "Thunder from Jerusalem" are like the first heavy rains after a long drought; much anticipated and a great relief when the wait is finally over. "Jerusalem Vigil" picks up immediately where the 1988 book "The Key to Zion" left off, in the first week of the life of the infant yet ancient nation of Israel in 1948. Haganah defender Moshe Sachar and his pregnant wife, Rachel, are central characters and they are joined by old friends from yet another Zion series, Jacob and Lori Kalner,and Alfie Halder. Though there has been a time lapse of over twelve years between the publishing of the last book in the Chronicles and the beginning of this Zion Legacy series, the stories flow smoothly together and the characters are just as vividly alive as they were a decade ago. However, you do not have to read the five books in the Zion Chronicles to understand and enjoy the action in "Jerusalem Vigil" and "Thunder from Jerusalem"; there is enough background information given for these novels to stand alone. Bodie's books are all wonderfully written with characters that are so well-drawn and stories that are so historically accurate that you forget that you are reading fiction. As a matter of fact, these two novels will provide any reader with timely insights into the struggles and battles happening in present-day Jerusalem. The parallels are simply stunning and it is amazing to think about how the timing of the release of these two novels coincides with the reemergence of fighting in the long-standing enmity between Jews and Palestinians in Israel. On the whole, eachof these books provides a great read for both men and women with their stories of love and war, told with grit, tenderness, and a fascinating secret about a centuries-old library hidden beneath the Temple Mount. I give "Jerusalem Vigil" and "Thunder from Jerusalem" the highest rating and I urge you to read them, along with the many other titles in Bodie Thoene's library. You will not only not be able to put these books down, you will also have a hard time reading any other author after you finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]


Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Panama City, FL United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 40,234,968