Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon
Customer Review

210 of 290 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about THE PRODUCT!! (duh), January 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Prequel Trilogy (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I am baffled by some of these reviewers who are climbing a soapbox about the industry and Lucas. For those of us who are patient, a box set with cost saving and a SPECIAL BONUS!! Slim cases so shelf space is minimized!
EXCELLENT!!

About a rush to market, snatching up media related to STAR WARS as soon as it hits the shelf. If you don't like the movies themselves or the packaging or the recording quality that is one thing. Whining about your own gullibility is quite another. Let me clue you in. If Lucas makes or includes special features, enhancements and the like ... he will not fail to promote that. Investigate the product before you buy. And to those of you who didn't even buy any products but are just looking for places to gripe, this is not the appropriate place.

This is the excellent product that I anticipated to the point of not buying any of the movies when they first released to video. It is as much as it promises to be. (I expect the same to be true of the other volume containing ep. 4-6.) If you like space saving box set bundles without a lot of extra bells and whistles, this is for you.

These sci-fi movie fantasy adventures, though a bit juvenile in their scripts and exhibitions, have become family classic adventure movies that inspire the imagination and adequately entertain a growing audience. A series of perennial favorites well on there way to becoming "timeless" classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the guidelines and FAQs here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 25, 2009, 9:13:28 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 25, 2009, 9:16:21 PM PDT
Kurgan says:
Personally, I hate slimcases (almost as much as those cardboard "snap cases" that were popular in the late 90's). They're just too flimsy! The point of the amray cases is to protect the discs, and to display the cover artwork. Both purposes are reduced with the "slimcases." These sorts of things are fine if you're putting burned discs into them or for temporary storage, but for classic movies you're displaying on your shelf? No thanks. I didn't mention the slimcases, because the ones I saw were standard size, but I have since seen the "slim" design. Frankly there's just no reason to do this except to save production cost. But is Lucas that much of a cheapskate that he has to skimp on packaging for what he supposedly considers his magnum opus?

So I wouldn't consider the use of slimcases a "special bonus." A person could reprint the covers and place their existing discs into slim cases if they wished (though I guess then the cardboard sleeve would no longer fit). It just feels "cheap." Perhaps treating the Prequel Trilogy like bargain bin software is most fitting? :P

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 14, 2009, 4:15:39 AM PST
I can't believe people find it to be a relevant complaint that they use slim-cases. You can either pay $27 dollars for 3 classic films in a space-saving package or pay $60+ for the cases you seem to prefer. Please.

Good review and I agree with you on the slim cases. With a dvd collection as vast as mine, I need to save all the space I can.

Posted on Apr 11, 2010, 12:39:47 PM PDT
thames says:
Check out Red Letter Media's reviews on YouTube of the prequels. HILARIOUS AND BRILLIANT. The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones video reviews. I just discovered them and these reviews are going to be famous because they are so awesome.

Since you say: "These sci-fi movie fantasy adventures, though a bit juvenile in their scripts and exhibitions, have become family classic adventure movies that inspire the imagination and adequately entertain a growing audience. A series of perennial favorites well on there way to becoming "timeless" classics."

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 15, 2011, 9:58:36 PM PST
Kurgan first of all love the name Highlander(as much as Star Wars)also rules! Anyhoo to the point I simply can't stand those crappy cardboard snapcases and feel strongly that not enough effort has been made to place all movies in the amray cases. Furthermore I really hate slimline cases with a serious passion! Particularly since once either or those aforementioned cases get damaged the cases cannot truly be replaced nor by the same token can the artwork either. Ergo they're a huge kick in the seat of the pants and the slimcases are always going to suck and yes will "NEVER" be a special bonus of any kind! I just wish they would stop making them completely!

Posted on Aug 12, 2011, 7:28:22 AM PDT
An W. says:
I'd say the content on the discs are probably the most important part of the product...

Posted on Sep 29, 2011, 12:55:37 AM PDT
J. Rodriguez says:
Thank you for your honest review, I was wanting to get these 3 on blu ray because I never bought them on dvd, I have Episodes IV-VI on DVD, the classic theatical versions, and that's just my preference to view those films. But these ones I don't mind getting on blu ray just to have them, I don't care about the case or artwork all that much, I do say I like the complete boxset cover. But come one $25 for the 3 movies on Blu ray?!! Awesome deal, to get the boxset on regular dvd is over $30 and the same individually. I will be gettin this set!

Posted on Oct 6, 2011, 12:26:54 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 7, 2011, 7:46:22 AM PDT
ShowtimeMike says:
It's pretty funny that you complained about people just "looking for places to gripe" when basically 1/2 of your review is griping about the gripers. Your title is "It's about THE PRODUCT!! (duh)" and then really say very little about the product.

Posted on Apr 14, 2012, 3:32:52 PM PDT
rawi fayad says:
Just a quick question, are the blu rays region coded, or playable on all region players? No need to test them, but what does it say on the box.. Jut region a, or a,b,c?
‹ Previous 1 Next ›