Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Save $20 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Review

on December 13, 2000
As if everybody didn't already know just how prolific Bob Dylan was, this triple-disc collection comes along not just as a supplement to Dylan's music but as an essential item in his catolog. The songs featured in this collection, some outtakes and some alternate versions, are all immensely important for any fan of Dylan's, or fan of rock music for that matter. The songs which were mere outtakes from his work throughout the sixties are all fully brilliant, and the alternate takes and demos of previously released material often are more urgent and allow the listener to not only hear the evolution of the songs, but to experience a raw Dylan amidst the creation of masterpieces. The emotions are lucid and the words flawless. Listening to the first version of "Like a Rolling Stone" (in the time of a Waltz no less!) sent chills down my spine as I could hear the man spitting out his first run through of "didn't you" and "kidding you". His acoustic reading of "Subterranean Homesick Blues" (which, just for the record, sent rock music in an entirely new direction) should be mandatory listening for everybody, Dylan-obsessed or not. The sound quality on this album is excellent, and I felt a closeness to the music and the musician that I had never experienced previously. The first two discs are absolutely amazing, culled from a period of brilliance unmatched by an artist ever, and the third disc rocked me back on my heels. I was caught completely offguard by the quality of the songs dating from 1978-1989. This was clearly not an era of great Dylan music, but the songs on the third disc are all gems. Even the selections from his (egad!) Christian phase find new life and appreciation within this collection. It is worth the price of the set for this disc alone, because these songs are necessary to own, but now you don't have to wade through much of the muck that was '80's Bob Dylan. You will not hear most of these songs anywhere else, but they need to be heard. Whether he is writing talking blues, political cries, introspective poetry, bitter love songs, words of loss and remorse or religious odes, this compilation proves that nobody has matched Dylan in any of his many genres. Buy it. Enjoy it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
$29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime