Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Starting at $39.99 Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon soul2soul soul2soul soul2soul  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer Review

on July 2, 2010
The Darkness knew how to pen a tune. From their brash and energetic debut, to their expertly-crafted sophomore release, they whipped up a heaping stack of songs that kept listeners tied to their repeat buttons. And although the band attracted mixed reviews from critics and casual passers-by, that never stopped fans from enjoying what The Darkness had to offer in the realm of rock.

The "One Way Ticket to Hell...and Back!" album was a collection of brilliant production, crushing dynamics, and melodies that wouldn't simply get stuck in your head...once in your head, they would make themselves comfortable and pop a cold brew to celebrate. From the all-out rocker "Is It Just Me?" to the fun-natured "Hazel Eyes," which practically forces you to sing along with its chorus, the album was not in short supply of variety.

Taken from that album as a single was the song "Girlfriend"...quite possibly the sophomore release's most radio-friendly track. The song is full-to-the-brim with harmony, and utilizes the "simple verse, strong chorus" structure very well. The song features stringed instrumentation to provide it with some extra texture and fullness, and a synth/keytar takes precedence over a guitar for the solo...presenting something different to wrap one's ears around, and adding to the overall bubbly mood of the song.

The "Richie Edwards Mix" is a solid re-imagining, and doesn't depart too far from the original or get too lost in dance remix cliches. It clocks in longer than the original, and if anything, it would serve to simply make a fan crack a smile. The fact that this CD single features only the two versions of the same track somewhat hurts it, due to most of the other CD singles from The Darkness possessing a non-album b-side track or two.

So, all-in-all, if you are a big fan of the band, and an even bigger fan of the tune, I suggest trying to hunt this down. It may not offer as much as other single CDs from the band, but what it does offer makes it that much more unique.
1 helpful vote
0Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.0 out of 5 stars