Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Customer Review

on May 2, 2010
MISTWOOD by Leah Cypess is a wonderfully intriguing story of a girl, Isabel, who has been claimed by a prince- soon to be King, claiming she's a powerful Shifter who's now bound to protect him. Problem is Isabel can't remember anything much less her duty or powers.

As MISTWOOD unfold we learn a lot about Isabel and her inner turmoil, and we learn to love her tough character, but although the story is appealing and interesting the story did feel a bit flat. And I'll tell you why: world-building. It is a key ingredient in any story and with fantasy that heavily relies on this ingredient many wonderful stories just fall a bit short. I wanted to know more about the Mistwoods, and the kingdom, and even the supporting cast but sadly I was left wanting more.

That is not to say at all that I didn't enjoy the story. On the contrary I devoured it bit by bit! Cypess has created a wonderfully complex character and the mystery behind Isabel's memory loss made for a fully captivating tale! It was truly unique and engaging and for that I highly recommend it!

I loved Isabel. And despite her lost and tough character, she had great passion and love! Although the supporting characters were sparse each one of them surprised me. But best of all, Cypess surprised me with a truly wonderful ending that made me sigh with relief! It was truly perfect!

Fans of Meghan Whalen Turner and Kristin Cashore will love this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.