Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno
Customer Review

85 of 115 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lousy DVD from Disney, January 31, 2002
This review is from: Purple Noon (DVD)
No problems with the film itself, I saw the theatrical release several years ago, and loved it. I refuse to buy the lame excuse for a DVD that Buena Vista has offered. When will the message get through? Serious films need the serious treatment on disc, especially if we are going to be gouged with Disney prices. The absence of anamorphic enhancement on this film is close to criminal in my eyes, and the rest of the shoddy package, right down to the boilerplate on the case, is an insult. Criterion did a Laser Disc of this film, and this DVD needs the Criterion treatment. Tell me I'm having a bad dream!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the guidelines and FAQs here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 2, 2008, 2:26:06 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Sep 12, 2013, 10:06:05 PM PDT]

Posted on Jun 14, 2008, 5:20:55 PM PDT
Manny Agah says:
I agree with the reviewer that DVDs--especially important films--need to be enhanced for 16:9 TVs. Enlarging is not the answer, since the results will be an inferior and grainy picture. When a picture is not enhanced, a great number of pixels are wasted, which could otherwise be used to represent the film. I saw this film in the early 1960s when it first came out; it is an excellent film with beautiful score by Nino Rota.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 5, 2011, 12:16:13 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 5, 2011, 12:16:55 AM PST
Pepper says:
Manny: My point is that the reviewer is complaining about the DVD itself, not the film. The film is excellent and doesn't deserve a lousy rating because of production issues. The acting, the story itself are worth more than a couple of stars. A reviewer can give the film itself the high rating it deserves and lead readers to the Criterion version in the context of the review without making it appear the film itself is not worthy.

In reply to an earlier post on May 19, 2011, 3:50:14 PM PDT
A. Davis says:
Pepper--this is not IMDB. It's an online storefront for buying the DVD, and the rating reflects that. For ratings on the film itself, I suggest IMDB.com. And Disney owned the division of Mirimax that released the DVD. So that's why the reviewer wrote what he did, and rated it the way he rated it. Hope that helps.

Posted on Aug 22, 2012, 4:52:35 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 22, 2012, 5:01:17 PM PDT
atti says:
I know what this guy is talking about. If you are like me and want superior home entertainment, stay away from this. Unless the transfer to DVD is in capable hands, you will be disappointed with the dim quality. As to the film itself, it is one of the best suspense films ever. I was disappointed that Minghella did not acknowledge Clement in the Special Features section of his DVD, which was excellent also. I saw this film in 1960 in the Carnegie theater, in the basement below the Hall. It was mesmerizing. Will never forget the experience. I want a DVD badly but will not subject myself to disappointment with a rotten transfer.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 17, 2012, 5:57:12 PM PDT
Criterion Collection to the rescue...at last. Blu-ray and DVD on the way December 2012. About bloody time.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 17, 2012, 6:38:45 PM PDT
atti says:
This is truly exciting. Could you tell me where you saw that news?

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 30, 2012, 4:35:30 AM PDT
SeasideMaria says:
Amazon will be selling those.....I will be seeing this film for the 1st x.....Can't wait.....Delon was gorgeous:)

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 12, 2013, 10:10:46 PM PDT
Pepper says:
Thank you, A. Davis. No wonder the copy of Purple Noon I have is such poor quality. I've had no use for Disney since they bought ABC and shortly after, kicked Bill Maher off the air. Haven't watched ABC since! :>)
I deleted my note, since I obviously didn't know what I was talking about. I'm going to buy the
Criterion release of "Purple Noon" and toss the copy I now have. It was all that was available.
I too saw this film in the theatre when it was released. Became a huge Alain Delon fan. He isn't just a "pretty" face as one reviewer commented. She needs to see more Delon films - like "Scorpio" or
"Mr. Klein". He is the most beautiful male actor ever on film, but people shouldn't dismiss his talent
because of that.
Thanks again....
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: ATLANTA, GA USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,471,643