Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno

Customer Review

HALL OF FAMEon July 9, 2004
With his innovative three-finger style banjo playing, Earl Scruggs is as much responsible for the sound of bluegrass music as Bill Monroe. As such, the 40 tracks on this collection which represent 40 years of recording from his early work with Bill Monroe through his mid-80s performances with his sons is essential listening.
Along with the first three tracks which represent his tenure with Monroe's Blue Grass Boys (including the classic "Molly and Tenbrooks"), the bulk of this collection consists of his 20-year partnership with Lester Flatt and the Foggy Mountain Boys (Disc One, 4-20 and Disc Two, 3-10). Many of these original compositions have become bluegrass classics: "Foggy Mountain Breakdown," "Don't Get Above Your Raising," "Flint Hill Special" among them. Scruggs is also an accomplished guitar player on tracks like "Jimmie Brown, the Newsboy" and the instrumental "Georgia Buck." The final ten tracks have Scruggs working with other artists, including the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Tom T. Hall, Johnny Cash and ,of course, his sons in the Earl Scruggs Review.
While Scruggs has recorded infrequently since the most recent track on this collection (1984's American-Made"), it would have been nice to have a track or two from 2001's EARL SCRUGGS AND FRIENDS and 2003's THREE PICKERS with Doc Watson and Ricky Skaggs.
My only real complaint is the brevity of these two discs (51:47 and 53:42, respectively). If this only whets your appetite, Flatt and Scruggs' COMPLETE MERCURY RECORDINGS (28 tracks) is back in print and 'TIS SWEET TO BE REMEMBERED (34 tracks) offers a broader look at the duo's tenure at Columbia.
All things considred, this is collection makes a terrific crash course in bluegrass music and illustrates why Earl Scruggs is one of the giants of the genre. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
$13.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime