Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17
Customer Review

67 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Left: Lying About Oral Sex--and on The Right:? 10 Big Crimes, June 15, 2006
This review is from: The Case for Impeachment: The Legal Argument for Removing President George W. Bush from Office (Hardcover)
Edit of 12 Apr 08 to add new additional links.

The Republicans set the stage for hard-ball when they actually impeached President Clinton, not for having oral sex with an intern, but for lying about it. This book lists ten specific documented reasons for impeaching President Bush:

1. Stole Florida election in 2000.
2. Lied on Iraq to Congress, the Public, and the United Nations.
3. 9-11 Cover-Up and Obstruction of Justice.
4. Violated Rights of Citizens including Habeas Corpus.
5. NSA Program to Listen to Citizens without Warrant.
6. Violated International Treaties Including Geneva Convention.
7. Actively Encouraged, as a Policy, Use of Torture.
8. Gross Negligence on Hurricane Katrina.
9. Iraq Contract Corruption--Bremer "Lost" $8 billion in cash, sole source awards, and gross negligence in managing the peace.
10. Stole Ohio election in 2004.

This book is not just an indictment on the specifics, it is also a very useful primer for citizens on the purpose and process of impeachment, which is a last resort intended to restore the checks and balances of government--it is in essence, supposed to be reserved for out of control Presidents whose high crimes and misdemeanors threaten the security and prosperity and morality of the Nation.

Having set the bar so low in attacking President Clinton (see Kenneth Becht's "Just the Facts: A Case for Impeachment" (December 1997)), the extremist Republicans have absolutely no basis for objecting to the impeachment of the President in February 2007. I for one do not favor impeachment--I prefer containment with the threat of impeachment.

This book (there are others, this is the one that caught my eye in the airport) comes at a timely moment, as we go into the summer leading to the November 2006 Congressional elections. The Independents and swing voters are clearly regretting their re-election of Bush (but as a moderate Republican, I think Bush has been better at radicalizing America, Kerry would simply have muddled through), and there is an excellent chance that the Republicans will lose control of the House and perhaps even the Senate. This book, and the case it makes, should be required reading for everyone running for election in November 2006, and the litmus test for their election should not be "do they FAVOR impeachment," but rather "do they favor containing the President from running further amok by holding the impeachment card high?"

The book reminds us in passing that President Bush was fearful of testifying to the 9-11 Commission in public or under oath. He testified to a handful of the Commissioners, with Vice President Cheney at his side, and concealed from the public.

The book points out that the full cost of the Iraq war and subsequent occupation, an occupation that the President just announced will go one for several more years, is likely to go over two TRILLION dollars, inclusive of lost income by the troops, lifetime medical costs for tens of thousands of amputees and traumatized individuals (remember, Gulf I, a cake walk, gave us 264,000 veterans on FULL DISABILITY), and interest on the debt (which is now at 9 TRILLION, not counting 40 trillion in future unfunded obligations).

The book names Cheney, Rumsfeld, Rice, and Gonzalez as subject to impeachment, but again, as a moderate Republican, the idea of Nancy Pelosi replacing Bush as President is even more repugnant. This book inspires me to hope for more Independents such that the Democrats may slightly outnumber the Republicans and be the de jure majority, but NOT be the actual numerical de facto majority. We need to put the "swing" into Congress, and not leave it at the voting place.

The appendices are of passing interest. The key point of this book is that discussion of impeachment is neither radical nor academic. It is real. America has been through the ten high crimes and misdemeanors itemized above.

If we do not take note and correct this in 2006 and 2008, we are no better than one of the 44 dictators that our Administration continues to support in return for cheap natural resources at the expense of foreign publics that will eventually overwhelm us. Jonathan Schell in "Unconquerable World" documents how there are not enough guns in the world to force our way--restoring "America the Good" is the one path to peace. Holding this President accountable--not necessarily through impeachment--is a good way to set the stage for honest and thoughtful elections in November 2006.

The Bush Tragedy
The One Percent Doctrine: Deep Inside America's Pursuit of Its Enemies Since 9/11
Vice: Dick Cheney and the Hijacking of the American Presidency
Crossing the Rubicon: The Decline of the American Empire at the End of the Age of Oil
The Broken Branch: How Congress Is Failing America and How to Get It Back on Track (Institutions of American Democracy)
Breach of Trust: How Washington Turns Outsiders Into Insiders
Running On Empty: How The Democratic and Republican Parties Are Bankrupting Our Future and What Americans Can Do About It
The Battle for the Soul of Capitalism
9/11 Synthetic Terror: Made in USA, Fourth Edition
Collective Intelligence: Creating a Prosperous World at Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the guidelines and FAQs here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 22, 2006, 7:19:07 PM PDT
The author and reviewer seem to have neglected a rather severe violation of the Constitution (Sec. I, Art. 7) and the separation of powers. These are the President's avoidance of vetoes by use of his "Presidential interpretations" of what Congress meant when it passed various bills, and his chutzpah in declaring that he deems certain Laws of the Congress as only "advisory" - claiming that it is the Congress rather than the Chief Executive intruding on the separation of powers. If he doesn't like what the Congress passes, his Constitutional prerogative is to veto the bill, and see if his view will stand or will be overridden by the Legislature.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 25, 2007, 10:56:47 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 25, 2007, 10:59:14 PM PDT
JNagarya says:
The Reviewer is a "Republican". But, though he believes Bush has committed an impeachable offense or two, he should not be impeached. We can be certain he held the opposite view when the president was a Democrat, in view of the fact that the reviewer does not weigh the severity of the offense as relevant.

He claims to be a "moderate" "Republican". To the contrary: no person who puts his party and its fortunes before his country is a "moderate" (and probably not a "Republian"). He is an anti-American extremist who chooses to be complicit in the impeachable offenses, based upon an illlusionary and false "superior morality". Torture is a war crime, even when the US does it. Toture is the most morally depraved of human actions. And there is no way the US can make it legal.

We should allow torture to become unimpeachable by pretending it isn't already that? It should be numbly tolerated so long as the perpetrator of that war crime is "Republican"?

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 28, 2007, 7:54:13 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Aug 27, 2007, 2:15:54 PM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 28, 2007, 7:57:48 AM PDT
I recommend two books, "One Percent Doctrine" and "VICE: Dick Cheney and the Hijacking of the Presidency". My reviews provide a short-cut by listing 25 specific impeachable offenses committed by Dick Cheney as documented by those two authors. There is also the whole matter, of Congress abdicating its responsibilites, on that I recomend "Broken Branch" and "Breach of Trust."

I have three lists, two on Cheney and one on impeachment, that may be of interest.

With best wishes,
Robert

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 27, 2007, 10:21:32 AM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Dec 1, 2009, 6:09:08 AM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 27, 2007, 2:17:45 PM PDT
I have moved into your camp. More and more I am hearing, and especially from non-Americans, that if we do not impeach them, their shame is our shame. I remain convinced that we need a total cleansing of both parties, and Electoral Reform. Thanks for your kind words, I try to do summative reviews not only to help myself, but to make it possible for people with less time or money to get tthe most out of the free browsing experience at Amazon.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 22, 2007, 5:03:24 AM PDT
hoopsnow says:
Inventor of the internet (CNN's Late Edition:"I took the initiative
in creating the Internet"), movie producer & global climatologist
(recipient of secular progressive Europe's tree huggers' political
award: Nobel prize), and now, as an expert on the psychology of
torture, Gore informs the world that if the U.S. violates the Geneva
convention, then terrorists can torture American prisoners of war.
Of course, the reality is that terrorists actually ignore the Geneva
Convention by torturing and cutting the heads off of American
soldiers around the world. In fact, terrorists by definition also
torture, cut heads off of and blow up helpless civilian men, women,
and children. Of course Gore - and secular progressive - live in a
theoretical world. Even if terrorists in reality ignore the Geneva
convention by torturing and slaughtering soldiers and civilian men,
women, and children, Gore - and secular progressives - will tell you
with a great deal of pride that we must nevertheless
take the morale high ground or the rest of the world (secular
progressive Western & Eastern Europe, Russia (led by KGB dictator
Putin who has assassinated 14 reporters and high profile protesters),
third world and Muslim countries, and China (butchers of Tienamin
Square) will not like us. Take for instance China, who have not taken
the moral high ground by burying prisoners in prisons for decades.
China has, indeed, paid a terrible price for not taking the high
morale ground: raking in hundreds of billions from countries around
the planet!

From an unemotional, practical viewpoint, two of El Presidente Bush's
great accomplishments are that he stole the Presidency twice(count
em, 1 & a 2). Second, in his eight years in office, he placed two
highly conservative Republicans on the Supreme Court. And they will
be around for several decades, GOD willing. Furthermore, he has
placed over 3,000 federal judges on the bench. GOD BLESS George Bush
and burn down all the bath houses in the Castro district while
you're at it.

Three things I love about Vice- President Cheney is 1) Liberals'
visceral hatred of Ann Coulter is rivaled by their hatred of Vice-
President(what a sw- e-e-e-e-t sound) Dick Cheney, 2) Cheney
skewered John Edwards during the Presidential debates, 3) Cheney
transformed the Vice-presidency from an impotent institution into an
institution not only co- equal to the Presidency but also separate
and independent of the Executive office as newly defined by Cheney.
If absolute power corrupts absolutely, Cheney is one depraved e-v- i-
l villain - S-w-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e- e-e-t!

Posted on Apr 12, 2008, 4:44:25 AM PDT
Salliezoo says:
Terrific, well thought out review. Thank you!

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 12, 2008, 5:24:09 AM PDT
Thanks for bringing me back to this book and review. I really like the links section, it allows you quickly surf around other books. I regret that the only way you can be sure of my review being on top in the 50% of the cases where it is NOT one of the top three reviews, is by going to my profile and selecting me as an Interesting Person. That forces my reviews to the top. Someone else had to teach me this, I am not passing it on as self-promotion.

My thanks to you in more tangible form is to return to the review and add several more links from books I have reviewed since then.

Peace (and Prosperity) in Our Time!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details