Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno
Customer Review

181 of 205 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taken into the Unknown, February 19, 2011
This review is from: Unknown [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Unknown may be marketed as a sequel of sorts (at least in tone) to Liam Neeson's surprise hit of a few years back, but this is not the action packed thrill ride that Taken provided. This film is about 75% mystery/thriller and 25% action. In fact, there were only a couple of fight scenes and one neat car chase to fill in the gaps when the pace needed picking up. I agree with the other reviewer here who said they wished the twist came earlier and left more time for Neeson to kick some serious booty. Speaking of the twist, I couldn't figure it out and I felt it worked really well.

Liam Neeson once again proves to be an unlikely yet very believable action star. You can't help but root for this guy. I hope he continues with these types of roles every so often. January Jones and Diane Kruger are here to look good, but only Kruger has a character worth any interest. There is a quiet scene with Frank Langella and Bruno Ganz that stands out.

Taken or Unknown? Which one do I think is better? I'll take the action in Taken any day of the week, but I feel this movie has a stronger cast and a more interesting story. Too bad they couldn't throw just a little more Qui-Gon beatdowns into the mix. Still, this is a wild ride worth at least a rental, or maybe even a nice spot next to your copy of Taken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the guidelines and FAQs here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 19, 2011, 10:20:57 PM PST
Jym Cherry says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 20, 2011, 6:55:22 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 20, 2011, 6:55:53 AM PST
Sky says:
Unlike when my boys shouted out "Predators!" when I finally got them out to the movies a couple months back, this morning they didn't shout out "Unknown!" or "True Grit" which of course would have thrilled me; they shouted out "Gnomeo & Juliet!!!" Guess I'll have to wait for Unknown on Blu Ray; good to know it has your endorsement, MD.

Sky

Posted on Jun 2, 2011, 9:20:37 PM PDT
Vanna says:
Awesome movie.

Posted on Jun 21, 2011, 4:10:27 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 27, 2013, 10:46:29 PM PDT
G. Wells says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Aug 12, 2011, 4:51:40 AM PDT
"Qui-Gon beatdowns" - LOL nice.

Posted on Sep 28, 2011, 10:02:58 PM PDT
J. Romeo says:
As much as I appreciate a well written review I have to politely disagree with almost everything you have written. Unknown was never marketed as a sequel to Taken. The only things that the Taken and Unknown have in common is the fact that they both star Liam Neeson and take place on planet Earth. With those two criteria we could argue that Schindler's List was a prequel to Taken. Also, the tone of the movie that the director set never screamed "Hey,this is an action film!" It simply was not going to be a movie where Neeson gets to kick any "booty" serious or other wise.
If you're going to compare any movie to Unknown it would have to be The Bourne Identity. What do both movies have in common? Assassins? check. Assassins with amnesia? check. Assassins with amnesia who remember everything by the end of the movie? check? Assassins that become good guys? check. A single girl who gets caught up in the middle of things? check. An agency that employed the assassin is now trying to kill him? check.
This movie could be called The Unknown Identity or The Bourne Identity Geriatric Style.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 30, 2011, 1:16:15 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 30, 2011, 1:17:09 PM PDT
Monkdude says:
Hey J. Romeo. Thanks for calling my review "well written" and not being an a** while providing your opinion. Maybe The Bourne Identity is more similar given what you listed, but it is Liam Neeson in Europe, fighting guys who have taken (ha) something from him using skills that I'm sure will bring Neeson's last action film to mind before the even better Bourne films.

"This movie could be called The Unknown Identity or The Bourne Identity Geriatric Style."

Nice.

MD

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 30, 2011, 2:26:40 PM PDT
J. Romeo says:
Hey Monkdude,
I give credit where credit is due.
You bring up two more interesting points that make Unknown more Bourne Identity than Taken. Yes, Neeson is in Europe and is character went to Europe in Taken. However, both of these movies had European companies behind them-Luc Besson (he wrote and directed the Fifth Element and La Femme Nikita amongst other films) wrote Taken. Nothing was taken from Neeson in Unknown except his identity which was because he had amnesia..... just like Jason Bourne.
Now from what I have read in the past few months the real sequel to Taken is in the works. Don't ask me how there is going to be a sequel to the movie, I just read that there was going to be one.

Posted on Jul 28, 2012, 5:34:40 AM PDT
Raven says:
Yet U give it 4 stars... U make no sense. U didn't care for it, you did. You rather more action, this new film doesn't have it, u'll take the action anyday of the week... yet four stars... drop Taken, don't compare the 2 review it on its own.
U confuse us.

Posted on Oct 27, 2013, 5:19:31 PM PDT
M. S. Butch says:
I'm not sure how you intended it, but your statement that it is about 75% mystery/thriller and 25% action is, for me, a recommendation. The more dialogue, the fewer crashes and care chases, the better. Although I must admit I liked it the end of the garage scene!
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Hampton, Virginia

Top Reviewer Ranking: 51,904