Spring Deals Automotive Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18SW_gno

Customer Review

on October 30, 2011
This wasn't your typical paranormal story. There were new ideas and concepts thrown in that made Die For Me stand out. Fans of Hush, Hush and Twilight should definitely give this one a try. This book is more appropriate for teens fourteen and up, as it can deal with some more mature topics that are not suitable for younger readers.

I thoroughly enjoyed the idea of revenants. It wasn't something I usually see in paranormal reads, and that was definitely a nice change. Amy Plum really developed the whole idea of revenants, which made it a much more permanent and significant feature in the story. It was a bit hard to keep up with all the different "rules" of being a revenant, such as when they become dormant and how they age. I would try to explain it in more detail, but it's kind of hard to describe. Overall though, the idea of revenants were almost like a mix between the undead (or zombies) and angels in a way. Any paranormal fans looking for an innovative new read should definitely try this one.

The main character, Kate, was very easy to relate to, and I think that was one reason why I enjoyed Die For Me so much. Kate was vulnerable and wasn't the invincible female protagonist. She had just been through a lot, coping with her parents' death and moving to Paris and getting used to a whole new lifestyle. It was very easy to connect to Kate and her emotions. There were times when Kate would just stay in her room reading books because she felt like she couldn't deal with the pain and move on. Also, it was hard for her to commit to a relationship with Vincent, because she just wasn't sure if she could go through seeing him die over and over again.

It would have been nice to have seen more demonstrations of the revenants' skills in Die For Me. I might have been able to understand the whole concept of revenants if I got to see their special "powers" in action a bit more. Like being possessed by a revenant or learning more of their undead ways. That's not to say that there weren't plenty of times where their powers were shown off, but I just would have liked to have seen it even more often. Amy Plum did give enough examples though to get the gist and idea of their different abilities.

In the end, Die For Me is a new take on a mix of angels and the undead. Join Kate, as she searches her soul for what she is willing to hold onto and what she is prepared to risk in, Die For Me!

-This is T.B. with Another Book Back on the Shelf...
Until Next Time, Keep Reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.4 out of 5 stars
$11.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime