Lyft Industrial Deals Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Customer Review

on February 23, 2002
The up side: Lil Mo clearly shows some potential in her debut CD. She writes, or co-writes most of the songs on the CD. And she sings the songs with a passion. "My Story" and her gospelized Cyndi Lauper "Time After Time" remake are particularly heartfelt. Her voice is strong and sharp, reminiscent of Michelle from Destiny's Child. Halfway decent ballads/midtempo numbers include "Player Not The Game", "She Cood Neva B Me", "Saturday" and "How Many Times". And of course, there's the hit "Superwoman Pt. II" with Fabolous.
The down side: A little misleading advertising - listeners lured into this CD by the funky electronic bleeps of "Superwoman Pt. II" should NOT expect more of the same. The rest of the CD is largely comprised of midtempo housewife R & B material (although there is "Gangsta", an unnecessary uptempo number built off Snoop's "Gin & Juice").
And the songs are mostly just average, even the better ballads mentioned above. It's the kind of sweet material that plays just fine in the background. There's nothing dreadful about any of it, but there's nothing transcendent either. Not much that steps above the level of routine filler on a Kelly Price or Faith Evans CD. In other words, its a nice first effort, a fine three star CD of the moment. But I find it unlikely that folks will be playing this one much beyond this year, after which plenty of new average "one hit" CDs will come along to replace it.
I remain impressed by Lil Mo's singing and writing efforts. I hope that the songs improve even more with experience. And I recommend that buyers either hold out for a cheap used copy of this - or hold out a few years to see if Lil Mo makes it big enough to merit a 'greatest hits' collection. If she does, I'm sure it'll have the best tracks from this, and if she doesn't last - you probably won't have missed much.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.