Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno
Customer Review

90 of 123 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cuss words WAY beyond "family feature", November 16, 2009
This review is from: The Sandlot (DVD)
This is absolutely a great movie. But I cannot be the only parent who was horrified to find I was showing my three boys a movie that is filled with cuss words. Maybe you are ok with a "family feature" in which s--t is used half a dozen times. But not everyone is, and parents need to be aware that this movie goes beyond the d--n and son of a b---- norm for PG. If a "edited for tv" version of this existed I'd recommend it to anyone. But can you imagine how many grandparents pick up this "family classic" for their little grandsons, having no idea that their little boys are about to sit through six or eight "s--t"s and almost as many "son of a b----"s? I'm not a prude when it comes to adults' movies. And if parents are fine with their kids hearing these words in a movie, fine. But for anyone who is concerned about this, it is amazing how rarely you'll find any kind of notice attached to this movie. Parents, and grandparents, ought to be able to make an informed decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the guidelines and FAQs here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 18, 2011, 4:08:41 PM PST
I had 5 boys (ages 5, 9 and 11) watching this movie and they loved it and were laughing NON-STOP. However, I was very surprised by the bad language (cr_p and sh_t) that occurred REGULARLY throughout the entire movie. I was disappointed as it seemed like a family movie that all of them would enjoy. Parents who monitor what their children watch should be warned. In my opinion, this should be rated PG-13 for language.

Posted on Jun 16, 2012, 12:47:06 PM PDT
In the future, I'd recommend checking the "parents' guide" for your movies on IMDB. It breaks down all offenses rather well.

Posted on Nov 28, 2012, 8:15:29 AM PST
E says:
If you don't understand the movie rating system... Don't rate the movie poorly. You shouldn't let your kids watch anything you do not investigate first, especially with a PG or a PG-13 rating. Rating description below for your convenience... Hopefully, you will read it this time. After reading the guide you will realize this movie was appropriately rated.

PG - Parental Guidance Suggested. Some Material May Not Be Suitable For Children. A PG-rated motion picture should be investigated by parents before they let their younger children attend. The PG rating indicates, in the view of the Rating Board, that parents may consider some material unsuitable for their children, and parents should make that decision. The more mature themes in some PG-rated motion pictures may call for parental guidance. There may be some profanity and some depictions of violence or brief nudity. But these elements are not deemed so intense as to require that parents be strongly cautioned beyond the suggestion of parental guidance. There is no drug use content in a PG-rated motion picture.

Posted on Nov 30, 2012, 5:54:43 AM PST
chucktowndoc says:
Thank you very much for bringing the swearing to the Amazon community. I would've bought this for my grandchild had I not read your review.

Posted on Mar 21, 2013, 7:37:29 PM PDT
Capsloc says:
I felt it adds to the reality. What kid didn't use those words back then at that age. Just added to the authenticity of one's own childhood playing ball with the other suburb kids. My .02.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 24, 2013, 9:22:58 PM PDT
Cablerat says:
What a shame! It's funny how only the grown ups really actually hear the swearing or innuendo that is in ALL children films and cartoons alike. This film is and always be a keeper.

Posted on Aug 6, 2013, 11:24:14 AM PDT
I understand the desire to shelter young children from expletive words that are too mature for them, but the fact of reality is that those words are heard by your children every day, unless you never take them outside of your home. If you happen to take your children to a real ball park to watch a major league game, their ears will burn off of their heads! I have preferred, as a parent myself, to use these as "teaching moments". "These are words that people sometimes use, but aren't nice..."Your children will learn by your example more than anything else. I certainly don't advocate showing children R rated movies and using that as a "teaching moment", I am merely suggesting that it is impossible to completely shelter your children and this movie has much more going for it. Anyway, it really is a much more nostalgic film for adults, like me, who grew up during this era, than a truly children's film. I also, agree with Eric.

Posted on Aug 23, 2013, 12:25:58 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Dec 7, 2013, 2:09:22 PM PST
C. Long says:
Besides the language, there also is a bit of an emphasis on sexuality with the boys lusting after a girl with a major scene where one of the boys even goes so far as to fake drowning to seriously french kiss this girl (there's also a passing reference to Playboy). Obviously most boys in this age range probably have lusted, but like the author of this review, I do find that this fact as well as the unnecessary language are overlooked while the film is just trumpeted as an "awesome family movie". Many parents may not care, but for those that do, they should know. Oh, and to Eric who mentioned the rating system: I just got done watching another kid-themed baseball movie called "The Perfect Game" which is also rated PG. And that movie does NOT have any bad language (that I heard anyway) or sexual references. PG is a very broad-based category and contains movies from "basically G" to "basically PG-13". So it can be helpful to know when a purported family movie has language beyond what might be expected for what's basically been marketed as a kids baseball movie... (even if Carol's comment is right - and she is - that it's really better as a nostalgic film for adults than a kids movie).

Posted on Nov 29, 2013, 7:23:29 AM PST
I grew up with this movie being my favorite...i've watched it dozens of time. I cannot remember a single time they cursed - not that they didn't, but it was not a major feature of the movie. This movie is up there with The Goonies, and I would absolutely recommend it for ALL ages.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 2, 2013, 9:05:30 AM PST
Amelia P. says:
I agree, and I agree with checking IMDB beforehand as well, however, kids don't need to hear more than necessary. Also, it definitely is nostalgic and I was going to buy it but didn't recall all of the swearing in it.. I appreciate the reminder.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: California, USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 6,053,078