Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Customer Review

on March 10, 2005
Throughout most of this album (with the exception of 2 songs "Rain Must Fall" and "My Baby Does Me"), all members of Queen shine brightly. Freddie Mercury's health was deteriorating at the time but still wished Queen to go on, albiet without touring. If you notice in the videos, he's grown a beard to hide his gaunt appearance. Also, the lyrics are a lot more personal than before. All of the members got credit for each song ("We made a decision," commented Brian May, "that perhaps we should've made on previous albums"). You can skip the remixes, nothing amazing about them. However, 2 bonus songs are quite interesting. "Hang On In There" is a positive song exhorting the listener to not give up and promises "Your wish will be granted." "Chinese Torture" is a moody instrumental with a synthesized orchestra and Brian's expressive guitar. "Party" and "Khashoggi's Ship" are both reminiscent of "We Will Rock You" and "We Are the Champions." Though 2 separate songs, it's hard to imagine one without the other. "Party" seems to say the party is over while "Khashoggi" seems to say the party is not over (this is probably in reference to the rumours that Queen was breaking up at the time). "The Miracle" is a 5 minute epic (the video for this song was entertaining, with 4 youngsters filling in for the band). It features positive lyrics ("The one thing we're all looking for is peace on earth, and an end to war. It's a miracle we need!") and a fun little jam at the end before they sing "The time will come one day, you'll see, when we can all be friends." Following that is the hard rocking "I Want It All." This is reminscent of the early 1970's Queen. "The Invisible Man" is one of those songs you'll either find catchy or grating. Each member of the band is introduced. "Breakthrough" begins with a semi-operatic intro, moving onto a fast paced melody like a speedtrain. "Rain Must Fall" is a schmaltzy reggae song. "Scandal" is one of Freddie's more personal songs, probably based on the rumours that were spread about him, thinly veiled around a breakup- "Tommorow [it's] hard times, and no one really knows the truth from the lies." "My Baby Does Me" is a shmaltzy R&B song about a dying relationship. "Was It All Worth It" is one of the best songs on here. Freddie recalls the good times and bad times of Queen and asks himself "Was it all worth it? Living breathing rock and roll in this God-forsaken life? Giving all my heart and soul in this never-ending fight..." You can pretty much guess what the answer is.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.3 out of 5 stars
$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime