Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports
Customer Review

43 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its the Menu silly..., May 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones: Season 1 (Discontinued) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The whole series and content is fabulous, no complaints there its a 9.5 star show. But who ever created the Menu for this boxset should be FIRED immediately. Worse navigating menu I have ever come across. Viewer should be able to see whats available on the disc not be told after selection load a different disc.....and the loading times, especially the first disc. Look I dont write this review to put you off, you must get the series as I wrote content is fantastic. Am just writing to make you aware as many others have done to be prepared for difficult navigation through the discs. Being aware is forearmed.

PS. Boxset is Region Free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 14, 2012 4:55:45 AM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on May 19, 2012 7:59:20 PM PDT
Ivan says:
Totally agree.
The menu is AWFUL
It really was so annoying that I gave up my viewing session because of a few selections that popped up the message that I needed to put in another disc to view the content.
Moronic menu navigation.

In reply to an earlier post on May 20, 2012 4:35:47 AM PDT
Would you mind perhaps removing the potential "spoiler" from your reply? It's not necessary and might upset some people who have not yet watched the series. Thank you very much.

In reply to an earlier post on May 20, 2012 6:23:52 AM PDT
Volvi says:
agree re spoiler, I cant edit it, hopefully he will get to see your post and mine.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 2, 2012 8:44:35 AM PDT
David Cady says:
You encourage someone to review content rather than something technical, then drop a spoiler that will ruin viewer's enjoyment of that content? What's that about? And this is exactly the right forum to alert viewers about a menu that might drive them crazy. Buyers are being asked to spend a lot of money on this set, and should know what they're getting into. A chair can look great but be damned uncomfortable to sit in. I'd want to know that before buying it.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 9, 2012 2:09:21 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 9, 2012 2:26:54 PM PST
Here_It_Is says:
It's called a CUSTOMER review (involving product and content), not an AUDIENCE review (strictly content). You're so sensitive that someone put a relevant review in a relevant place and then you freaking ruin a character arc for those of us who hasn't seen it yet. You remind me of those people who write reviews about programming and confuse the word review with SYNOPSIS and ruin the stories they are reviewing, eg:

Typical Amazon Confuses-Review-with-Synopsis Moron:
"Super Story begins wonderfully and it was beautifully shot and the casting was great. The writing was pretty good with some cheesy dialog. There were some really cool special effects, too. [notice "reviewer" is drawing us in for the shank to the kidneys] At one point, character B shoots character A right in the face! I can't believe they did LMNOP to Famous Actor's character, since he's so worried about his image. And then some detailed things, 2, 3, & 4 happen involving characters B & C and it ends in a very surprising way! The pyrotechnics must have cost a fortune and were amazing. You will be shocked!"

WTF?!

I don't know about you, but I've never seen Siskel & Ebert end a review in the way you threw out your comment like that. There are names for people like you that I'm sure are against the rules of this site.

ps. I reported InvertedHeart's post as a SPOILER. I hope others are doing the same. Thanks.

Posted on Jan 6, 2013 6:01:18 AM PST
Rextrent says:
Thanks, Volvi, for the "heads up" re: the silly menu style. In cases like this simple is way better than fancy-pants.

Posted on Jan 20, 2013 1:25:06 PM PST
Sicksam123 says:
Hi. I also found the menu perplexing at first but really it's only a little nuisance for the special features.
Besides, for the episodes I later realised there is a reason for it; while the 'insert disc' message is on screen you can switch discs without having to load up menus all over again. It actually saves time, especially if you're doing an episode marathon.

Posted on Feb 1, 2013 4:39:37 PM PST
sam says:
What? I just bought this. Is it going to be such a pain to watch it that I am about to regret my purchase? whats up with the menu? ....Anyone ?

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 21, 2013 11:31:44 AM PDT
It is not as unusable as they are complaining about, they just split up the extra features on different discs. The menu lists all the special features but when you select them they tell you to insert a different disc.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›