Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports
Customer Review

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two Worlds 2 brings adventure to the table.., February 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: Two Worlds 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
however when trying to sit down it misses the chair and everyone bursts out laughing. Okay okay it isn't that bad of a game but sometimes you gotta laugh at parts in this game. 90% of the time it is GOOD 10% of the time it is just down right BAD. Overall Two Worlds 2 is a vastly superior game compared to the original Two Worlds, but still misfires on many features.

GAMEPLAY
Two Worlds 2 pretty much falls into that vast expanse, near free roam RPG like Elder Scrolls: Oblivion was. In fact you could call this game the 3rd person cam Oblivion at times. After a 2-3hr Prologue the game will open up and allow you to branch into different gameplay directions. Caster, Melee and Ranged are the 3 primary paths you could take

CASTER - Very well polished and will take advantage of the DEMONS system set up to create spells. While I had gone down the Melee path I did tinker with some spell creation. It is just amazing. This kind of feature will make players who enjoy being casters squeal with delight. You pretty much build your spell from scratch by taking an element type, mixing it with another card and then add features to it. I could take an Ice card w/ a summoning card and add some dmg boosting and duration to create an Ice summon that lasts 3mins. Replace the ice card with Fire and it becomes a fire summon . It is a great system that rewards creativity.

MELEE - Fairly polished. Pretty much it is a button mash with some rather clunky animations that honestly make your attacks feel very weak. The skill tree is well thought out though with skills catering to axes, two-handers, shields etc. I actually didn't need many skills to make it through the game. A few basic skills and a nice two handed sword was all I needed in the end (took some time to get used to the block/counter system but once you get used to it mobs become so easy to tackle) While the skill setup was well thought out, there was a clear lack of polish when it came to melee attacks and the blocking system

RANGED - Very unpolished and clunky. While it works, the mechanics behind using a bow and arrow really suffer from bad controls (especially on the consoles) The setup is not horrible, but during the ranged tutorial you will pretty much get a feel of how it is like to use a bow. Took me a handful of attempts to just quit being Robin Hood and return to melee and casting. I didn't level ranged at all so perhaps it gets better with age, but on first impression of it I found it very uncomfortable and badly polished.

You can create 3 different "item sets" so actually you could be all 3 types in one. A simple press of a button and you will instantly switch to your next setup. I had my UP = two handed setup. LEFT = casting RIGHT = sword / shield for defensive combat. Like Oblivion, once you are tossed into the world it pretty much becomes free roam(except you are trapped on islands). You can talk to people and shop keepers, pick up quests and travel around the map finding all kinds of things to do. It starts slow, but once you hit level 10-11 it picks up in terms of combat. Gameplay is everything in this game and it is vast! Not to mention picking locks was a lot of fun. It was very easy once you figure it out but it made for a fun mini-game you could say.

GRAPHICS / SOUND
The graphics are quite stunning even on the PS3. My friend purchased this game for the PC and on his system running at max settings it looks incredible. The game goes through real time progression so the sun will set and the moon will come out while you play(however I often found the game pulled the change off while I went inside buildings and left) but the graphics are amazing on the PC. For the PS3 the graphics are still very good but the "blur" effect can be a bit much. There are ways to disable it however if you check the forums out. *** Game audio however I found very lacking. The combat sound effects were very unpolished and simplistic. The soundtrack was fantastic though! So its one of those good and bad situations. The voice acting is horrifying. However I almost think this as on purpose because some of the dialogue was just so bad you had to be saying this stuff on purpose. Besides... there is a quest where umbrellas have come to life and are eating everyone's pets. (not kidding!) So you could just take it as the game is making fun of itself in a way.

STORY / REPLAY
If you have not played Two Worlds then you are missing out on a chunk of the storyline. This game picks up exactly where Two Worlds left off. However the storyline works with you and you really don't need to have played the first game to get into the story. I found the storyline not bad. There are better out there but for the most part the storyline will keep you wondering all the way until the final boss and then some. Replay value... Campaign(sp) honestly I don't see much replay. The fact you can actually be all 3 class setups as a single character ruins the ability to remake a character to try the other branches out. What redeems this however is the fact the game comes with 8 player Co-Op MP. There is a full 7 chapter online setup to adventure though, plus the ability to Duel and such. You could easily put in 60 hours before the game starts to feel old.

OVERALL (78% 7.8/C+)
Two Worlds 2 is a fun game. There is a clear lack of polish to the game, and sometimes the voice acting down right ruins the moment rather than just be funny-bad. As a physical score I would give Two Worlds 2 a 78% (7.8 / C+) With some more polish this game could of been a fantastic title that is a must buy for many RPG fans, but in this condition I feel this game would do well in the hands of Oblivion/Skyrim fans but leave a bit of a foul taste to those gamers not very big into those kinds of games. Is it a bad game.. NO. But the game is lacking the polish that would of made it a GOOD game so it falls right in the middle. However all the bad this game might have, a true RPG or oblivion fan would easily become engrossed in the storyline and forget about what problems exist.

PROS
- Amazing magic creation system
- Flexible leveling system and character setup allowing you to enjoy all 3 major roles w/o having to make 3 different characters (there also is rogue abilities such as traps and bombs)
- Vast world with tons of quests and well over 30-40 hours of exploration and questing in the SP campaign
- 8 player online Co-op multiplayer with 7 multiplayer based chapters
- Awesome graphics
- Fun lock-pick system, and item creation/enhancement system

CONS
- Unpolished melee animations and Ranged combat very unpolished
- Voice acting can be downright horrible in some parts
- Audio effects were subpar in some spots
- While the game has multiple chapters, Chapter 1 easily is the longest with each additional area becoming shorter and shorter (feels like chapter 1 and 2 had the most effort put into it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 27, 2011 2:44:25 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 27, 2011 3:00:09 AM PST
The Truth™ says:
"Overall Two Worlds 2 is a vastly superior game compared to the original Two Worlds"

No, it's not. The world of the original Two Worlds is huge and full, and you can visit almost every corner, cranny and nook of the map from the moment you start the game, it's not the incomplete wasteland of unlockable islands and areas of the sequel. It also has plenty of monsters scattered around the map in a way that creates the feeling that the developers knew what they were doing, while the sequel has a couple of wild boars here and there, mostly.

There are so many monsters compared with Two Worlds 2 that half of the time you want to run away or past the monsters rather than fight, and that's good too and adds the feeling of choice that the sequel again lacks.

Two Worlds reminds me more of Diablo with its hordes of monsters than of Oblivion or Two Worlds 2. The sequel seems like it was made by different people in a different genre.

Two Worlds just works. Its sequel, not really. Maybe if someone had bothered to complete it.

The story in Two Worlds isn't linear. Instead, you can solve most of the main quest in any order you wish. Again, choice.

In Two Worlds, you can find plenty more weapons and pieces of armor than in Two Worlds 2. Like Diablo, except even better.

I'm afraid your opinion on the differences of the two games comes more from dishonest or incompetent professional reviews than actual objective comparison.

Two Worlds is tons of fun. After it, Two Worlds 2 is tons of disappointment.

P.S. You wrote: "This game picks up exactly where Two Worlds left off."

That's not exactly true, either. You can either choose to defeat Gandohar or ally with him. Nothing about becoming his prisoner.

Posted on Feb 27, 2011 9:44:13 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 27, 2011 10:08:35 AM PST
Jason says:
If you actually sat down and played Two Worlds for the 360 and compared it to this, the game is WORLDS apart. the original Two worlds in the United States was perhaps one of the buggiest piles of junk I ever played. Just check forums out.. people are ecstatic at how much better this game handles . There are handfuls of people who find this game was a step back... however those people are very few.

As for the storyline. It is an ongoing storyline. The DEVELOPER even said this is picking up virtually where the last game left off. Lets take Metal Gear Solid for example

you have 2 paths
1. surrender to ocelot and Meryl dies
2. resist and Meryl stays alive

Yet if you went path 1... how is it meryl is alive in MGS4? Obviously Path 1 was just a bonus and not even part of the storyline.. yet MGS2 , MGS4 all pick up after MGS. So if you only played through via method 1.. you'd have a giant WTF?! moment in MGS4 . This is the same for Two Worlds 2. The background story is identical, however the choices you made in Two Worlds are not carried over into Two Worlds 2 (like Mass Effect 2 and 3 are doing). If you never played Mass Effect before, ME2 creates the "ideal" scenario based on the storyline. If you carry a toon over, it alters the initial scenario based on your game file. Two Worlds 2 simply decided to scrap the existing points of Two Worlds and created a 3rd scenario

I respect your opinion but i am far from "dishonest" or "incompetent professional" . Just because you see things one way doesn't mean that is the way it is. Many people actually share the opinion I have towards this game. And as I said above, there are few out there, such as yourself, who see things differently. But to call me dishonest or incompetent is a bit rude and immature. I actually play through these games and review them when I am finished. If my review doesn't match what you think.. so be it. IGN, Gamespot, Gametrailers all throw out reviews when games launch and they aren't always accurate either because the people who played through the game saw things a little different than another person might.

edit
Gamespot USER SCORES Two Worlds - 6.1 Two Worlds 2 - 7.7
IGN USER SCORES Two Worlds - 6.3 Two Worlds 2 - 7.7
Gametrailers USER SCORES Two Worlds - 7.7 Two Worlds 2 - 7.8
Gamefaqs USER SCORES(gaming forum) Two Worlds - 6.2 Two Worlds 2 - 8.1

Not saying you are wrong ANT but notice how everywhere I go, it is almost unanimous that the community says Two Worlds 2 is a far superior game to Two Worlds

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 28, 2011 3:29:26 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 28, 2011 3:39:11 AM PST
The Truth™ says:
I played the final version of Two Worlds on PC (many times from beginning to end, actually, sometimes with GameRate increased, which made dodging harder). The difficulty had been tweaked so that the game was much harder now, bugs had been squashed, etc.

There's probably a huge difference between playing that and playing the XBOX version.

I also played the PC version of Two Worlds 2. I only comment here because there are no reviews for the PC version yet.

Nevertheless, whichever platform you played Two Worlds on, it had an open world from the beginning, no ridiculously boring tutorial, and much more choice in terms of where to go in general, while its sequel was a sort of consoly pipe run. I don't know how many monsters they removed for the console versions in Two Worlds, but the PC version at least had so many more than Two Worlds 2 that the games are, as I wrote, as if in two different genres. These are points that don't go away no matter what you say.

P.S. To whoever voted my previous comment unhelpful: just because you disagree with something doesn't mean it's not a good comment. A good comment is one that makes valid and relevant points in understandable language, and mine did.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 28, 2011 7:46:45 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 28, 2011 7:49:12 AM PST
Jason says:
as for the voted unhelpful on the comment ^_^ don't feel bad. You should see the Top Reviewer Discussion boards. People will make legit, on topic posts and be at 3 of 20 helpful. I honestly think people hit NO just to be annoying.

Yeah i'm shocked there are no PC reviews for it. My friend owns the PC version and as I pointed out in the review; it runs and looks way better. The mob count also seemed a tad higher (more areas where there were clusters of mobs), plus you could tone down the ridiculous blur effects. A lot of the hate for Two Worlds comes from just how terrible it launched in the US.
*by the way, the PC version of Two Worlds 2 was digitally released a few weeks ago; he owns the copy through STEAM. Not sure why there is a delay in the physical copy as it still is for pre-order in many spots

Two Worlds reminds me of a game called "Bet on Soldier" which was an FPS game that used STARFORCE DRM (this DRM installed itself into your OS boot kernal and if you booted your PC in safemode you will see starforce boots; it also was famous for destroying optical drives and causing games to blackscreen by disabling your video card if it felt you were cheating) Anyhow; Bet on Soldier was a really fun game! It had a very good launch in Europe but when it came to the United States it was so horribly butchered the game required I believe a 700MB patch (literally they rewrote the entire 2nd CD) for it to work right. Even then the voice acting was horrible and the game constantly would lock up. That is how Two Worlds was when it came to the United States. It worked for plenty of people, but the majority on PC and 360 had nothing but problems.

Some people can't look past these problems. I actually enjoyed Two Worlds when I played it. It had bugs ; but what game doesn't you just have to look past it and save often (just in case) . I mean Fallout New Vegas hell, there were bugs in the game that could break entire toons and just look at some youtube footage of the DLC bugs. You would get DLC that was super broken and could even crash your game but no one is hating on it because it is fallout.

Two worlds and Two worlds 2 are fun, enjoyable games that any fan of oblivion or free roaming RPG's would love in a heartbeat. Despite Two worlds 2's slow beginning Out of the box it provides a much better experience than Two worlds did prior to all the patching it went through. I havn't touched the 360 version (i played two worlds PC), but I don't believe they ever actually fixed all the problems compared to the PC version . One person summed it up best on a forum and I actually agree 100% with them.

"I feelbad for Two Worlds and Two Worlds 2. They really tried hard to deliver us rememberable RPGs. I think they did. When you play these games, you can feel there was passion when it was being developed. Unfortunatly, the game was released to a community to busy comparing it to this and that, and it blinded them from what this game was."

There are differences between Two worlds and Two worlds 2; I just happen to find the changes made to Two Worlds 2 improved upon the game but there are people out there that hated the changes. Sometimes change is good, sometimes it is bad.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 1, 2011 2:57:29 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 1, 2011 8:33:19 AM PST
The Truth™ says:
I often play games only a few years after they've been released, so I didn't have those issues with Two Worlds. In fact, I loved it so much that I bought the sequel immediately when I saw it in a store. (Yes, I have a physical copy, and have had it for a month or so.) Man, I was disappointed. There was even talk of levitation before publication. Now I don't know why, as it wouldn't have fit the kind of game it turned out to be.

The original Two Worlds is basically an open-world Diablo 3D, where even levitation would be at home as it was in games like Might and Magic VI. Two Worlds, unlike its sequel, didn't aim for realism: for example, it had stackable weapons and armor pieces. Like Diablo, it aimed, I think, for maximum fun in loot gathering. It reached that aim by having a huge and detailed world that was atmospheric and open for roaming from the beginning and had lots of monsters of all threat ratings and therefore lots of loot to gather in possibly exciting ways. For example, if you crossed the river to the east in the beginning, you could find pretty tough monsters right away, and because dodging was relatively easy you might even be able to beat some of them. (No such fun in the sequel.) And you wouldn't run out of monsters to beat.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›