Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Magazine Deals Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer Review

on May 20, 2009
I feared the worst for this album when it kept getting pushed back, for one. Then when 'Go Girl' failed to make noise, and the follow-up 'Never Ever' as well, I was just done. 'Love Sex Magic' was a decent rebound, but it was more than clear that it was a possible left over from Justin Timberlake's FutureSex/LoveSounds album and a desperate attempt to draw people in last minute. And it still hasn't generated anything compared to the singles on her last two albums. When I saw the cover I was even more mortified. And from my years of listening to music, you know you're in for a crap of an album when there are tons of guest appearances noted (with the exception of a few). The original concept of a 3-CD set crossing different genres of music and her alter ego 'Super C' was a bit exciting for a young lady who is clearly the heir to Janet Jackson and Aaliyah's throne, but looks like someone by the name of Beyonce beat her to the punch.

All jokes aside, this CD is disappointing and really all over the place. I expected so much more. It seems that she tried too hard and just lost focus and sight of what she wanted in the end, which could be at the fault of the label. Up-tempo cuts like 'G is For Girl (A to Z),' 'Turntables' f/ Chris Brown, and 'Work' f/ Missy Elliot are not the cream of the crop and all over the place musically. Ciara overdoes it on 'Ciara to the Stage' and 'Keep Dancing On Me,' and 'I Don't Remember' is a horrible attempt to recreate a theme perfectly created by Britney Spears's 'Blur.'

'Tell Me What Your Name Is' and 'Pucker Up' are tossups, but there are some high points. Two of the singles that have already been released make the final cut ('Go Girl' isn't featured for some strange reason but included on the Limited Edition CD/DVD as a video only) and are to Ciara's standards vocally and musically. The-Dream puts her in her comfort zone with the opera-like 'High Price' f/ Ludacris and the duet with himself on 'Lover's Thing.' 'Like a Surgeon' has a Prince-esque type of vibe similar to how she won people over on her sophomore album with 'Promise.' The two bonus tracks on the Limited Edition CD/DVD, 'Echo' and 'I'm On' are phenomenal and should've replaced the weakest tracks on the main album. Even 'Click Flash' from the Sex and the City The Movie Soundtrack is worthy. With these songs it puts in prospective how the vibe of the album would've been had she stuck it through because they are classic Ciara R&B/Pop bangers.

This album is definitely the worst of the three. I expected her to progress even more with the positive response from her sophomore release, but this is below the bar she set by far. I guess every artist has that one album that just wasn't on point for whatever reason and this is Ciara's unfortunately. Thank goodness she's in her early 20s and still has a long career ahead of her.

I expect to see her revamped and in normal form whenever the next album drops, but this simply is not her best work. Could've been a lot better.
13 helpful votes
14 helpful votes
0Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

3.6 out of 5 stars
$5.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime