Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen
Customer Review

28 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame on you Bruno and Harper Publishing, July 27, 2011
This review is from: The 100 Thing Challenge: How I Got Rid of Almost Everything, Remade My Life, and Regained My Soul (Paperback)
Zero Stars. You lost this sale at the Introduction (via the preview). I am disgusted at the author's heinous attitude towards cats. He expresses his humor regarding the loss of neighborhood cats to coyotes. He mocks a cat that is in mourning over the loss of the cat's companion (another cat). Even with Bruno's attitude, he could see that the cat was mourning. Here Bruno was actually correct. Animals do mourn the loss of their friends (human and animal). Even though Bruno recognizes this, he still perpetuates the misconception that cats are disposable. It's bad enough that the author wrote this rubbish but then Harper published it. This book, the author, and Harper Publishing are disposable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the guidelines and FAQs here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 5, 2011, 11:27:26 PM PDT
toxiccookie says:
I didn't take it that way at all. I'm surprised by your dramatic reaction, actually. And you didn't even read the book, so your rant isn't particularly helpful to anyone wondering whether the book is useful or not.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 7, 2011, 9:10:38 PM PST
James G says:
How would she know that part of the book without reading it? Your dramatic attack at her "rant" speaks nothing about the book either...

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 9, 2011, 8:22:29 AM PST
toxiccookie says:
Because... "You lost this sale at the Introduction (via the preview)." And I didn't post a review.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 28, 2011, 3:09:22 PM PST
Guess what AMJ? I'm entitled to my feelings. My feelings are not up for debate or your approval. I READ more than enough. The author discredited himself in the Introduction. I think that says a lot. Others were offended by his callous attitude also.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 28, 2011, 3:19:06 PM PST
I posted what I did to spare others who are also compassionate towards small animals. They may not want to support an author with that kind of attitude either.

Posted on Nov 28, 2011, 8:42:37 PM PST
toxiccookie says:
Yes, you sure are entitled to your feelings about cats. That doesn't mean it's helpful in a review about minimalist living... which was my opinion of your review. All these comments on my original comment are flattering. Thank you. Please, continue.

Posted on Jan 19, 2012, 1:28:54 PM PST
Thanks Rebecca, this was helpful to me. I may be interested in minimalist living, but I don't like to hear about how (some people seem to think) cats are "disposable"!

Posted on Apr 26, 2012, 1:27:28 PM PDT
J. Thompson says:
I completely agree. I only wish I had read this before I bought the book. I almost put the book down after that part of the intro, but I felt bound to finish it because I spent money on it. It was not worth it.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 24, 2012, 8:29:46 PM PDT
L. Rhea says:
And guess what Rebecca, Bruno and the publishing company clearly don't share your views but to say the book shouldn't be published because you don't agree would be denying Bruno his first amendment right just as you have yours to say you don't like his disposition for cats.

Your review should say that based on the introduction, you didn't believe that you could read the rest of the book because you like cats and Bruno doesn't seem to. But you cannot give a fair review of an ENTIRE book based on what he said in two paragraphs in the introduction. That isn't fair.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 25, 2012, 6:56:52 AM PDT
L. Rhea, this discussion is an older one and I find I am exhausted with it. Unfortunately, that is going be reflected in my response. Apologies but brace for impact. I think there a lot of things not fit for publication. Like child pornography. (I know a lot will agree on that one.) So, I guess the assumption that because I think the things that I think are wrong shouldn't be perpetuated in media means that I'm trying to deny others their Freedom of Speech. I have been found out. Drats, right again, too, that I'm so unfair to only state once in my review that it was based on the introduction (via the preview). I didn't realize that good and credible human beings (referring to Bruno, his editor, the publisher) perpetuate cruelty with callousness and humor. I'll try to be more fair in the future. As for minimalist living, I admit that I am a total fraud because I live in a 24 x 24 off-grid cabin and don't use propane or natural gas. I know I should ride my horse the 7 miles to town but he is truly unruly and my back isn't what it use to be so the Prius sucks down 50 mpg. I'm a horrible, horrible person that considers special needs cats family (that were made special needs at the hands of someone that thought it was okay to be cruel to animals). Forgive me for I own 4 pair of pants, 4 shorts, and 7 t-shirts. I own one pair of boots AND a pair of tennis shoes. I have committed mass consumerism with my 33 pieces of under clothing. Okay, I admit I have a Spring jacket AND a Winter coat. And I admit, for what seems the sixth time but math isn't my favorite subject, I only read the introduction of Bruno's book. I'd invite anyone who is so offended by my unfairness and attempts at denying one's freedom to sue, however, unless one is really into gray t-shirts (w/o pockets), there may not be much to one's profit. No, please, I beg of you, do not deny me my computer. Do me the kind favor of letting me know you're coming to collect as some days I don't have hot water for a shower. Drats, foiled again. Sorry, L. Rhea that wasn't all for you, it's been a long discussion and while it is in everyone's right to challenge my opinion and it is one way in which we learn from one another, I become greatly discouraged with humanity regarding the cruelty to animals issue. I do hope you got a chuckle out of some of my drama and I really do live the life I've described. I genuinely hope that our world can become a better place by sharing opinions and L. Rhea, I also genuinely apologize for my cheek-y-ness and I wish you a good day. If I may be excused now all, I have a fire to start in the masonry heater - a hot shower sounds divine. :)
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›