Hill Climb Racing 2 Vehicles Review Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno

Audition: A Memoir
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$9.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews(3 star). See all 430 reviews
on July 24, 2015
I heard an interview with Barbara Walters on Howard Stern and she seemed interesting enough to read about. I found her early life pretty intriguing and her accomplishments as a woman are incredible for times. The book unfortunately did not have a good editor because it is completely redundant. She goes on and on about the same points and then will repeat the point 30 pages later. She had plenty to write about but in my opinion this could have been cut by at least a third.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 28, 2013
Barbara gave very interesting accounts of her own life both at home and as a journalist. She spoke candidly of all of the many people she has interviewed throughout her most interesting and fascinating career. Good reading. Was one of my first kindle purchases and I loved the fact that I didn't have to lug such a Hugh book every where I went. Rock on Barbara.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2008
I began this book a huge fan of barbara walters and concluded it feeling that she has lived a largely selfish life, that focused mostly on the big "gets" and not enough on her responsibilities as a mother, daughter, and sister. Where her parents and sister are concerned she mostly expressees regret at lost opportunities to give more of herself to them. Very sad, indeed. Where her daughter is concerned, it is not difficult to figure out that her adolescent angst was related to a largely absentee mother who was galloping about the world courting the next big "get". Yuck.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2016
Enjoyable, but waaaaaaaay to loooong. Walters included too many tedious details. Give your readers a break, we can fill in some brush strikes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Barbara lead a very interesting life since her childhood and if you like to voyeuristically like to peak into other people's life story, this is a good book to dive into. The writing was a bit uneven at times, but that's not exactly why you read a bio anyway. I always admired Barbara, but the surprising thing about this book was her attitude toward her own family, particularly her sister. It doesn't put her in a flattering light, but at least she's honest about it - repetitively candid, and I mean REPEATEDLY expressing her resentment toward her sister throughout the book.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2010
For the most part, I enjoyed reading this book, however, it goes on a bit too long. It was detailed and I realize Walters is a journalist and details are her game, but I could have edited it down at least one hundred pages. Her life was quite interesting and overall she gives good information but not enough on the personal side. I think that historically it is a valuable story because Walters was a pioneer for women in the media in many ways.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 21, 2014
I love Ms Walters and was excited to read her book. It was a little disappointing, however, because there was much greater emphasis on her interviews-especially with politicos- than on her personal life. I got a little bored frankly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2008
I am a Walters fan, but I was disappointed in her memoir. I found it to be too long for the content she had to offer. It was a little repetitive and full of false humility. Don't think I would recommend it to my friends as a book I couldn't put down. In fact I found myself skipping some of the pages because it all sounded the same.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 11, 2015
Boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2014
This book had some stains on it and on some of the pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse