BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
Forgiving the Dead Man Walking: Only One Woman Can Tell the Entire Story
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 7, 2013
As a victim of sexual abuse and threatened violence, I really appreciated Debbie Morris' candid description of her experience being kidnapped, attacked, tormented, and then her experience afterward. Too often, people expect a story of "recovery" or a survivor defying all odds to immediately become healthy and have gained strength from a bad experience. Debbie's story is so honest. Her story really hit home and two months since reading it, I feel it helped me recover a little more from my own experiences. The take home lesson is that when something like what happened to Debbie, happens to someone, they don't just get over it, or hit rock bottom immediately. It is surreal experiencing being treated like a worthless object and simultaneously being complemented by your attacker or spared a horror that is dished out to someone else. The "recovery" can't be described so much as recovery as it is just life panning out afterward. Psychologically, you're altered, and you are at once a stronger and weaker person for it. The effects of this kind of violence don't all come at once, so you can't recover "all at once". Debbie really has a way of articulating so simply how she felt and what happened as a result of how she felt after surviving. I wasn't expecting such a large portion of the book to be dedicated to a discussion on the religious merits of forgiveness, but it is her story to tell and she is completely unbiased and un-dogmatic. In fact, she sounds undecided in the end, aside from knowing she forgave her attacker. She makes a good distinction between "okaying" what someone did and forgiving them. She also does all of her readers a real service by explaining that forgiveness can often be something you grant yourself as a way of releasing the pain of what happened, and it's not so much focused on the attacker or what was done by that person. Overall, a book I would really recommend to survivors of violence, because it doesn't re-open any wounds, but actually helped close some.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2016
The events in her life created a blueprint for forgiveness that we can all use. It wasn't that she intended to forgive. It just happened to her. This book was very difficult to put down, and I wished it could go on forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2013
It was interesting to find out what really happened and see how it affected Debbie's life. Hollywood has a tendency to embellish and ruin just about anything and everything, so I appreciate this different perspective. I thoroughly enjoyed Debbie's candid comments about how it was easier to forgive Robert Willie than God and watching Debbie's healing journey unfold.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
I don't care who ever did "what" to you---Debbie's story will trump you're situation. I heard her speak once and then bought the book. I have recommended it to pastors to use when preaching on forgiveness. I have totally forgiven EVERYONE who has ever wronged me because of this lady's story. You'll learn that hating "anyone" is really hurting you the most. This is a must read!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2015
The story of a remarkable woman and how she kept her cool under the most horrific circumstances and came out of the experience cleansed of the guilt and nightmares that such an experience leave behind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
Here is the story of a woman who was kidnapped and raped. But that is only the beginning of the story. This is also a story of a woman who learned how to forgive, to live again, and to extend grace. Even though many of us have not experienced what Debbie experienced, we can all learn how to live better by reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
I saw her in person many years ago and wanted to remember her journey.She is a walking miracle by the hand of God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
Haven't finished reading it yet but a really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2010
This book was very well written. Very thorough. It is nice to read a book where someone understands that forgiving someone doesn't mean you give them allowance. This book is also a great testament to being able to forgive, while being reminded you are human, and forgiveness doesn't always come quickly. She beautifully shares the ups and downs, ins and outs, of her life after the crime very eloquently and purposefully. Very honest. I am glad she met Prejean and dealt with her issues of feeling forgotten by her. On the subject of honesty, Prejean has told two different stories here about Willie's remorse, or lack thereof. It would have been nice to have some concrete clarification about this. However, when you are on the outside and looking in, you get what you get, which in this case, was more than I thought I would. Her relationship with Prejean would be interesting to hear more about, but maybe it isn't there, or she does not want to write about it. Overall, an amazing story of survival, growth, and moving on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2014
It was a very detailed book that put you there with the author. I would recommend this book to all, even if your not an avid reader, this book is one you will not put down until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse