Amazon Business Books with Buzz STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services _ros _ros _ros  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews(3 star, Verified Purchases). See all 1,685 reviews
on July 1, 2011
I successfully made some great bread using the recipes in this book, which was the intended result, but getting there was a bit of a task.

In the Kindle edition, there are no ways to use the index to locate a recipe. Yes, you can search, but that's often a lengthy process. The recipes in the book are not located in an easily identifiable location using the table of contents, so that was another problem.

Lastly, while I enjoyed some of the introductions to each recipe, I found them difficult to navigate using the Kindle.

I had never purchased a cookbook of any kind for my Kindle before, so I wasn't aware of the problems that could exist in a book such as this. I have also never paid so much for another Kindle book before, and was sorely disappointed that I can't use it with any kind of ease.

I tried to use the Kindle for PC app to at least print some of the recipes for my own personal use, and that just isn't happening. I kind of feel short-changed, in a way. I wish I had purchased the print edition instead.

Maybe in a future edit, a listing of the recipes can be linked in either the table of contents of the glossary, because, otherwise, it's just too difficult in a Kindle format.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2010
So far I have only made the master Boule recipe. I have to say that it is very simple to make, and the bread looks beautiful when it comes out. The taste to me was bitter and not what I expected. The second batch I made, I added 1/3 cup sugar and cut the salt by 1/3 and it was much better. Haven't tried the other recipes yet, but I hope they get better. I invested a small chunk of $$$ to buy the supplies; pizza paddle, containers, baking stone, oven thermometer...and as of right now I would not call this a good investment considering the results. I think once I find the time to *tweak* the recipes in the book I will be happier. If you are a serious baker short on time you will probably like this book. If however, you are living on a budget and trying to save the $1.50 - $3.00 price tag on Walmart bakery breads, (like me) this book is probably not for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2010
Nice book and some good recipes but in no way are you going to make any of those breads in five minutes. Lots to get prepared and have on hand to make many of these breads. If you are a beginner at bread making and don't have much more than five minutes to spend then get a automatic bread maker. They sell the mixes at any food store. Those take 5 minutes. The book is nice and I got it in good time but still haven't made anyting from it yet since I just haven't had the time. Looking forward to trying out though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2009
I love the end results of this bread. The brioche master dough recipe is wonderful for many, many good sweet breads. Melts in your mouth. A word of caution--there are errors galore in this book, so use your head and if something doesn't sound right, change it because it probably isn't right.

Jeff needs to really edit this book before making another printing.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2009
My disappointment in this cookbook makes me a little apprehensive about ordering another "made easy" bread cookbook. I have tried three of the recipes so far and I would not call them failures exactly, but clear disappointments. In future, I think I will go with the old way of bread making.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2009
I have read all the glowing reviews about this book, and am troubled because I haven't had such a positive experience. I'm certain I'm doing something wrong, so I thought I'd put this out there to see if anyone has any ideas as to wherein my error lies. I followed the recipe precisely, although the initial rise went an hour longer than suggested. But the dough rose beautifully that first time. I stored the dough in the refrigerator in a food-grade storage bucket with a lid that I left open somewhat. I cut off the first piece of dough and let it rise the recommended time. It didn't rise much, but the book says not to worry about that, that it will rise in the oven. The problem was that it didn't rise much more in the oven. Although it was edible, it ended up being much too dense. Each subsequent loaf from that batch rose increasingly less, and became increasingly dense, to the point of being inedible by the fourth loaf. Any ideas from you all would be greatly appreciated.
55 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
Maybe my expectations were wrong, I was looking for simple core bread recipes, which there a few, but the rest really are fufu variations that I am not really that interested in. I would've liked to see me core recipes, like you'd see going to a European bakery.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
Still took me much longer than 5 Minutes a Day to get my bread ready. You really have to take the time to make all the dough first. I was thinking it would take no time at all. You must like fresh bread daily! Should have read the description more clearly, my fault.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2009
I purchased this as the Kindle edition and I have mixed feelings.

The authors have done an excellent job with their material. The breads that I have made have both excellent crumb and terrific crusts. I am finally turning out bread from my home oven that my wife raves about.

My wife gave me a Kindle DX for my birthday and I am a big fan. Novels are wonderful on it and PDF files maintain their layout exactly as they would print.

My problems come with how this book was ported to the Kindle. Being a cookbook, many of the recipes have other related recipes that are referenced in the body of the text. For example, very early on the book says to look at their bread pudding recipes on pages 234 and 237. Kindle books don't use page numbers - they use location numbers. Since the text is re-flowed and optimized for the size of the particular Kindle. The complete lack of translation of the page numbers to something meaningful significantly damages the usability of the book.

This feels less like a "Kindle Edition", i.e. an edition specifically optimized for the Kindles features and limitations, than a quick and dirty automatic translation of the underlying text without regard to the usability once it hit the device. This is not the only title to be ported with these kinds of problems.

I hope that Amazon and the publishers work together to get a real solution to handling embedded references.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2010
I always wanted to bake bread, so I was looking for easy way to make bread. I purchased this book.
If you are a beginner this book is for you. really easy to make and the shape of bread is really great but the only thing I didn't like it, every time the bread came out of the oven there was a extreme smell of yeast. may be if the amount of yeast cuts in half the problem be gone but I never tried.This is not a book I stay with it for a long time. This book helps me to be brave enough to bake bread in traditional way (kneading) I think The Traditional way make the better taste. I recently bought Baking with Julia Savor the Joys of Baking with America's Best Bakers so far so good...
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse