Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 30, 2017
Great historical book, I learned a lot about Vietnam. I enjoyed the personal story intertwined with historical fact
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 24, 2017
Yes, it is perfect! Have already read it..thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 21, 2017
Fast paced. Once started it was impossible to put it down. Would recommend. Lots of history in this book. Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 14, 2017
I enjoyed it! It was certainly long, but it had a lot of ground to cover. Interesting narrative device: the history expressed primarily through two families (one Vietnamese, the other American) whose paths "coincidentally" intersect at key junctures; almost too contrived. Despite this (or perhaps because of this), I felt compelled to keep reading. Struck me as reasonably accurate in its portrayal of history...would probably be of particular value for those without an in-depth knowledge of the two Indochina Wars and their background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 4, 2017
This novel helped me finally understand a time that I lived through but couldn't yet believe. It clearly painted the faces of evil in the America presidents who knew with certainty that the USA was on the wrong side and yet were willing to spend a generation of youth and treasury in support of corruption. What I had always thought, through all the intervening years, were terrible misjudgements and mistakes were instead intentionally evil and horrifying acts by unscrupulous leaders. Thank you Anthony Grey for taking the scales off these stupid old eyes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2017
Well-researched historical epic with complex character studies. A truly great read that provides a wider perspective than the typical military-oriented accounts of the era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2017
This book totally supports all opinion and fact that this war was criminal! The book is totally engrossing and factual; I could not put it down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 27, 2017
Informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2017
The history alone was worthwhile. The drama of decades of interwoven stories and local color of a pivotal country in history is wonderful
Rr reading it for second time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2017
This feels like Danielle Steele with Vietnam as as an "exotic" and incidental backdrop. Nothing here for the sophisticated reader, or one looking to understand Vietnam. Recommend you get "The Headmaster's Wager" or "The Sympathizer", if you are interested in Vietnam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse