Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 71 reviews
on February 22, 2010
There is a lot of information in this book. The information here is not new, but it is presented in an organized and fun format. Some may find there is too much information. For non-medical women, this is a great resource, but if you come from a medical background and know about hormones and endocrinology, you will find it over simplified. It's divided into different sections so you can skip around and read the part you are more interested in at the moment. The worksheets are useful and eye-opening. The idea of a 12 week planner is great, but to do that part of it will take some effort on your part, you will have to be committed to writing things down regularly. If you are expecting an easy, quick fix, or a new revelation, this book is not for you. If you want to understand the science behind what is happening to your body and what you can do about it, this is a great resource. It boils down to the basics: Eat right, exercise regularly and take care of yourself. ***IMPORTANT*** I would not recommend buying this book for your Kindle, there are worksheets and "diaries" which you won't be able to fill in and additionally, the charts and graphs cannot be read even when the font on the kindle is enlarged to the largest it can go. If you want to get the most out of this book, get the print version.
33 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
I bought this book since I too found myself struggling with the effects of menopause. It was a great read and I appreciated all the work Staness Jonekos put into designing her menu's and workouts.

Unfortunately, her suggestions did not work very well for me. It did however, get me started on looking at what WASN'T working for me. I found the right combination of food/exercise that is right for my body type, though not quite was is outlined in the book (menu).

I strongly suggest this book as a great read and to understand fully what to expect with menopause, but please pay attention to your own body and is working and not working. We are all individuals. Not all menu's work for all people.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2010
Menopause is the big secret that we women don't discuss. It is hardly dinner conversation! I was thrilled to find this book and have so many questions answered and mystery's solved (that don't need to be so frighteningly mysterious!) I am at the very beginning of menopause and feel that armed with this information from Ms. Jonekos I might be able to get a head start and avoid some of the pitfalls! This is a quick read and is filled with great tips and advice on everything from diet to hormone therapy. I would recommend it to any woman over 30 and have bought copies for my mother and mother in law who are both in their 70's-well past menopausal age but they are both starving for information on how to get their bodies back in their control! Bravo for writing this..and thank you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
Sometimes it's hard to determine the focus of a book when buying online, and while I'm sure this book is full of information, I already know that I can go to the doctor and have my hormones tested. I was looking more for the little everyday things that I can do on my own. I'm not saying it's a bad book, it just wasn't what I was looking for.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2013
This is an excellent read for women who want to get to know their bodies, and want to do to feel better. It will give you a whole new prospective of life and hope for a better future mentally and physically. If you are 45 years old and up this is a book that will help you navigate through chemicals internally changing your make up because you are losing estrogen and progesterone. You will totally understand your mood swings and highs and lows. Excellent read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
I liked this book, it was full of information that women need to be proactive in their health.

I did go up to the website, I didn't care for it, it was not easy to get around in, and it didn't figure in whether you had purchased the book, would have been better if it were more user friendly.

I would suggest this book to anyone with loved ones that are of "a certain age" so they can understand what is happening, also to any women who has questions, Ms. Jonekos covers the issue very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2010
Why do I love this book? Three reasons. It's written by a woman, Staness Jonekos, who knows what it's like to find yourself falling apart during menopause and having no idea how to stop it from happening. In her words, a "hellish abyss of self pity". She gets it. Finally, a woman speaking from experience who really wants to make a difference in other women's lives.

Second, the commitment to The Menopause Makeover is twelve weeks. Enough time to make some big changes without feeling like it was going to take forever.

And most importantly, the book contains a step-by-step plan on how to change yourself physically, spiritually and mentally. It's the whole package.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
This book provides explanations that are understandle to the average person . As women age altering your diet is a must for most women and this book helps explain why and more importantly how and what . How. Each person handles menopause is a personal decision but she offers suggestions for those who opt for HRT and those who don't opt for HRT. If menopause is confusing or scary insome way read this book it will ease your fears
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2012
This book has wonderful content, as I read my friend's copy. When I went to order if for myself, I made the mistake of ordering the "Mass-market" paperback version. It looks like a beach read book. Paper is terrible quality. Buy this book, but don't buy this version.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2012
This book has been very informative and helpful so far. I haven't read the entire book as of yet but it's nice to know that I'm not alone and that other women are experiencing the same issues that I've experienced for the past 11 years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse