Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 15 reviews
on May 29, 2009
excellent book, lots of great commands to get you used to the command line. Only downfall is Amazon is not packaging their books well anymore, I ordered $100 worth of books that were all thrown in a box and arrived all banged up! This is the 2nd order in a row, I will think twice about ordering again as I dont care for my books being all banged up! They used to use a cellofane wrapper to hold them all together but guess it was a cost cutting measure, sad to see damaged books.. I'd rather pay full price and get a good one..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
Item arrived quickly, exactly as advertised, works great - Thanks !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
This book is a excellent resource for anyone that is working with UNIX. The book is arranged to teach you the basics first, and then move on the more advanced commands. This is what makes this book great for any new BSD user, as well as the experienced ones. I have been working with FreeBSD for several years, and I was amazed at how much I have learned from this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Easy to use, the stuff works, the book is worth every cent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
This book contains some good stuff. My only wish is that I had gotten the physical book and not the eBook version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2008
This book makes a nice addition to my FreeBSD collection. It contains a comprehensive listing of useful commands collected in a single source. The book is fairly compact so it doesn't take up much room on your desk. The softcover makes it easy to quickly flip through the sections.

For the price, this book was well worth it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
Informative and detailed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
excellent book, thank you ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2012
I learned few things, one of which is that the editor didn't check spelling. Material is slightly dated yet still informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2009
EDIT: Added another error on page 259. Author specifies:
firewall_type="/etc/ipf.rules"

...which is flat out wrong. Doing that on a remote system will result in a broken firewall and probably losing access to the remote system! Another example of the lousy editing in this book.

It should read:
firewall_type="closed" (or open, workstation, unknown, etc.)

Original Review:

This is one of several books by the author that span multiple operating systems. Errors were found sprinkled throughout the text. Most of the errors involved commands from other operating systems that had been mistakenly added to this book. For example, "lspci", a command found in most Linux distributions is listed in this book as a FreeBSD command.

It appears the authors did a lot of cutting and pasting between their different "toolbox" books -- FreeBSD, Fedora, Ubuntu, OpenSUSE, etc. There are a lot of commands in this book. Whether they are actually useful is questionable.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse