Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
52
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
on September 6, 2013
It's been awhile since I've read a book where I got angry with my life for getting in the way of me finishing a book in one sitting.

I was amazed at how Mr. Heinan put as much detail as he did into such a compact book. I have never been to New Orleans and the pictures and his ability to describe scene helped me to understand the physical, emotional, and mental settings of the story.

I hadn't heard of Delphine Lalaurie or Marie Laveau before reading L'immortalite. After reading it I want to know more of the history and rumor surrounding both women.

One would assume the book would focus on just the two women and the other characters would be flat, but I felt I knew all of the other characters surrounding the legend as well as madam Lalaurie and Marie Laveau, no matter how minor the character seemed to be.

The grizzly detail of the legend, the horrific acts, and the way T.R. Heinan described them sent chills up my spine. I found myself cringing from fear and anxiety, but unable to stop reading...Constantly cheering on another main character, Phillipe Bertrand.

Following Phillipe's journey of self-discovery and watching him grow from a cowardice person to a heroic figure folded in well with the more obvious plot of the book.

I was enthralled with the clash and harmony of voodoo and Catholicism. One would think that these two should not coincide or even mix, but Marie Laveau made it make sense.

The blend of history and legend, mystery, grousomeness, religion, and internal/external struggle makes this an enticing read!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2013
This is a fictional story woven around the true history of Delphine Lalaurie whose desire for immortality came true, as her name will always be linked to the history of New Orleans. She beat and mistreated her slaves and sanctioned her husband's gruesome experiments in the name of science. Their antebellum mansion in the French Quarter has been preserved and today is said to be one of the most haunted houses in New Orleans, where the cries of the tortured and dismembered slaves can still be heard.
The story revolves around Phillipe Bertrand, the Saint Louis Cathedral's lay sacristan and the kindly Voodoo Queen Marie Laveau, and their combined efforts to save a slave child and end the torture to the other slaves in the mansion.
The book is filled with hidden innuendo. Bertrand lives in a yellow brick house where today a yellow brick building actually exists, on Pirate's Alley, which becomes a metaphorical brick road for him. He gives the runaway slave girl Elise bread, and later pours her wine.
Marie Laveau practices voodoo but is also a regular member of the Catholic Church, and in reality, New Orleans is probably the only place in the world where the two come together today.
The story moves at a fast pace and is hard to put down.
The characters from the book are soon to be used by the hit TV series American Horror Story.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
L'IMMORTALITE
by T.R.Heinan

This novel is an exciting mixture of fact and fiction and it is hard to know which is which. L'Immortalite brings to light, once again, the brutal nature of slavery. Set in New Orleans, Louisiana, where a family of rich white slave owners torture, mutilate, and murder many of their own slaves and cast terror into the hearts of the others in their captivity. Mr. Heinan introduces us to Voodoo Queen, Marie Laveau, who gives aid and comfort to a runaway slave, and faces a death sentence if she is caught. The author creates a graphic picture of a corrupt society that cannibalizes itself and is doomed to failure. Well done, Mr. Heinan, I could not put this book down.
Mary Firmin, author Deadly Pleasures.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
The novel L'IMMORTALITE:MADAME LALAURIE AND THE VOODOO QUEEN by T. R. Heinan provides the reader a compelling and graphically descriptive tale with a clear window into both the history and legend of antebellum New Orleans--with its historical fabric consisting of horrid racial bigotry and cruelty along with its magical charms, where Catholicism and Voodoo can join hands, and where unspeakable horrors are committed by Delphine and Louis Lalaurie and yet the brave Voodoo Queen, Marie Laveau, risks her life to give comfort to a slave girl who has been tortured by the couple at Lalaurie Mansion.

Having grown up in Mississippi, and living near New Orleans, I found this novel disturbing for its historical truth about torture and treatment of slaves but also charming in that I love the blend of cultures of antebellum New Orleans so beautifully described by T.R. Heinan. It is a great tale and I certainly give it 5 stars and recommend this novel to everyone who loves a little horror, mixed with some real history, magic and esoteric lore, and excellent descriptive writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2013
A very good read and well worth getting. It is presented as a work of fiction, but is, in fact, mostly non-fiction. I am from the North, but I felt like I was in New Orleans while reading it and the feeling lingers still..... The book flowed wonderfully and the illustrations are a nice change of pace - don't see that very often in a novel. I highly recommend it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
I don't know how much was fiction and how much was actually fact, but nonetheless, an entertaining story. Delphine LeLaurie got her wish. She was, and is still, remembered although not well. I don't think anyone knows how or when or where she actually died, but the author's ending well suited the horriffic way she lived her life. I would like to have seen a more in depth exploration of Marie Laveau's character but a very good quick read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
With all the American Horror Story: Coven hype, I just HAD to check this book out...and I'm so glad I did. The author's imaginative relationship between Delphine Lalaurie and Marie Laveau was most entertaining. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in New Orleans' rich history. Though it is fairly unlikely that Marie Laveau and Madame Lalaurie actually knew each other, it's still fun to wonder "what if"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
I've always been fascinated with Marie Laveau and Madame Lalaurie is quite a historical enigma. This was an excellent work of fiction about them that engaged me into the mystery of both women.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
This book was ok, I like to read about history but she skipped around and I felt like there was alot missing. I almost gave up reading it..Not my favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse