Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$18.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 202 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 274 reviews
on October 10, 2016
In her sixth book in the Kinsey Millhone series, Sue Grafton increases the tension with a plot that takes Kinsey way out of her comfort zone, quite literally.

Bailly Fowler has been convicted of murdering Jean Timberlake, a pregnant teenager, in the town of Floral Beach, California. Years later his father still refusing to believe his son's guilty conviction and hires Kinsey to discover the truth. What follows is a complicated tale of lies, affairs and dark secrets that threaten to push this town over the edge.

Right from the start, it is obvious many secrets abound, and some of the characters are openly hostile to Kinsey, including a socialite who assaults her. Bailly, while making very limited physical appearances in the story, still manages to loom over Kinsey like a haunting spectre. The police offer no help, of course. Bailly's father health battle will see you begging Kinsey to solve the case before it's too late for him to find out the truth. Ultimately, anyone and everyone n this town could be suspect, but Grafton craftily keeps the truth hidden until the final seconds.

This book throws a few twists into the traditional Kinsey story. While the story stays calm and builds toward the climax like Graftpn's previous book, this one has a few shocking twists hiding in it's tail that will shake everything up in ways you simply won't see coming. But it's Kinsey's semi-morbid and blunt view of the world that will hook you in - Kinsey doesn't take crap from anyone, and doesn't surged-coat anything either. Even when she does something downright immoral - and she does at least once here, you'll still root for her. And you're heart will break for her when a childhood memory resurfaces.

All up, F is another quality entry in the Kinsey Millhone series that will have you gripped until the very last page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
What can you say about Sue Grafton other than she is a great mystery writer. Kinsey Milhone is an ex-cop and has her own detective agency and never much of a sex life if that what your looking for, go elsewhere. This is a traditional gumshoe story with action and danger for our heroine. After some spotty success writing books, Grafton changed to writing screenplays for TV and movies. With the success of her first Alphabet series book ' A is for Alibi' in 1982 it has continued to date. I first discovered her books when I came across 'G is for Gumshoe' (pub 1990) in a recycle center in 2000, I proceeded to local bookstores and Amazon to acquire all of this series up until the current at the time 'O is For Outlaw'. It's always great when you come across a great series in progress as it's a joy just reading book after book from a great writer. Much like 'binge watching TV series on Netflix nowadays. Only problem with an ongoing series is waiting for the next book. Grafton has done only a couple of yearly books and mostly every other year since 'P is for Peril' in 2001. It is now up to just plain 'X' in 2015 and will end with 'Z is for Zero'. I'm hoping she has Y & Z completed as she is 75 now and I'm 70 and don't want to miss the conclusion of this great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
Sue Grafton fans will like "F" as well as any of her others in the series. The key factor to their success is the very likeable detective protagonist, Kinsey, who makes California her stomping grounds. Readers will find these stories an interesting throwback to an era without cell phones and computers. Instead, there are paper files, phone books, and libraries.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2011
Kinsey Millhone is the star of author Sue Grafton's alphabet series of murder mysteries. F is for Fugitive is a fast paced, well written absorbing page flipping story:
The Plot: Kinsey Millhone is a 30something PI living in the fictional town of Santa Teresa California. She is hired by Royce Fowler a motel owner in the small northern California town of Floral Beach. Royce's son Bailey has just escaped from prison where he was serving time for the murder of Jean Timberlake. Jean was a seventeen year old town tramp who was found dead on the beach after being strangled to death. She was pregnant at the time of her murder. Royce wants Kinsey to investiage the crime.
The result is an exciting tale where town secrets are revealed and two more persons are murdered. Along the way we learn of secret love affairs and a murderer who is adept with a shotgun. To reveal more is to spoil this riveting tale of a murderer brought to justice. The story is rich in atmosphere, character development and plot surprises. A is the grade for this fine murder mystery by one of the masters of the genre. Enjoy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 31, 2012
Sue Grafton's alphabet mysteries are always fun. I'm reading them in order, and "F Is for Fugitive" may be my favorite one so far. Kinsey is called upon to solve an old murder case in a small, dilapidated beach town. The timing is perfect given that her apartment was just blown to bits in the prior book and is being redone. The residents of Floral Beach all know each other, and many of them seem to have motives for killing off 17-year-old Jean Timberlake. As usual, Kinsey manages to ingratiate herself into the lives of the suspects, which at times seems a bit forced, but certainly makes the mystery more fun.

What makes this mystery work so well is the new setting and the plethora of interesting suspects. Grafton skillfully outlines the motives of the various residents and keeps us guessing until the very end. Of course, Kinsey manages to get confessions fairly easily, as happens in most of her cases. Fortunately, Grafton has a knack for sketching believable characters and situation, and she packs quite a bit of detail into her short novels. I did miss the old regulars from Santa Teresa, but Kinsey does have a change of heart about Henry that tugs effectively at the heart strings.

Note: This review is for the Kindle version of "F Is for Fugitive." The publisher seems to have taken care in the creation of the e-book version. I found no obvious errors, and the chapters are linked in the table of contents. Unfortunately, the color cover shown here is not available on the Kindle, not even the Kindle Fire version. In its place is a nondescript small cover comprised of orange blocks and orange type on a white background. The same cover seems to be used for all the Kindle versions of her books, as it is the same for D and E.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
This is comfort reading at it's finest. You always start out thinking you know what Kinsey will get into but get a nice surprise before it's over. Well done S. Grafton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
I always enjoy a good twist at the end of these books. Definitely not how I thought it was going to turn out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
I thought I had done my reviews on all the her mysteries series but guess not, anyway all but one of Sue Graftons "Alphabet Mysteries" are a big Yes in reading, following Kinsey way of solving a mystery is fun and you really get into her life as a detective and it's a women not your typical male role so that makes it fun too.....the down side is only one of the series so far and Is "P is for Peril" save your reading time and money, the story is great but leaves you angry at Grafton for leaving no end to the mystery nor epilogue either, nothing! nada! and it made me really upset over that, however I'm still waiting for W, X, Y and Z to be published but I will not buy them if they is not at least and epilogue....GAB
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
One of my faorites
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2011
Ms. Grafton's 6th Kinsey Millhone novel is her typical fast read. The book wastes no time on unnecessary dialogue. 32 year old PI Millhone is a very well developed character by this time. There is no mid-story lull and nearly no time spent on her personal trials & tribulations. That part of her has been been developed & is not addressed in this book.

She finds herself in a very small town in California. Hired by a man's dying father she's needed to find & prove his son is not guilty of a seventeen year old murder of a promiscuous young girl.

Kinsey finds herself in a community surrounded by some people who are quite strange in their own right. Some readers have figured out the protagonist, I'm one who didn't. Not until close to the ending. It's a very good read, as are Sue Grafton's other alphabet books. Better read in series, they can be read out of order. I actually started with "S" & "T", then went back to the beginning
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse