Oil month Automotive HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on July 8, 2013
I just picked this up for our tech entrepreneurship library. It's an older read but still a great resource to inspire entrepreneurial thinking. Kawasaki always has great ideas and we often encourage our start-up companies to look for his presentation videos. As with most traditional incubators, we have multiple copies of his other books on the shelves. But here's a fun thing - follow him on Twitter. You'll always be surprised by what he's looking at or thinking about. The hallmark of a true entrepreneur!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2018
Love his ideas. Love his protocol for presentations. He is right on, in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMEon March 5, 2008
Guy Kawasaki is a genius. I mean it: here's a guy who wrote a book back in 1998, who is most famous for being the Chief Evangelist at Apple. Yet his book bypasses tech talk altogether as its focus and succeeds at presenting us with a volume that, even ten years later, is loaded with wisdom that any self-respecting entrepreneur ought to be reading.

The philosophy underlying the rules for revolutionaries sounds quite simple yet it's very powerful: create like a god, command like a king, work like a slave. Each of these parts in his book is further broken down to facilitate digesting it. Since others here have done a find job at analyzing the three main components in the past, I am focusing on the aspects that stood out for me.

Work the edges: Kawasaki borrows the concept of "edges" from architecture to have revolutionaries focus their energy where it is going to be best spent. By edges, he means where one surface or material meets another or changes into another. He says: "The action is not in the centers or areas of sameness," and he is very much right about this. Examples of this are: how a customer service representative deals with a customer, even more so with a customer who is bringing up an exceptional issue; and the user interface of software or product, where the user interacts with the functionality.

"Revolutionary products don't fail because they are shipped too early. They fail because they aren't revised fast enough." He doesn't condone poor product design with this comment. He rather condemns poor product management. In coming up with a recipe for great products, he expands a concept he introduced in a previous book seven years before: DICEE,
-D for deep: the mark of a deep product is wishing it had a feature after you've used it for a while and then discovering that it already does.
-I for Indulging: it is more than what you minimally need and costs more than what you could have minimally spent.
-C for complete: this focuses on the documentation and the customer service.
-E for elegant: without elegant design, people cannot figure out how to use deep products.
-E for evocative: you should strive to create something that some people will love rather than something everyone will merely like.

"Sometimes you have to 'hear' what people would say if only they knew better." How many times, while managing a product, have you heard nice-to-have feature requests that sounded like essential to the people requesting them?

"A significant gulf, the 'chasm,' exists between the market made up of early adopters, and the markets of more pragmatic buyers." Do everything you possibly can to make the chasm as small as possible, which means tearing down barriers for your product users to learn about your product, care about your product enough to change their existing habits, gain access to your product, be able to afford it and learn how to use it.

After you have broken down or lowered the typical barriers to adoption of your product, you should build a cocoon around your customers so the competition can't attack you.

Evangelism starts with a great product or service. With success typically being equal to Facts (features customers want) divided by price, one can increase success by adding more features (increase the numerator) or reducing the Price. Evangelism provides a third method for increasing the numerator: adding Emotions to the Facts before dividing them by the Price.

"Make the optimal solution feasible -as opposed to making the feasible solution optimal." -this is one of the most brilliant phrases in the whole book!

"Ensure backward compatibility for evolutionary improvements to your product. But when it comes to revolutionary leaps, make your product so innovative that people won't care about backward compatibility."

"The more information you give away, the more you get as people come to trust you and see mutual benefits." -who remembers that movie?

"Big titles mean little to revolutionaries. All you care about is that a person 'gets it' and wants to help you." -very true!

"Tolerate criticism. Not only should people feel free to plug competitive products, they should be able to criticize your own... first, this produces good PR because tolerating criticism on a company-sponsored site is unheard of; second, this produces few and voluminous customer feedback."

And last, but not least: "As long as customers are still complaining, they still want to do business."

Now I am reading "Selling the Dream", another one of his books. I am convinced!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 22, 2006
The only regret I have about this book is that it is too good. That is, much of the content has been scooped by the writers who have come later, so if you have read many business books written within the last couple years parts of Guy's book will seem cliche. At the same time, many of Guy's insights are still unique and cannot be found anywhere else. Especially important are his explanations on why never to compromise and allow your product to be invented and marketed by a committee. This is very counter intuitive, but true, and it takes a lot of time for most people to grasp this concept. But that being said, it is the defining characteristic that separates revolutionaries from mere mortals.

I'd recommend this book to anyone who has a world changing idea but still has doubts about whether or not it is workable or worth pursuing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 26, 2000
I hate to admit it again, but Guy has done it again. For the entrepreneur in our day and age there is no way around this book. Just read the book, and thousands of ideas for new ventures will pop up in your mind. I would even go as far as saying that any businessman today would benefit from this collection of insights. I give it 5 stars because of the above + the fact it is such an enjoyable and not beat around the bush read. I am looking forward to Guy's next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2003
This book is a very concise guidebook on product evangelism. The author was Apple Computer's chief evangelist, and I myself an Apple evangelist, really enjoyed the author's description of the product evangelism process, of which I was part as a customer.
The authro uses some analogies, like "eat like a bird, poop like an elephant", which oozes unconventional thinking, however the topics he addresses are pretty standard. Rather than innovative thinking, I think this is a good way of repackaging thoughts into a coherent framework.
It seems to try to speak to the actors of the internet revolution in their language, which in many ways alienates some of the other audiences. However, if we ignore this segmentation, it is a pretty nice, short guide.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2013
This book is required for an Innovation class I am taking, and it is full of useful nuggets and examples, but was published in 1999, so....it needs a serious update. Kawasaki's style is very informal, so you don't need to be studying this subject to get something out of it. I'm betting, though, there are similar books published more recently.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 24, 2012
I was surprised with the conservation of this book! I bought for such cheap price that I was expecting it to be barely 'readable', but it came almost new! You can't barely say that it has been used, the paperback cover is intact, no signs of folding or anything. The only thing that gives away the fact that it was used is some underlines and some small pen marks in the text, but really minor things that don't affect in nothing the reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 20, 2016
Great book, saved money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2013
What isn't excellent from Guy Kawasaki. Stretched my thinking and planted lots of new and fresh ideas. Well worth the buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse