Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno



on January 8, 2011
The author of this book, Carmen Barros, moved into my neighborhood, so I've had the privilege of seeing her nesting dolls up close and personal. She's won awards and I can see why - her work is exquisite. I didn't even know you could paint your own dolls, much less turn them into such works of art.

Carmen showed me some tricks, like it's important to get blanks that are well-made. Otherwise the dolls can easily fall apart if picked up by the head and you risk damage. She made sure a good resource for well-made blanks is in the book.

My best-friend from high school collects these dolls, so I bought the book for her for Christmas. Since she knows so much more about the subject than I do, I waited for her response before posting this. She told me she loves the book. Says she can't wait to get started painting. That's good enough for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 28, 2012
My granddaughter requested nesting dolls for Christmas and this book was perfect for someone who didn't know how to approach this project. The step by step instructions, illustrations and suggestions for obtaining the right paint and supplies were perfect. Thank you Ms. Barros!!!! My granddaughter loved her nesting dolls!!!!!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2015
This book is exactly what I wanted! A very practical explanation, including where to buy materials and easy and advanced examples. My kids are studying Russia this month and I had nesting dolls as a project, the book just answered all my questions. The design is very pleasant, too, with color front and back pictures of the finished dolls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 7, 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2018
Been wanting this book for several years and finally ordered it! There are so many great ideas in it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 29, 2016
The patterns are not easy and was hoping this was for beginners. Also, it doesn't have a pattern for every size, so I'd have to figure that out. For advanced painters, this might be a better option.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2017
I really love this book. It was written really well to understand the basic concepts of painting your own nesting doll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 17, 2014
I have a Russian daughter in law and she always talked about the nesting dolls so I thought I would try to paint some for her. She gave me some blank ones to try. They turned out gorgeous. I would recommend the book to anyone to get them started on a lot of fun.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2017
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2013
This book gives very helpful ways in which to paint these dolls. They are trickier than you may realize because all surfaces are curved. I recommend this book to adults. I think the project may be a bit difficult for children to master.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse