Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop now Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com toystl17_gno

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
26
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on January 11, 2016
I had no idea what to expect when I came across this book. Most free downloads are nothing special. But this was a terrific read. It isn't "history" as that is done today.. The author has a strong voice and constantly gives us his gloss on events in florid language and his characterizations of the main characters states of mind at given moments which no professional historian would do so boldly. But it isn't fiction, as there is little that is outside the record either. I would call it storytelling and it was magnificent. I zipped right through the book and enjoyed it immensely.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2013
This kindle book must be one of the best deals around. Strachey's storytelling is captivating from the beginning. This book would be a pleasure to read no matter what, given the author's beautiful writing. Considering that it is about one fascinating, witty monarch, and one tragic love story makes it impossible to resist. Great (his)story, fantastic writing, perfect price!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2017
I really enjoyed this book. I adore Tudor history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2010
This is the story of the "love"/relationship between Queen Elizabeth the first
and Robert Deveraux,the second Earl of Essex. Lytton Strachey has written
this as a grand ,sweeping novel,mixing in lots of true life facts with his own way
of telling their' story. it makes a great read. It has a sort-of insider/tabloid/talk
show-type feel to it-and THIS really happened-to these people! It is a fascinating book.
As I read it,I couldn't help but feel futility because, I knew Robert would crash and burn
at the end. I wish he had tried to save himself,but,alas..this is tragedy on a grand scale.
Do not miss this one!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
Lytton Stachey renders historical personages into living sculptures who possess personalities,passions and wit.What could be a boring history lesson turns into a peek from behind the curtain.
TURN off the TV and allow your imagination to costume these intrigues.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
Well researched and presented.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2008
this is a lovely book. The author's mastery of the English language is a pleasure to savor. I will keep this book to re-read and I'm sure I will enjoy his way with words and his way with a story again and again. He makes his characters come to life. If you love Elizabethan history, if you love the English language, read this book, you won't be disappointed. I wish I were articulate enough to do justice to his art.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
AN IMPORTANT BOOK FOR THOSE INTERESTED IN THIS ERA OF ENGLISH HISTORY.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2015
The style of writing was excellent and it read like a thriller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse