Salon Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Chris young Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
34
Gold in Havilah
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on December 8, 2016
This is not the kind of book I usually read. But I was so so so engrossed in the pros ... the intelligent style of the writing. There's a sense of fun and the narrative tension is pretty much non-stop. You won't be able to put this book down. My knowledge of biblical history is spotty at best, so I feel I can now at least name the key players that came out of the garden. Oh, and this is no long-winded religious discourse—the book is spicy and provocative ... enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2016
"Gold In Havilah" is a well researched historical novel about the life and times of the children of Adam and Eve. Ms. Hoeflings creative description of the characters and the area outside of Eden make the reader feel they are in Havilah with the family. This book will not only peak the interest of the reader but would provide a stimulating choice for a book club. I enjoyed reading "Gold in Havilah and recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2016
Though I am not Christian, I was able to enjoy this novel for the wonderful story telling that it embodies as well as the quality of the writing.

Gold in Havilah is very beautifully written. The language is elevated and refined to a degree that every word creates a poetic cadence that seamlessly moves you from one page to the next. Before you know it, you'll be at the end of the book wondering how long you've been reading because you didn't even notice how immersed you had become.

This book is refreshing in its originality and sincerity. The author did not try to make Akliah a typical heroine with unwavering confidence and righteousness. Instead the inner turmoil of her character is central in telling a tale of redemption that mere mortals like myself can relate to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
Gold in Havilah is a beautifully written and captivating story. Through the character of Akliah, Ms. Hoefling tells a story of the duplicity of our human natures. I recognized myself in Akliah - in her desire to do what is good, yet how quickly she abandons good to follow her heart's desire. How she tries in her own human understanding to set things right again, and how certain her attempts are to fail. The story is never preachy, however. I found myself carried along as the events unfolded, then suddenly recognizing the truth in Akliah's circumstances and actions. This is a story I will enjoy reading over again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
I found myself captured by the author’s characters, posing a very plausible story of a daughter of Adam and Eve not recounted in the Biblical account. The plot kept my interest throughout and flowed to places where I wondered where the author could possibly take us next to bring this to a redemptive conclusion…and yet, she did. I loved her bits of wisdom interspersed throughout which brought pause to my spirit as well as tears to my eyes more than a few times. Her protagonist character, Akliah, brought me into her angst of struggling with who she was, yet yearning to be freed to be her true self. It is a personal storyline we all face if honest. As Ms. Hoefling shared in the Epilogue (placed in the beginning of the book), “There are few stories on the earth, and we are all derived of one heart.” I look forward to her next book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2017
The truth is that this is a book that I probably wouldn't have read but I know the author personally and was thrilled to see what she had created. In reading Gold in Havilah I have been blown away by what the author has done. I'm a visual person. I feel like I had a clear picture all along in my head. And boy what a picture, so bright and colorful. Love that part of it. And I was constantly compelled to keep reading. The way she weaved in the internal and external dialogue felt masterful to me. And finally, it was really thought provoking. There are some truly original ideas in there. So stimulating on every level. Loved it. Thanks, Jean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2017
Richly told and strangely imagined, Gold in Havilah expands on the biblical story of the Garden of Eden and brings its characters to life in the world of Eden and beyond. Well-researched and fascinating no matter what your theology. Hoefling has poured her heart and her considerable skills into this unusual book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
It has been a very long time since I read a piece of fiction, let alone biblical fiction, that was this captivating. From the opening epilogue this book draws you into the heartbreak of the fall from Eden. Well developed characters fill the pages with longing to return to paradise lost while battling with the new sickness that broken communion with The Creator brought upon Adam and Eve. A very quick read and well worth the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
I enjoyed my visit to post Eden through this story of Adam, Eve and their children. The impressive amount of research and character development brought man’s early years to life. Through Akliah’s story, I was not only introduced to a possible early people lifestyle, but also insight into human nature. I was able to see some of myself in her very human characters.

Without hesitation, I recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
A story woven from the "in-between" not mentioned in the account of Genesis. This well-researched and paced tale from the perspective of Cain's wife is a fun read with character development that makes them stay with you long after the book is finished. Highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here