Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
31
5 star
90%
4 star
10%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on December 8, 2016
This is not the kind of book I usually read. But I was so so so engrossed in the pros ... the intelligent style of the writing. There's a sense of fun and the narrative tension is pretty much non-stop. You won't be able to put this book down. My knowledge of biblical history is spotty at best, so I feel I can now at least name the key players that came out of the garden. Oh, and this is no long-winded religious discourse—the book is spicy and provocative ... enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2016
"Gold In Havilah" is a well researched historical novel about the life and times of the children of Adam and Eve. Ms. Hoeflings creative description of the characters and the area outside of Eden make the reader feel they are in Havilah with the family. This book will not only peak the interest of the reader but would provide a stimulating choice for a book club. I enjoyed reading "Gold in Havilah and recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2016
Though I am not Christian, I was able to enjoy this novel for the wonderful story telling that it embodies as well as the quality of the writing.

Gold in Havilah is very beautifully written. The language is elevated and refined to a degree that every word creates a poetic cadence that seamlessly moves you from one page to the next. Before you know it, you'll be at the end of the book wondering how long you've been reading because you didn't even notice how immersed you had become.

This book is refreshing in its originality and sincerity. The author did not try to make Akliah a typical heroine with unwavering confidence and righteousness. Instead the inner turmoil of her character is central in telling a tale of redemption that mere mortals like myself can relate to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
Hoefling has given incredible depth and color to biblical characters that have traditionally been one-dimensional. In a beautifully written tale, reading like a fantasy novel - or an extended tale from classical mythology - she draws us into a world far more detailed than the one referenced in the bible. The initial impression is of a post-apocalyptic society, which is arguably what the exiles from Eden comprised. The human failings, conflicts (within and without), and occasional nobility are mesmerizing, as are the manifestations of evil. Kudos to Hoefling for not being preachy, during our thoughtful and suspenseful journey. Looking forward to her next endeavors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
Gold in Havilah is a beautifully written and captivating story. Through the character of Akliah, Ms. Hoefling tells a story of the duplicity of our human natures. I recognized myself in Akliah - in her desire to do what is good, yet how quickly she abandons good to follow her heart's desire. How she tries in her own human understanding to set things right again, and how certain her attempts are to fail. The story is never preachy, however. I found myself carried along as the events unfolded, then suddenly recognizing the truth in Akliah's circumstances and actions. This is a story I will enjoy reading over again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
It has been a very long time since I read a piece of fiction, let alone biblical fiction, that was this captivating. From the opening epilogue this book draws you into the heartbreak of the fall from Eden. Well developed characters fill the pages with longing to return to paradise lost while battling with the new sickness that broken communion with The Creator brought upon Adam and Eve. A very quick read and well worth the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
I enjoyed my visit to post Eden through this story of Adam, Eve and their children. The impressive amount of research and character development brought man’s early years to life. Through Akliah’s story, I was not only introduced to a possible early people lifestyle, but also insight into human nature. I was able to see some of myself in her very human characters.

Without hesitation, I recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
A story woven from the "in-between" not mentioned in the account of Genesis. This well-researched and paced tale from the perspective of Cain's wife is a fun read with character development that makes them stay with you long after the book is finished. Highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
This is a great book....an interesting version....I think whomever proofread this though did not catch all of the grammar errors.....but this does not take away from the storyline......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
Gold in Havilah is captivating from the first chapter! The author writes of amazing drama in the lives of Adam and Eve and their children Their once perfect world is now stained with sin and the reader feels the pain as the story unfolds. This book will open your eyes to God's enduring promise to redeem His world through Christ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here