Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
Topaz and the Green Fairies (Topaz the Conjure Cat)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

My girl's lover this series and it was memorable read in paperback as well as this repeat read on Kindle.
This is a lovely children's story, with the age suggestion of about 8-12 years old. It is well written, and jam-packed full of excitement. The little fairies in the story are adorable, and I think children will appreciate the well-placed illustrations used along the way. The magical land Frayne creates has already been visited as this book is part of a series, so plenty more for children to get their teeth into if they enjoy this installment. A great fantasy fiction to encourage the use of imagination at such an important age. This will make book reports more fun and the ideas for writing the report fly off the page. Truly a great way to encourage kids to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
I found this book to be very comprehensive for a children's story. There is a great deal of character development and lots of mystical creatures introduced to keep the reader interested. What I like most about this author is the creativity she uses in describing the far away land of Knownotten. I was happy to get lost there myself, so I can imagine it is a great story that children can easily pick up and enjoy. It would suit fantasy fans, and those that like books about magic and wonder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
I found "Topaz and the Green Fairies" to be a captivating and enchanting story. Pat Frayne's description will capture your imagination as the story takes you through Cottersdamp Island, Knownotten Kingdom, and Barren Island with such colorful characters as a Spotted Gray Matoose, a Shaggy Red Buckwetcher, King Kittle and so many more vividly described characters who share this adventure with Topaz and the Green Fairies.
I loved this book!
AJ Pettenger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
Meeting Bozel and his family was a real treat. Pat drew me in without hesitation and the book was wonderful. Being a cat lover I also related to Topaz and the life that Pat gives him. Looking forward to Topaz and the Evil Wizard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bozel, a genuinely likable young fairy, sets out on his own in an attempt save his family and their community. Torrential rains are causing his village to slide into the river and their homes and land are being destroyed by mud slides. Young Bozel has been selected by the green fairies to find a safe-haven before they all perish.

Can such a young boy save his people? Does he have what it takes to overcome the obstacles and trials he must face? Youngsters will thrill at the adventure and excitement of this delightful fantasy for children. Along the way Bozel makes new friends who will help him on his journey. In their travels they meet Topaz, a magical cat with mystical powers. Together with his new friends they devise a plan to rescue Bozel’s community.

Author, Pat Frayne, introduces young readers to an eclectic group of animals, including the ever-so-unusual buckwetcher, and the enchanting ghostbird. With just enough suspense to keep children on the edge of their seats, this marvelous children’s book will enthrall young audiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
The one thing I can't get over regarding Pat Frayne's Topaz the Conjure Cat series, is how much these books feel like time-honored classics. Ms. Frayne has a way of telling a story that feels like one that's been around entertaining children for decades, rather than having been written within the past couple of years. In "Topaz and the Green Fairies," she continues with another adventure that is magically delightful, and includes all the wondrous characters we've come to know and love from the previous books. If you've been re-reading The Chronicles of Narnia or The Wizard of Oz books over and over, for wont of another series that makes you feel the same way, then look no further and pick up these magnificent books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
"Topaz and the Green Fairies" is a fun adventure story set in a magical land and is complete with brave quests, evil forces, natural disasters and daring rescues. This book is the third in a series about Topaz, a last-of-his-kind cat with ancient and mystical powers. A young green fairy, Bozel, sets off alone to seek help for his family and community that is sliding into the river due to endless rains. Along the way Bozel encounters dangers both natural and supernatural and makes friends who lead him to Topaz. Topaz and his friends need to come up with a plan to rescue Bozel’s community while avoiding a dangerous island that had recently trapped a friend from previous books, Otis the owl.

This book feels like a traditional magical adventure story from my childhood. The imaginary world in which this book takes place is rich with detail and seems to extend beyond the map provided in the beginning of the book. Topaz in Knownotten Forest knows little of Bozel’s Cottersdamp Island. The plot moves quickly and even though the book begins with its characters in three separate locations, they are shortly drawn together in a united story.

I liked the book’s sense of adventure and camaraderie among the cast of characters. I liked the elements of the quest: a people in danger, a hero who must go through danger to save them, dark and mysterious forces, and of course, new bonds of friendship formed. Children can identify with Bozel’s uncertainty and revel in his new found friendship with the cat king. I liked that while this is a fantasy adventure, it is straightforward enough that children new to fantasy can follow it and understand it. It does not require a sophisticated understanding of mythological beings or philosophical questions of religion or the purpose of life.

As this is the third book in a series, there is some advantage to having read the previous books first. Reading this book as a standalone can be done, but it leaves the reader with some questions about Topaz and how he became king. I wound up identifying much more with Bozel than Topaz simply because I felt I knew him better. There are a few loose ends, such a resolution regarding Barren Island. Perhaps this will become a storyline for a further adventure.

Topaz and the Green Fairies is an accessible fantasy for children ages 8-12. Readers who like Erin Hunter’s "Warriors" series or Adam Jay Epstein’s "The Familiars" will like this book and series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2017
The continuing saga of Topaz and his pals is a delightful book for young teens. It has everything a kid could want: Magical animals that talk, adventure, suspense, and action!
I thoroughly enjoyed this light and easy read, and recommend it for anyone with kids, looking for books that are appropriate to read, yet entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2015
I am very impressed with this book. The writer is able to keep this book exciting from the first paragraph until the end of the book. There are some scary moments in these adventures that make the reader wonder how the characters will keep their world from falling apart. I would highly recommend this book to adventurous 9 to 12 year old.
Linda Price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
I haven't read the other book in the series but certainly very impressed by this one. A lot of childrens books tend to follow the same generic format but Topaz and The Green Fairies is very original and it made a change. The author Pat Frayne has a vivid imagination which is captured lovely prose and makes it a delight to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here