Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Starting at $39.99 Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10


on September 30, 2012
"The Vampire Queen" by Jodie Pierce is the first installment of "The Vampire Queen Trilogy". A must read for vampire fanatics who are looking for an interesting short story. The book centers around Countess Paulina de Lourdes, a vampire who has been awaken from a deep slumber by the Count, her benefactor. The Countess must learn who she is and who her allegiance lies with in a battle of good and evil. Along this journey she learns why her allegiance is so important in the vampire world and why. She finds friendship, love and betrayal in those who are close to her.

I recommend this book if you are looking for a fast-paced, elegantly written short story. Each character is unique and plays a role in the outcome of this story. The Countess is, strong, powerful and determined if a little juvenile and petulant at times. She allows no one to step on her; therefore you end up admiring her for this. While I enjoyed reading this book, I would have liked more character depth. The Countess, being the main character, was a little hard to like at first. I would also have liked to know more about the Count and the relationship between the two. The ending leaves you with questions and well, I will certainly read the second book, and find out what adventure the Countess finds herself in next.

Jodie Pierce is an excellent writer, she lures you into her world with few words and unique characters. I will admit, this is the first book that I have read from this author and it will not be the last.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on September 25, 2012
I was drawn in from the very first page wondering who this countess and her subjects were. I had to turn the pages to find out what was going to be revealed. The countess herself had no memories; we learned them along with her. She turned out to be a vampire, the Ancient One, and there were also evil vampires (and you didn't always know for sure who they were) trying to manipulate her because they had goals of their own...evil goals.
She had a difficult time wondering just who she could trust, and for a time she was deceived, but let me tell you she wises up and her powers, like flying and mind reading, come into play full force!
Awesome story Jodie Pierce! Highly imaginative, well-written, and it leaves the reader wanting more!
3 helpful votes
4 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on December 16, 2012
I have to say I have read things that I would have never thought of reading before. I have always stayed away from short stories. Never thinking they had enough substance to capture my attention. Even from authors I love reading. I would like to thank Jodie Pierce for opening my eyes to how naive I was being.
This story captured me from page one and I finished it in a few hours. I did not put this book down. I loved how the story flowed and the world created. I also like how each character in the story had purpose in the story. I hate stories that introduce characters that are just filler. This is a short story but you get more than you bargain with out of the story. I will never look at short stories the same again. When I was done with this book I wanted more. What happens next?
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on July 3, 2016
I fell in love with the characters in this book. They left me wanting to know more about them. Christiana captivated me. I loved that the story was in Rio and I was pleased to see both languages added. It made me feel as if I were in Rio with them. If you want a book that pulls you in, this is it.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on August 28, 2012
The way Jodie pierce writes in amazing! She pulls you in from the first sentence to the very last leaving you to want more more more! With each page turn you are on the edge of your seat waiting to see what is going to happen next.
The book starts out with a woman who doesn't remember anything about her life, she seems very introverted until BANG she just flips on one of her party guests. she grows as you read the book into this wonderful Vampire Queen who has her loyal subjects and defeats the bad... or has she?
I cannot wait to read the second book in this series. Jodie is a wonderful author that paints that lovely picture of the characters and scenes in the readers head. AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!
7 helpful votes
8 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on May 31, 2013
A woman wakes up with amnesia and slowly discovers she's an ancient, powerful vampire. The beginning opened strong with the mystery of who she is, who those around her are, and how she arrived where she is. This book is full of witchcraft with magic and spells, vampires, voodoo, and supernatural powers.

The story seemed mechanically ok. The characters all had a purpose and the story flowed nicely. Its short chapters and simple story telling made it seem like a chapter book. However, with lesbian undertones, make no mistake. This is not a children's book.

The idea of an ancient being who has recurring amnesia is a great concept. I have not seen this before in vampire mythologies. I found this to be unique and intriguing.

I love that the main character is a powerful woman but I ultimately did not like the Countess. I found her character contradictory and illogical at times. In the beginning, she couldn't make out the creature lurking in the dark corner of her chamber, but later on she could see without needing to adjust her eyes. She did not trust the Count. Yet, she trusted every female who came her way. Shouldn't she have been mistrustful of everyone? What was the moral stick by which she forgave some, tortured some, and killed others? And poor Count! He is with her, protecting her, century after century, so loyal and loving. And yet...well, it's not enough? Let's just say, I did not like the Countess.

What really struck me, in the end, were the blurred lines between good and evil. What makes evil evil and good good? Was the Countess good because she drank "wine" and was not killing humans for food? Were the Others, the ones with so-called "tainted blood", evil? What made one person good enough to be forgiven and another not? I could not tell if a philosophical question was lurking beneath the surface or if the writing was supposed to be ambiguous.

As a paranormal reader, I was not crazy about this book. Yet, it did have a unique concept.

This book is for mature audiences only.

Disclaimer: All books reviewed by me have been received via purchase, lending, or given to me by an author or publisher for the purposes of an honest review. No reviews are purchased. They are my own opinion.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 12, 2013
I received this book from the author to write an honest review. I decided to review this as a trilogy instead of individually, so this is my take on all 3 books.

First let me say that I enjoyed the story line. It was fun to follow, and the characters were easy enough to keep straight (some books' characters so closely resemble the others that they do not seem individual).

As for the writing itself, in my opinion the first book, The Vampire Queen, seemed almost to be written as a teenager might write. It seemed very stilted, and there was no flow. The second book, The Vampire Chronicles, was much better, but still did not read as well as I would have liked. The third, Demise of the Vampire Queen, definitely showed maturity of the author. In reading these, I could see how much she grew just in these three books. Book one seemed to be like the bare branches of a tree in the winter, but by the third book, I could see the leaves coming out as the tree was beginning to come alive.

I was left with some unanswered questions by the time I was done. I don't feel the story created enough strife and grief to the people to leave them wishing the demise of this queen. I would have liked to see her portrayed as a much more evil, self-serving wench. However it was decent enough.

I would read more of this writer as she continues to grow and mature in her mission as an author.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 29, 2013
I really like this book. She wakes up not knowing who she is and her inner character still stands out. There are twists I wasn't really expecting. It's really fast paced and drew me in. Towards the middle there were some things about the characters I didn't like. But I feel like as a reader they are traits you're not supposed to like. It's not really a hot read but it's definitely got some steamy parts with Kendra. Not so much with the Count though. I didn't find the Count to be enough for the Queen at all. But I did like him. And I LOVED the ending! Definitely my favorite of all the books in the series.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 29, 2013
I have definitely read better books. There is a very interesting concept presented here, but the plot is not developed. The characters are shallow and lack any depth. It seems as if the author published what may have been a rough draft. Such a shame.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 16, 2013
I was given this series by the author for an honest review.
I felt this was the start to an vampire series, it was short, but
interesting nonetheless and look forward to reading more books by the author.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here