Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 29 reviews
on August 6, 2015
With two such unfortunate names as Bouvette and Hughie, they were bound to fall in love, right? When I read the summary of this novel, I was intrigued enough to make a purchase and give it a shot. I was raised in a Catholic household and have often stumbled across this very dilemma in my thoughts. Aren't we all just people down here? Some of us hold different jobs, but trying to compromise between human nature and a religious outlook on relations is quite odd. Anyways, this story delved into that from a more humorous and touching angle, not taking a decisive stance on the issue, merely showing us a snapshot of what life means for some people. People just like us. Sure, Hughie was a man of god, but he was also as flawed as they come, and Bouvette wasn't exactly an angel either. When we begin to see these characters as normal people, rather than their social or cultural position in life, we see this as a beautiful love story between two imperfect humans. However, when dropped back in the context of this novel, we get an entirely new layer of meaning and significance, calling in to question many of the beliefs and doctrines that many people hold so dear. A book that can make people think on so many levels and still be entertaining is a hit in my book. Nicely done, Anders.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
We have a soft spot for forbidden romance, not only in America, but all over the world. There is something lurid about it, but also fascinating, in that it provides a look into universally understandable desires, some of which may be affected by the age we live in, belief structures, legislation, or societal tastes. For that reason, this book appealed to me from the get-go, as I was raised a Catholic and understand the restrictions of the church, but have always been slightly confused by them. In particular, I had friends from other denominations whose fathers were pastors or other married men, and it seemed wild that catholicism had this strict forbiddance. This story reveals in such beautiful detail what it can be like when true romance and passion overrides senses of duty to oneself, the church, and society at large. The characters are artfully and compassionately crafted, and the flow of the prose makes this very easy reading. However, it is not something that will simply disappear once you finish reading; this story will stay with you, possibly for a long time, as I was significantly moved by some of the subtle revelations and off-hand philosophical musings that this author threw in. It was well done in every sense of the phrase, and I would be very happy to read more by Anders.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
I was really surprised to read that the author mostly writes children’s books because this novel was so amazing. The voice alone is worth recommending it to others and I hope the author feels like continuing both adult and children books after this novel!
I grew up in the church which is why I wanted to read this story. I’ve struggled with church related matters almost my whole life, so I thought this story might be refreshing/may make me feel a little less alone. I wasn’t let down. It’s a gripping story and will have you wanting to read from beginning to end in one sitting.
I especially loved his mother’s character. Often, women in literature play certain roles, but she stuck out as a brave and vibrant soul from the get-go which was very refreshing. The descriptions were vivid and brought the time period to life for me too.
This is definitely a story that should have been told. Incredible, I’d recommend to anyone looking for a good tale, no matter your genre preferences.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
Everybody Calls is a beautiful story that takes us back in time and shows us the turbulent love story of Hughie and Boo. The lovers are doomed by fate because Hughie is a priest and has taken a vow of celibacy. He uses alcohol to drown his miseries. Whenever he feels attracted to a woman he use alcohol to drown out that alcohol. However, there is one woman whom even alcohol makes it impossible to forget. Beautiful, talented, compassionate, witty and totally adorable, Bouvette Sherwood steals the heart of the handsome, alcoholic and poor Hughie Hewitt and together they embark on a fated journey of love, a journey that brings in innumerable sorrow to Boo, yet she keeps up her spirit and humor even in the most trying of situations. Tim has written a very heart warming story and the best thing for me was the time frame of early 20th century era that bestowed a dream like quality to the whole setting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
Everybody Calls my Father, Father, ISBN: 9781885624727, Alpine Publishing, a memoir and poignant tribute to his mother by Tim "Dr. Hope" Anders.
The story opens with: "Perhaps this story should not be told. Perhaps some things are better left unsaid. But I ache to tell this story of the passion of a remarkable woman. Indeed, were it not for this woman, I would not be alive." From these opening remarks the author unfolds a true story that has all of the appearance of a fictional romantic fantasy that in days gone by would be termed a `tear-jerker' and today would be championed by Oprah, if she still were offering book selections. In essence, the story is simple. It details the lives of a man and woman whose all-consuming love transcended the dictates of the society in which they lived. It was initiated, unfortunately perhaps, by the man's (a priest) impropriety and the woman's basic love for children. However, the relationship converted him from a drunk to an exemplary `man of the cloth' and she obtained the love she required and attained her heart's desire for children, the latter unfortunately at almost overwhelming personal expense during which she performed at a level of "strength and passion" so strong that the author felt compelled to tell her story.
Conclusion: This is a truly remarkable tale about a woman who was perhaps foolish but certainly was remarkable in her fortitude to have and maintain her heart's desires. The author's short biography offers answers to his reason for writing the book and his ability to so beautifully portray the situation as it developed and the fortunate as well as unfortunate byproducts of the union of his parents. This is one of the most poignant memories I ever have read. Regrettably as I am sure the author is aware, there will be much criticism and conceivably even disparagement of the religious connotations of the book. It is hoped that providing a caveat may cause these readers to refrain from reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
What attracted me most about this book is that it is based on a true story. “Everybody Calls My Father, Father” is the story of the writer’s parents. Tim Anders, American author, writes this novel basing on the story of his parents. This, I believe is really nice and I also believe that it may not be so easy to write about your own family. In some parts I felt captivated by the story, especially the love story between Anders’ mom and dad.
It is an adult novel, I am not saying a teen will not enjoy it, but I am certain an adult will. Although it seems Anders had a difficult childhood, he tells the story with great love and compassion about his family. In some point he had wondered that his story must be unsaid and kept for himself but he chose to share it. This is why I recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
Everybody Calls My Father, Father is based on a true love story of the author's parents. The character of a tenacious young woman, Bouvette Sherwood, who is a successful New York Broadway producer and actress, drives the plot. In the mid 1940s Bouvette meets and falls in love with a charming alcoholic, Hughie Hewitt. He has a secret though, which he keeps from her during their intense courtship-he is a Catholic priest. Their love story unfolds into a kaleidoscope of intrigue, suspense, betrayal, and romance.

Anders definitely draws the reader into the story wondering how Hughie and Boo will deal with keeping their relationship. It is a story of true passion, love, heartache and sacrifice. I must admit that I was disappointed that Hughie felt the only way that he could be fulfilled in his profession was a priest. I felt that with his heart and passion could have been fulfilled if he became a minister or pastor. The characters are well developed to the point where the reader can feel the compassion for Boo and Hughie in their predicament. The story moves at a pretty fast after the initial meeting. I would recommend this to anyone who loves a good romance that gets you emotionally involved.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
I wasn't quite sure what to expect from Everybody Calls My Father, Father by Tim Anders. What I found was a captivating page-turner of a book. It is based on a true story of the authors life. The author's mother is a success on Broadway in New York. She meets Hughie Hewit charming guy, but an alcoholic. And he is hiding a really big secret. He is a Catholic Priest.

The author wrote this book in such a way that the word just jump off the page. It is rare to find humor, romance, suspense, intrigue and more all wrapped in one book. I found myself laughing out loud, shedding tears, and being kept on the edge of my seat. I would definitely recommend. As other reviewers have mentioned I could see this becoming a motion picture.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2015
“Everybody Calls My Father, Father” is based on the real life story of the author, Tim ‘Dr. Hope’ Anders. While yes, you can easily look at the book’s description and other reviewers’ comments to gain an aerial view of what the story is about, but deep down, it’s a story of perseverance, of love, of never giving up. Written more like a work of fiction, Anders does a splendid job of placing the readers in the middle of the story. Given the era, his descriptions of the people, what they’re wearing, the city and the language are what makes this story so incredibly well done. He makes you feel as though you really are in 1946 (and subsequent years as the story progresses). And I happily cheered his mom on. To be a female taxi driver during that time, simply wow. She is a true testament to the measures someone will take to provide for their children.

If you enjoy good storytelling and/or are a fan of memoirs, then this is the story for you. If you are a fan of period pieces (in this case, mid-century) that is so well done that you feel as though you are right there, then this is definitely the story for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2015
There is something inherently fascinating about writing that is based on a true story, and in this case the premise for the book really did look fascinating. The thing I liked the most was that the complexity of the story really did feel like real life. All too often, romance stories tend to present relatively simple plots with predicable actions on the part of the main characters. That isn’t the case here. Instead, you have a story that manages to touch on many different key emotions, including both sadness and happiness, as well as the overarching theme of love and romance. For me, the story is a reminder of the way that real love can be complicated, confusing and something that people have to actively work at and fight for. The suspense in the book made it a particularly good read and I found it very hard to put down. One downside is that by knowing that the author is telling the story of his parents, at least some of the outcome of the story is known before you start. But, don’t let that put you off. It is still a fantastic read and well worth the effort.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here