Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
116
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 116 reviews
on December 4, 2014
If you've discovered that following Jesus is more like traveling to Mordor than following the yellow brick road, then the wisdom found in these pages will encourage you when you fear, strengthen you when you falter, whisper peace in the dark, and kick your rear when you start thinking about calling it quits. Lori writes from a unique place. She writes as a poet warrior who rests in the certainty that the One leading us into battle is not only big enough to have already won the war, but is also loving enough to understand how afraid we become when swords start flying at our heads. Running from a Crazy Man is an honest look at what it means to follow Jesus - it's an adventure no one will want to miss.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Definitely a 5 star review. They only allow me to give it five stars but on a 5 star scale I would rate it a 9.
Lori has that unique gift of "thinking way outside the box". I love that in a person. Clearly she is gifted
by the Holy Spirit with bringing the message in a singularly unique way that resonates with the common
man. She also lets us in on on many of her faults which is so refreshing. Now for Lori and her readers, I
would like to add some further Biblical wisdom. Do you know how few peacemakers we have today?
Very few, and yet Jesus said that it is the most important job: "Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they
shall be called the Children of God." Now I interpret that passage to mean that we will have a place
right below Jesus in heaven. Here is the really neat part. Being a peacemaker unlike other ministries
requires no special spiritual gifts, but only the willingness to learn those skills and use them for
the furtherance of God's Kingdom. Imagine, you could have a HUGE spiritual growth spurt in a very
short period of time by becoming a Peacemaker.

The reviewer is the author of the Kindle book entitled: Sex Education for Adults
Secrets To Amazing Sex and Happily Ever After Too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2014
Lori's book conveys a holistic approach to the Christ-filled life. It is from a four-dimensional perspective that she creates conviction that can move the sedentary saint into action, the busy saint into to a more focused overdrive or the lost sinner to repentance at the throne of Grace! No matter what your spiritual standing, the Lord will touch you in some way through Lori's work.

Many of my friends and relatives will be receiving a copy of this book for Christmas and I hope to chronicle their responses and the outcome of what the Holy Spirit will be able to do as they take Lori's messages to heart and respond to His leading.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would certainly do it. The writing is fresh, creative, humorous, and very thought provoking. I find myself highlighting so many phrases, sentences, paragraphs, and some whole pages just so I will be able to go back and review them again and again. Chapter 5, "Refusing The Cure: Following Jesus in the Face of Evil" was very eye-opening, and just what I needed to help understand a difficult situation with a family member. Chapter 20, "Cheeseburger Jesus: Following Jesus from a Different Perspective" sounds like a light, funny chapter. And there are humorous parts, but more importantly, it examines the different perspectives of worshiping Christ and the fact that "It's hard to remember that I don't own Jesus." as the author wisely points out. Lori is a master at explaining deep theological ideas in a comfortable and easy to understand style.

This book is so full of "good stuff", it's hard to put down. I highly recommend it, both for those who are followers of Jesus and for those who are perhaps seeking to know more about Him. I don't think either would be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
I love the modern twists and analogies in this devotional!! It is a fresh witty look and appeals to those who are less conservative and conventional in their faith without compromising your faith or the basics of biblical truths. If you enjoy true stories with a flare of imagination yet practical insight and thought provoking into your own spiritual life then this is the one for you! If you enjoy science fiction then you will enjoy this devotional. This is such a fresh look and introspective and yet entertaining devotional. I highly recommend it! There were some that I reread five times because it spoke to me at the time I read it. It does make you think about your own personal relationship with the Lord and bring you closer to it. It'll make you laugh and cry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2016
Simply loved this book because Lori's adventures traveling with Jesus are transparent and REAL. I found myself identifying with the rawness of her questions and resting in the freshness of her biblical insights. The format (70 short chapters with a 'Ponder the Perplexities' section) lends itself well to using as a devotional book. But I oscillated between wanting to 'save' the book as a daily devotional and being tempted to read straight through like finishing off a gallon of my favorite butter pecan ice cream. I tried to pick a favorite 'adventure' but my favorite was always the chapter I had just read. Not a book to tickle your ears but one to probe deeply into your heart and stir you to be more like Jesus. This will be my new goto book to buy for gifts. Don't stop writing, Lori!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2016
The title caught my attention first. Then I heard a brief description of the book and thought it was a novel; so, I ordered it.
I scanned the titles of the 70 topics in the Table of Contents and read several that were of interest to me. I was surprised (and actually pleased)that it was not a novel, but rather short writings of life experiences and how God helps us face and overcome difficulties. I did not read the book from cover to cover, but chose different topics to read at different times, and think. This book encourages me to see that I am not alone and at different times in my life I too was "running from a crazy man" and have been protected by God through all the craziness.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
You may be running from a crazy man but where are you running to? If God has brought you to consider this book then you should, by all means, read it! Lori pulls no punches and points the way to Jesus' door.
If you are content in your walk with Jesus, read this book. You will see a side of yourself you might not have realized. If you are beginning your walk, read this book. You will find a road map to lead you to Jesus' table. Wherever you are I’m willing to bet you will find some part of your self inside this book.
With honesty and a heart for Jesus Lori shows us that the narrow road is not straight but we can travel it with Jesus and make it home. She points to Christ, the healer of all broken things, with each chapter and gives practical advice for living the Jesus life. This book is not about her way of life, it's about finding God's way for you. I felt like I had sat down to a "Jesus meal" cut into bite size pieces. If you dare to read it you will come away filled with encouragement and a map for your journey. Refreshing and engaging you will want to read each chapter again and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
How many lectures and sermons have you listened to, only to find that hours or years later, all you can remember is the illustration? Stories of real, relatable people and situations help us internalize spiritual truth better than any other form of communication. We all know Jesus taught in stories! So where does Lori get the stories in this book? All I can say, is God knew from the beginning that she would be a writer, and has loaded her life with experiences, some humorous, some heartbreakingly challenging. She also has an incredible ability to see truth in situations that most of us look right past. All of this combines to make a readable, memorable, truth-packed book that challenges the reader to deepen their commitment to walking with Jesus. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2015
This book takes an honest and challenging look at life, faith, and relationships. Roeleveld writes in a way that connects. She shares stories from her own life that gave me a chance to identify with her struggles and questions. Her examples made me think about my own beliefs and how they are (or aren’t) reflected in the way that I’m living. I was challenged to go deeper with life and not settle. This is a book that I’ll definitely go back and read again and again. It made me think and opened up new thoughts to me too. It would also make a great gift. I kept thinking “so and so” would like this book. It talks about faith and God, but it doesn’t force anything. And I think several of my friends would be blessed by this journey. So glad I read Running from a Crazy Man!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse