Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Magazine Deals Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New album by morrisey Electronics Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
120
Running from a Crazy Man (and Other Adventures Traveling with Jesus)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 4, 2014
If you've discovered that following Jesus is more like traveling to Mordor than following the yellow brick road, then the wisdom found in these pages will encourage you when you fear, strengthen you when you falter, whisper peace in the dark, and kick your rear when you start thinking about calling it quits. Lori writes from a unique place. She writes as a poet warrior who rests in the certainty that the One leading us into battle is not only big enough to have already won the war, but is also loving enough to understand how afraid we become when swords start flying at our heads. Running from a Crazy Man is an honest look at what it means to follow Jesus - it's an adventure no one will want to miss.
17 helpful votes
18 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on December 2, 2014
Lori's book conveys a holistic approach to the Christ-filled life. It is from a four-dimensional perspective that she creates conviction that can move the sedentary saint into action, the busy saint into to a more focused overdrive or the lost sinner to repentance at the throne of Grace! No matter what your spiritual standing, the Lord will touch you in some way through Lori's work.

Many of my friends and relatives will be receiving a copy of this book for Christmas and I hope to chronicle their responses and the outcome of what the Holy Spirit will be able to do as they take Lori's messages to heart and respond to His leading.
9 helpful votes
10 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
Definitely a 5 star review. They only allow me to give it five stars but on a 5 star scale I would rate it a 9.
Lori has that unique gift of "thinking way outside the box". I love that in a person. Clearly she is gifted
by the Holy Spirit with bringing the message in a singularly unique way that resonates with the common
man. She also lets us in on on many of her faults which is so refreshing. Now for Lori and her readers, I
would like to add some further Biblical wisdom. Do you know how few peacemakers we have today?
Very few, and yet Jesus said that it is the most important job: "Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they
shall be called the Children of God." Now I interpret that passage to mean that we will have a place
right below Jesus in heaven. Here is the really neat part. Being a peacemaker unlike other ministries
requires no special spiritual gifts, but only the willingness to learn those skills and use them for
the furtherance of God's Kingdom. Imagine, you could have a HUGE spiritual growth spurt in a very
short period of time by becoming a Peacemaker.

The reviewer is the author of the Kindle book entitled: Sex Education for Adults
Secrets To Amazing Sex and Happily Ever After Too
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on June 26, 2017
My favorite: 16 Church Bullies.
The author would like to know how do you rate yourself with religion?

I did not receive any type of compensation for reading & reviewing this book. While I receive free books from publishers & authors, I am under no obligation to write a positive review. Only an honest one.

A very awesome book cover, great font & writing style. A very well written 70 different biblical faith questionable chapters (book). They were all very easy for me to read/follow from start/finish & never a dull moment. There were no grammar/typo errors, nor any repetitive or out of line sequence sentences. Lots of exciting scenarios, with several twists/turns & a great set of unique characters to keep track of. This could also make another great biblical movie, or better yet a mini TV series. It was just OK for me so I will rate it at 4/5 stars.

Thank you for the free Biblica, Inc.; Zondervan Publishing House; Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolina’s; Straight Street Books; Amazon Digital Services LLC; book
Tony Parsons MSW (Washburn)
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 15, 2017
I love the modern twists and analogies in this devotional!! It is a fresh witty look and appeals to those who are less conservative and conventional in their faith without compromising your faith or the basics of biblical truths. If you enjoy true stories with a flare of imagination yet practical insight and thought provoking into your own spiritual life then this is the one for you! If you enjoy science fiction then you will enjoy this devotional. This is such a fresh look and introspective and yet entertaining devotional. I highly recommend it! There were some that I reread five times because it spoke to me at the time I read it. It does make you think about your own personal relationship with the Lord and bring you closer to it. It'll make you laugh and cry!
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on June 13, 2016
If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would certainly do it. The writing is fresh, creative, humorous, and very thought provoking. I find myself highlighting so many phrases, sentences, paragraphs, and some whole pages just so I will be able to go back and review them again and again. Chapter 5, "Refusing The Cure: Following Jesus in the Face of Evil" was very eye-opening, and just what I needed to help understand a difficult situation with a family member. Chapter 20, "Cheeseburger Jesus: Following Jesus from a Different Perspective" sounds like a light, funny chapter. And there are humorous parts, but more importantly, it examines the different perspectives of worshiping Christ and the fact that "It's hard to remember that I don't own Jesus." as the author wisely points out. Lori is a master at explaining deep theological ideas in a comfortable and easy to understand style.

This book is so full of "good stuff", it's hard to put down. I highly recommend it, both for those who are followers of Jesus and for those who are perhaps seeking to know more about Him. I don't think either would be disappointed!
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on September 7, 2017
There are many devotional books in Christian bookstores. Some are theological, others are challenging, and a lot of them are funny. Lori Roeleveld's "Running from a Crazy Man" is all these, and then some! There is a depth to Lori's writing that draws you into what she is saying, the kind of depth that comes from experience, and not from watching on the sidelines. My wife and I used this as our morning devotional, and we were helped, strengthened, and encouraged. Can't wait for Lori's next book!
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 16, 2016
The title caught my attention first. Then I heard a brief description of the book and thought it was a novel; so, I ordered it.
I scanned the titles of the 70 topics in the Table of Contents and read several that were of interest to me. I was surprised (and actually pleased)that it was not a novel, but rather short writings of life experiences and how God helps us face and overcome difficulties. I did not read the book from cover to cover, but chose different topics to read at different times, and think. This book encourages me to see that I am not alone and at different times in my life I too was "running from a crazy man" and have been protected by God through all the craziness.
review image
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on December 20, 2014
How many lectures and sermons have you listened to, only to find that hours or years later, all you can remember is the illustration? Stories of real, relatable people and situations help us internalize spiritual truth better than any other form of communication. We all know Jesus taught in stories! So where does Lori get the stories in this book? All I can say, is God knew from the beginning that she would be a writer, and has loaded her life with experiences, some humorous, some heartbreakingly challenging. She also has an incredible ability to see truth in situations that most of us look right past. All of this combines to make a readable, memorable, truth-packed book that challenges the reader to deepen their commitment to walking with Jesus. Highly recommended!
2 helpful votes
3 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on August 29, 2017
Lori Stanley Roeleveld's stories of faith and encouragement were wonderful. She has such a gift from God. I highly recommend this to any Christian who wants to feel empowered in their faith and experience the love and grace of God.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse