Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services DrWho DrWho DrWho  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 136 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 529 reviews
on July 19, 2011
I knew I had to face this monster some day.

First off, I have to put it out there, Rick Rubin is one hell of a producer. I've heard his productions from all spectrums( American Recordings,South of Heaven,Licensed to Ill), but this album, I can truly call his masterpiece.

Mother's Milk introduced me to four funky cats from LA. While production on Mother's Milk was good, Blood Sugar Sex Magik was totally something else altogether (Get the Funky Monks video and you will see why)Red Hot Chili Peppers: Funky Monks.

Like all Red Hot Chili Pepper albums, Anthony was all libido (Suck My Kiss, Sir Psycho Sexy, Blood Sugar Sex Magik), but he still managed to kick out some socially conscious songs (The Power of Equality, The Righteous and The Wicked, Under the Bridge).

This album also showed John Frusciante's evolution as a guitarist (all of his solos are amazing, My Lovely Man and Sir Psycho Sexy to name a few). Flea and Chad were also phenomenal.

What the Power of Equality started was the coolest journey. Having become familiar with every song the only gripe I could say I have is that I felt that Sir Psycho Sexy should have been the final song instead of They're Red Hot, because John Frusciante's solo at the end of Sir Psycho Sexy made it seem like the closing credits of a movie, which made the whole album play like a movie than a collection of songs.

No Chili Pepper album has come close to the beast that Blood Sugar Sex Magik is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2016
...but this isn't an issue as I can just rip to my PC when I get a replacement power cord, just don't expect autorip. Amazing album, definitely their most recognized, and it's no wonder, so many funky rock songs in one album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2017
I've owned this CD since it came out. It is one of my top 30 albums of all time. The vinyl reissue sounds AMAZING. The genius of John Frusciante has never been more clear. Flea has never sounded funkier. Chad Smith definitely benefits from the vinyl. His perfect drumming sounds even more organic and huggable. Like a warm cup of hot chocolate on a cold day.

I just realized that Anthony Kiedis is Donald Trump. I don't know why I didn't see it sooner. Macho. Sexist. Egomaniac. Dates girls half his age. Total pervert. Not very good at his job. Surrounds himself with people who know what they're doing.

But John, Chad and Flea are at their pinnacle here. Actually, Frusciante peaked later when he wrote and recorded The Empyrean, but that's another story...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
Amazing sounds quality on my audiotechnica turn table
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
This is the right album for the 9th hour of a 13 hour drive! Nothing gets me pumped like Mellowship Slinky
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
was $0.01 with $3.99 making it a $4.00 purchase, great buy, one of my favorite albums ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
Very good, still
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2017
Husband loves this cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
I want to have Anthony Kiedis' baby
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2012
gonna make it short :

* Pressed at Record Industry (this is the 2nd album I bought that was pressed and it's in the same class of Palas).
* it's 180g Double LP
* it's not a gatefold cover (only thing bad in this purchase...but not a big deal).

soundwise :
compared to the Original CD that I own and it sounds a lot better !!! (the original CD sounds great as well)
the Vinyl has better soundstage, better defined bass, the drums are cleaner and you can hear every little riff that Frusciante Plays.
I don't know who did the mastering but the rumor says it's Bernie Grundman (?), anyway they did a very good Job...this is a true audiophile Vinyl.
(I own some more expensive ones so I can compare)

Cover :
this is the only negative stuff I have to say about this purchase...I don't like the cover !
it's simple, cheap...I expected Gatefold cover, with some art or something...but they put all the money on the sound and pressing (I guess).

so should you buy it ? YES !!
I'm not a big fan of RHCP, but this album is great and they made a high quality Pressing here - Highly recommended !!
1010 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.99
$5.99
$10.44

Need customer service? Click here