BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 23, 2013
I have used this coffee maker for three weeks now without a hiccup. I bought a Keurig for my girlfriend and she really like's that'. I really enjoy using the coffee machine and it produces great coffee. Here are the arguments:

Pros

1. Lower Cost per use - use your own bulk coffee
2. More customization - add enough coffee to your liking
3. Larger cup size - this thing will pump out about 16oz; the size depends on how much water you pour into the machine
4. Use of filter - I found cutting filters to size works out best for me. The re-useable filter allowed too much coffee to flow through and I had grounds at the bottom of my coffee cup. I use a fine Kirkland brand coffee.
5. Pretty fast, it starts to operate within a few seconds of hitting the start button
6. Reduces packaging waste
7. Pours into my own cup usually a large traveler or mug
8. Easy clean up, I simply throw away (dump out) the paper filter and rinse out the plastic retainer
9. Low cost of coffee maker - this thing costs about the same as the additional do-it-yourself filter adaptor for the Keurig

Cons

1. Water reservoir could be a little larger (but, it's already pretty large)
2. Space between maker could be larger to accommodate a taller travel mug - I pour my large coffee mug into a Nissan travel mug
3. Grounds sometime hit the water dispenser at the top of the maker making cleaning necessary (when using my own fine filter)

I feel that the coffee tastes better than the Keurig (plus I like my coffee strong - so I probably use a little more than the single serve size), I think this is because the coffee is allowed to float in the hot water paper filter absorbing more coffee flavor. I will post some pictures of the filter. This coffee maker offers a great cost benefit ratio - to all the cost conscience, this is a no brainer - unless the time and convenience factor start to weigh in a LITTLE more. I will adjust the review if reliability becomes an issue.
review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 325 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on February 22, 2017
I used this today for about the fifth time. For some reason, the coffee did not drip straight down into the cup, but instead ran along the underside of the part of the maker that holds the grounds and finally dropping at an angle at which a good bit of the coffee did not make it into the cup. It left quite the mess on my desk. I am lucky in that I had it sitting on paper towels already as it isn't easy to fill the water reservoir without spilling water as well and coffee also slowly drips out for several minutes after the brew cycle is complete. I also agree with others on the plastic taste that you get even though I cleaned as recommended before using. I am still tasting it now on my fifth (or so) cup. Maybe I needed to cycle vinegar through as well? The cup is also poorly insulated, but that was expected for the price.
review image
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on October 29, 2016
I agree with others - the old one was great, this new one is junk. The cord is shorter, the base on the bottom is now lightweight plastic where the old one has a heavy weighted metal bottom so it stays put very well. The new one slides all around on the counter because it has no weight - very dangerous. The plastic is rough in places and much lighter and the old one is heavier and has smoothly smoothly finished. The tan mug seems the same.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on March 22, 2016
I bought this as I needed a coffee maker for college, and was tired of spending so much money on buying coffee. This maker seemed to be convenient and small, really everything I was looking for.
It did work well the 20 or 30 times I was able to use it, but just now I stop back at my apartment between classes, fill it up with coffee and water, push the button, and nothing...I tried three other outlets to make sure that was the issue, it wasn't. Because this thing is so simple there really isn't any other way I can think of to trouble shoot it.
So I'm frustrated.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2016
Totally disappointed! I needed a small brewer for my room in Afghanistan. Just got it today, went to turn it on and brewer switch will not lock down on so it wont even come on! Was so looking forward to making coffee in this. Black and Decker, do you even QC your products before they leave your factory? I know its an inexpensive product, but shouldn't it work like it intended, even if just for a while? So disappointed and its not worth the postage to send it back. I will go with another brand in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2016
Positives:
Much less expensive, on a per-cup basis, than my previous Keurig.
Insulated cup does a reasonably good job keeping the coffee hot.

Negatives:
Since there's only the cup (no carafe), any residual drips after brewing just fall onto the platform and the counter. (There's no collection tray; you might put a saucer or paper towel down when you take the cup away.)
The insulated cup is designed to fit virtually any cup-holder, with a narrow base flaring to a much wider top. That can be convenient for commuters, but a full cup can be top-heavy and is prone to tipping over when it's not on a completely level surface.
Compared to the Keurig, there aren't as many choices for flavored or specialty coffees. That's actually a positive for me - when I need coffee I don't want to have to make decisions 🙂 - but I know others who are disappointed.

All in all, I like it. An inexpensive appliance that doesn't take up too much space and makes a good cup of coffee.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2016
I purchased one of these, my second one less than a year ago. The first developed a problem with filling the cup completely requiring you to stand and press the start button a number of times. I would say not a " Brew and Go" trait. The second one failed in the same way as the first. Love the single cup size and speed of a fresh cup of coffee but two breaking in the same way in less than a year is a design or construction flaw. In addition the water tank is on the left side not handy for right handed people to fill. Nice idea, find a more reliable alternative.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2015
Sorry Black and Decker, this is a bust. I had the orig. one cupper like this one for years and loved it, still do. The basket took a hit and I thought what the heck I'll just get another machine instead of a new basket. Only because my machine was so old. Thank gosh I didn't pay much because I now have my old machine back with the basket out of the new maker and threw the machine away. The tank on the side where you pour the water in is way to small and water goes everywhere every time you try to fill it. Poor design.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2013
We really wanted a very small coffeemaker to leave out on the counter. One of us drinks decaf and one regular coffee, so this seemed the ideal solution for that reason as well. The coffeemaker makes up to a small mug at a time, BUT unfortunately it is very prone to blasting out grounds (especially if the grounds are finely ground rather than more coarse). Additionally, the permanent filter, while convenient, lets the water run through the grounds (even fine grounds) much quicker than paper filters. As most will know, the permanent filter will let more bean oil into your coffee than paper. While we were prepared to accept the additional oil in our coffee, we could not tolerate the blasting of the grounds all over the inside of the machine. After washing the entire machine several times, we tossed it into the trash. Finally, when the lid id lifted, condensed water runs out and down onto the counter. A proper design easily avoids this common fault of coffeemakers. May be a better thought design will come out in the future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on October 4, 2016
Extremely disappointed with this purchase. I have made coffee in this several times and every time I do, I get coffee grounds in the bottom of my cup & all over the coffee maker. I have to literally put the entire coffee maker under the sink to remove all the grounds. I would return item if it was not past the time frame. I would not buy again & would be more upset if the price had not been so cheap. I do not recommend.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse