Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Color: Lustrous Chrome|Style: Ballpoint Pen|Change
Price:$23.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,328 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,485 reviews
on September 9, 2016
I generally am very pleased with Cross Pen/Pencil Products. I've had this pen (the Cross Classic Century, Lustrous Chrome model) for just over 30 days (which negates the return per Amazon policy) and the inside thread has become dislodged or defective and thus the ballpoint cannot be screwed in which makes the pen useless. I did try to insert a both refills that I also purchased and they would not work - so not a refill issue but rather the pen itself. I am not sure if this is an aftermarket or made outside the USA pen, but it does feel somewhat light and inferior to other Cross Pens I have had in the past (not too far off one of the other reviews I read). Perhaps the low price was an indication and I should have done a bit more diligence! Regardless, the distributor was MegaPen so I would suggest you be cautious if ordering from them.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 28, 2013
I can't stand the lead feed on this pencil. You have to remove the cap, twist it, press the end to push out some lead, turn it back, replace the cap and then twist the cap EVERY TIME YOU WANT TO EXTEND THE LEAD. So inconvenient and it doesn't work perfectly, it takes fiddling with to get it to work right. Guess it is back to the drawing board to find a pencil that feeds in a simple, usable way.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
This pen is the fountain pen version of the age old Cross Century ballpoint pen, a staple among professionals for years. The pen is supposed to be thin, just like all the other Century pens. If you are looking for a pen with more girth, try the Century II or the Townsend. I bought this pen because my grandfather swore by his Cross Century, which I now own, however I prefer fountain pens. It is exactly what I wanted: Sleek, silver, and precise with the unmistakable Cross design. I ordered a fine nib, which I found out writes more like a medium nib - this is no problem, I'd much rather have a wet nib than a dry, temperamental one. Also, be wary of AT Cross Blue/Black ink, it is quite watery and while it dries quickly, it has a tendency to bleed. The only reason I have given this product 4 stars is because it (or at least parts if it) was made in China - a disappointment for such an American icon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2016
I've always loved Cross pens and pencils since high school and this classic model is luxurious. I ordered these as a replacement since someone "borrowed" mine at the office when I was a lunch one day. I plan on ordering the matching roller ball pen and extra refills (ink and lead) and erasers. Smooth writing, nicely balanced in your hand and ideal for us lefties since the pen writes in many positions. I love my cCross set and they are engraveable Comes in a nice presentation case as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Love the design, weight and feel of the fountain pen itself - that subtle matt texture of the body contrasting with the smooth glossy cool touch of the grip. My only dissatisfaction is that, considering this is supposed to be a FINE nib, the ink on paper feels too broad compared to the slender silhouette of the pen. What I mean by this is that for a slim pen like this, you'd expect an equally elegant fine line, but alas no - the ink comes out in broad wet strokes as though you were writing with a cheap plastic pen. It's a real shame because I really do love the design of the pen. Wish there was an EF version!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2016
I have had the pencil version for almost 20 years and got this one to match. I really like the pen however i feel it's too thin that it's not very ergonomic. Overall I really like it but maybe not for a lot of writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
On the whole it looks ok. As others have mentioned it doesn't seem up to par with the older cross silver century pens. The overall quality is less than the cross century copper I paid $30 for. There are marks where the lines were started and overall it's ok. Also, the labeling is excessive but I knew that coming in.

I would give it 2.5 stars, I don't hate it nor do I really like it. Honestly, I would not give this as a gift. The cross century copper or even a Caran D'Ache 849 (lots of options) would be a better choice and cheaper. I bought this as it was something I thought of as a symbol of prosperity when I was a kid but this isn't the same.

Also, important to note that the pen shown in the picture is not the current version. That looks to be the older USA made version. The cross website is also guilty of this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
Just so you know it is written right on the box made in China but yes is it a genuine cross pen.
Looks great!
The twist action isn't all that smooth but it does write nice.
Bottom line unless it is a gift just got to Office Depot and buy the cheap pens. No the quality they used to be.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2016
As a traditionally "luxury" item company Cross should know better than to move manufacturing base to China. Where the word cheap and dingy are frequently popping into mind when "made in China" is mentioned. My pen was fine but only after I oiled it and used some diamond polish to shine up the finish a bit. I didn't pay extra for this pen so I can work on it myself; I could've done that with a zebra for much cheaper!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2010
The manufacturer is distributing a different pen/pencil set than the one illustrated and described. Cosmetically the pens are a flat black -- could be mistaken for grey; but more importantly the "pencil" is not the typical cross .05mm pencil. It is a pen/pencil combo -- you can put either an ink cartridge in it (for 2 pens, who knows why) or a special .07mm lead cartridge -- not individual leads, but a self contained cartridge physically similar to an ink cartrdige -- to use it as a pencil. Of course, you can't tell them apart when you pull one out of your pocket. One has to twist it and see what comes out - the pen or the pencil (or other pen if you go that way).

This happened to me at another large retailer (large web, lots of physical stores) so it looks like Cross is doing a number on people. Major, major disappointment.

Good luck!
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse