Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only: $49.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno



on September 2, 2016
I do a lot of road trips and I was looking for something like this to made tea and/or instant coffee in the car. I wasn't expecting much. In fact, I wasn't even expecting it to work. I ended up loving it though. It's pretty straight forward. You put some water in the pitcher, close and secure it, and plus it into the cigarette lighter. In about 15-20 minutes, the water is hot enough to make tea or coffee. I've used it many times and haven't had any issues with it yet.

I've only used it while the car is running and wouldn't risk just using it on battery. I also wouldn't suggest using anything other than water.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2016
Just used this for the first time today. Took it out on the boat to make coffee. I read the ratings of it before purchasing it, but never read about the tight seal to the plastic lid that you see on the left. I'm concerned about two things.. breaking the plastic when trying to pull it out a little to raise the lid OR while getting it open with the tight lid, I spill hot water on me. If the manufacture is out there - please consider a better mechanism for the latch. Otherwise this product lives up to the reviews. Took me about 15-20 minutes to bring the water to an almost full boil.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2010
Just got this little 12v. pot for heating water, soup, etc. and didn't expect much since I had a recent bad experience with a 12v. coffee maker that, after waiting over an hour for something to happen, didn't work at all. Well, I was pleasantly surprised! This litle unit is well-made and has some very nice features, such as being able to remove the pot from the base for easy cleaning. I also like the fact that, as well as an "on" light, the pot lights up with a white light to let you know that it is seated correctly on the base. It also has a nice safety feature in that it will shut off if there's not enough water, so it won't "burn dry." Best thing, though, is that it really does work! It does take longer with 12v. units, but that's to be expected. However, in less than half an hour the water was bubbling merrily away! I am very pleased with my purchase and would definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2018
I have to say that this is probably the GREATEST thing EVER invented! No longer do I have to suffer through 8-hour-old coffee sludge from McD's in the late afternoon/early evening! Or long lines at $$$$tarbuck$! No more sitting/standing in line for my morning cup! No more mourning an empty coffee cup while sitting in traffic jams! Find yourself some INSTANT COFFEE (or one of those coffee filter toppers for your own cup and just add a scoop of your own coffee and let it filter away) and say Good-Bye to those long lines! I love my RoadPro 12v Smart Car Pot! Just plug it into my cigarette lighter outlet and smile lovingly at it for about 10 minutes and it is READY TO GO!!
P.S. Make SURE that you see the white light shining in the bottom of the INSIDE of the pot! That means that it IS plugged in/functioning/heating properly! I didn't know THAT in the beginning and I let out a string of "not very nice" words! No problems since then! Love, Love, LOVE THIS!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 23, 2014
When I was driving 18 wheelers a few years back, I always kept one of these RoadPro hot water heaters with me. They work great. My only negative comment is that they don't last as long as I'd like - a few months to a year, and then the plug would overheat and melt one of the internal contacts. I used to buy spare 12v plugs at Radio Shack and splice them onto the power cord. It also depends on how often you use it. Recreational RVing a few times a year and these things will probably last for many years. Everyday use (several times a day) by truck drivers will wear them out much faster.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 12, 2017
It works, but takes a very long time to actually heat water. It took about 20 minutes to get it to a suitable temperature to make coffee in my portable French Press.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2013
Takes about 30 min to boil 600ml of water. That's the only downside. Keep in mind that it is made of plastic so it does bleed a little of the plastic particles into the hot water at first. Boil it a few times and pour out the water before making tea the first time.
Like it a lot, very nice.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2017
It is compact and arrived quickly. It takes about 10 minutes for the water to boil. The handle broke off when I was taking it out of the box. Luckily, I had some 3M Epoxy that solved that problem. I put double sided foam tape on the metal hanger and folded into shape and it stays snuggly in a non-used holder on my work truck's dashboard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2017
This heats water; it just takes an extremely long time. I think it took us an hour to get the water hot enough to make coffee. We didn't want to shell out the money for a camp stove, so this was our alternative. It did work, just not as well as we had imagined. Also, my digbat boyfriend kept knocking it over and spilling everything which only made the coffee process take so much longer than necessary.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2017
You want hot coffee? OTR, truckers should have one of this. it will saves you a lot of money for your coffee.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse