Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 127 reviews
on March 18, 2016
My husband is a long hauler so I bought this so he could heat up water so he could have a cup of coffee. It takes about 45 min. to get it to boil. So what he does is he has it strapped to the back of the passenger seat and it is plugged in. When he knows he is going to stop for the night he turns on the button so when he does stop he has boiling water for either his coffee, tea. Since it worked so good , I bought him instant oatmeal and cup of soup. He said it works perfectly. He turns it on an hour ahead of time and then when stopped he fixes his soup. He has hot oatmeal in the morning and he even uses it during the day while driving if he wants a cup of tea or another cup of coffee. He love's it so much I am purchasing another one so he can use 2.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
I do a lot of road trips and I was looking for something like this to made tea and/or instant coffee in the car. I wasn't expecting much. In fact, I wasn't even expecting it to work. I ended up loving it though. It's pretty straight forward. You put some water in the pitcher, close and secure it, and plus it into the cigarette lighter. In about 15-20 minutes, the water is hot enough to make tea or coffee. I've used it many times and haven't had any issues with it yet.

I've only used it while the car is running and wouldn't risk just using it on battery. I also wouldn't suggest using anything other than water.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
I've been using it for several weeks now, and it still seems to be working fine, but I must say that I really don't care for its design. For one, the lid is not watertight, so if you're trying to use it while going down the road the water can slosh out, and the narrow base makes it pretty tip prone, which is a very bad combination. (We applied Velcro strips to the bottom of the base, which has worked really nicely in keeping it from turning over.) Next, once you have your water heated to the desired temperature, good luck pouring it without getting it everywhere. The spout has a very poor design that causes the water to dribble down the front of the pitcher and onto whatever's under it. You have to pour it at a certain angle, at a certain pace, to get it to pour cleanly. Try doing that while your husband's driving 75 miles per hour down a bumpy highway. And then there's the power consumption issue. We've found that it doesn't have any problems running off our 12v outlet in our big rig truck, but it blew the fuse when we attempted to use a 3-way outlet splitter. All in all, it gets the job done, but if I had the purchase to do over again, I definitely would not buy it. There have got to be far better versions out there.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2010
Just got this little 12v. pot for heating water, soup, etc. and didn't expect much since I had a recent bad experience with a 12v. coffee maker that, after waiting over an hour for something to happen, didn't work at all. Well, I was pleasantly surprised! This litle unit is well-made and has some very nice features, such as being able to remove the pot from the base for easy cleaning. I also like the fact that, as well as an "on" light, the pot lights up with a white light to let you know that it is seated correctly on the base. It also has a nice safety feature in that it will shut off if there's not enough water, so it won't "burn dry." Best thing, though, is that it really does work! It does take longer with 12v. units, but that's to be expected. However, in less than half an hour the water was bubbling merrily away! I am very pleased with my purchase and would definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
Just used this for the first time today. Took it out on the boat to make coffee. I read the ratings of it before purchasing it, but never read about the tight seal to the plastic lid that you see on the left. I'm concerned about two things.. breaking the plastic when trying to pull it out a little to raise the lid OR while getting it open with the tight lid, I spill hot water on me. If the manufacture is out there - please consider a better mechanism for the latch. Otherwise this product lives up to the reviews. Took me about 15-20 minutes to bring the water to an almost full boil.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2016
My husband is a trucker and loves this pot, doesn't take long to heat liquids and if left alone for 10 minutes or so, liquid will come to a full boil, which is great for making coffee or hot chocolate, or boiling water for instant packs of flavored oatmeal. Comes apart for easy cleanup.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
When I was driving 18 wheelers a few years back, I always kept one of these RoadPro hot water heaters with me. They work great. My only negative comment is that they don't last as long as I'd like - a few months to a year, and then the plug would overheat and melt one of the internal contacts. I used to buy spare 12v plugs at Radio Shack and splice them onto the power cord. It also depends on how often you use it. Recreational RVing a few times a year and these things will probably last for many years. Everyday use (several times a day) by truck drivers will wear them out much faster.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Takes about 30 min to boil 600ml of water. That's the only downside. Keep in mind that it is made of plastic so it does bleed a little of the plastic particles into the hot water at first. Boil it a few times and pour out the water before making tea the first time.
Like it a lot, very nice.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
It works, but takes a very long time to actually heat water. It took about 20 minutes to get it to a suitable temperature to make coffee in my portable French Press.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2017
Doesn't heat up enough for even a can of soup. This was after waiting 3 hours. Don't purchase. I went by some of the reviews thinking it'd be ok but this isn't a good product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse