Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
on November 8, 2014
I've been drinking mine with (vanilla) soy milk and it's good. I heat the soy milk stove top, drop in one wedge for every 8-12 ounces of milk, two wedges for my 16 oz mug, for a light brown color; any more and the chocolate takes a little longer to dissolve AND it gets too sweet. I stir constantly as the milk gets hotter and the chocolate dissolves; blender not needed. Very few bits remain undissolved at the bottom even after stirring a long time, which I just leave in the pan as I pour it into the mug. A thin film of something develops over the drink as it cools, which is easily removed with a spoon and might be unique to soy milk.

Each tablet/cake has 8 wedges, and each package has 5 tablets. 40 servings total. The wedges are easy to break off by hand, harder if you try to cut it with a knife, though it doesn't hurt to make the indent a little deeper with a knife.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
I really like this Ibarra chocolate. Its the best hot chocolate I've been able to find. I cant get it in stores locally so I have to order it. I think its better than the Abuelita brand. People who dont like the taste or the look of it have to remember that this is Mexican hot chocolate not American hot chocolate. It has a different taste. Its normal for it to have slightly dried white look when its cut open. After all its not a chocolate bar. It has to be stirred for a while to dissolve the sugar. This is normal for mexican hot chocolate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2011
A friend described the hot chocolate her Mexican mother made for her when she was a kid. It was nowhere to be fund in Rochester, New York (not even at Wegman's and they have everything). We had to hunt online because she couldn't remember the name, just what the package looked like. Of course the shipping was more than the product but next time I'll purchase a volume because it is really good. It was just as she remembered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
My wife and I tried making mole sauce which called for Ibarra, and we used a substitute which was OK. However, for authenticity nothing beats Ibarra. The consistency and taste were so much better when we used the proper ingredients. Accept no substitute!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2015
I love mexican chocolate and this is the standard. Very good taste. But it is solid and requires pieces to be cut from the round and then blended with milk. But the taste is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
What can be said? Yummy, Mexican style chocolate for making hot chocolate with that little hint of cinnamon. I break off 2 sections of a disc and add to milk in my Aluminum chocolatera and swirl with my molinillo. Voila! Yummy hot chocolate to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
This is hard to find in Albertsons and Safeway. Abuelita seems to be the easier one to find, but my family prefers the Ibarra brand, that is why I ordered some onlilne. It costs more than the other brand but it's what they like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
Ibarra Mexican Chocolate was the perfect addition to the mole I made recently. It gave it a smooth, perfect taste!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2014
One of my favorite hot chocolates in the entire world! It has a nice cinnamon-y, almost cappuccino-like flavor to it, and is so creamy and delicious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
If you like chocolate (like I do), then you will like this stuff; its the real thing. The hot chocolate drink tastes like what I imagine the Aztecs would have made, with great taste and a 'warm all over' feeling when it goes down. What a treat!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here